OS X
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi,

First off, I tried using the Search function but couldn't find the specific advice I'm looking for.

I'm a photographer, currently using a 2011 Macbook Air (11") with a 60GB SSD, which is getting slower and just doesn't quite do the job the way I wish it would.

That's why I'm looking to build a Hackintosh. I don't have a huge budget, I think I can spend around €600. I have no idea which parts of a computer are important, what to look for, etcetera. What are the essentials? Should I invest more in a good processor or is a graphics card more important? What about RAM? I'd also like to be able to connect a second monitor in the future.

Can anyone help me get started on a shopping list for a Hackintosh that I can use for photo editing (Photoshop and Lightroom, mostly)?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Hi,

First off, I tried using the Search function but couldn't find the specific advice I'm looking for.

I'm a photographer, currently using a 2011 Macbook Air (11") with a 60GB SSD, which is getting slower and just doesn't quite do the job the way I wish it would.

That's why I'm looking to build a Hackintosh. I don't have a huge budget, I think I can spend around €600. I have no idea which parts of a computer are important, what to look for, etcetera. What are the essentials? Should I invest more in a good processor or is a graphics card more important? What about RAM? I'd also like to be able to connect a second monitor in the future.

Can anyone help me get started on a shopping list for a Hackintosh that I can use for photo editing (Photoshop and Lightroom, mostly)?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Your requirements are quite simple and its easy to build even a simple desktop with more power than a 2011 MacBook Air .