Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi all,
I'm a newbie to the world of hackintosh, and I could do with a little encouragement that I'm doing the right thing.

I'm a graphic designer and motion graphics guy. My work involves heavy use of Photoshop, After Effects and Cinema 4D. I hate PCs, but don't want to spend £5K+ on a 12-core mac pro with outdated architecture. So I've reluctantly ordered a PC!

But then I heard about hackintosh… aha!

This is the system I ordered. How does this stack up? (linked to actual products)

Intel Core i7 3930K, 3.2GHz, Hex Core + Hyperthreading (OC'd to 4.2GHz)
Asus P9X79 Motherboard
32GB (8x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP, DDR3, 1600MHz
256GB Samsung 830 Series, SSD
3TB Seagate Barracuda, SATA 6Gb/s, 7200rpm
1GB EVGA GTX 550 Ti, 981MHz GPU

The system is coming pre-built from scan.co.uk. I've seen some similar specced machines on this site, but being a newbie to this I've got a few questions:

1. The system is coming Overclocked to 4.2GHz. Is there any risk to the processor by running a hackintosh? The guys there know their stuff about over clocking so I've got no worries about Windows, but would it still be as stable on a hackintosh?
  2. Performance wise how does a hackintosh benchmark compared to the same system running the default windows 7 OS?
  3. What's the worst that could go wrong running a hackintosh? I need a system that's stable enough for professional animation work and so it needs to be stable. (on a separate note Windows 7 costs over £100 so if I don't have to buy it then I won't!)
  4. Browsing the threads here… What's the fuss about compatible graphics cards? Is it a component that is temperamental with hackintoshes?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
K

If you intend to use Mountain Lion, avoid the 550 Ti. At least for now, it has major issues.

Ah, OK.