sapphire 6870
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi,

I'm a total noob and this will be my first build. I'm aiming for a bit of gaming in the future. I got an old G5 tower which will house the system eventually but i just wanted to keep it simple and cheap for a first build hence the £12 case.

I have a snow leopard full install dvd, a sata 2 hdd, mac wired and wireless keyboards and a wireless mighty mouse (both bluetooth).

I have sl 10.6.8 running on my brothers old macbook (coreduo) and windows 7 running on my dell studio laptop. Can I install my new build with lion rather than sl + lion update, is this viable? I can't burn dvds on my macbook but could set up a sl vm on my dell which can.

Will I need a microsoft keyboard for install? I suppose I will have to buy a wired mouse?

Should the hd3000 graphics be recognised on the mobo dsdt straight away? Can't find too many hackintoshes with this mobo but it was on the recommended builds section.

Do I need better cooling? I could always upgrade it when i move the board in to my old g5 tower.

Have i forgotten or missed anything? Any advice would be appreciated.

Shopping list:

Sony AD-7280S-0B 24x DVD±R, 12xDVD±DL, DVD+RW x8/-RWx6 ,12xRAM SATA, Black, OEM

4GB (2x2GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Jet Black, PC3-12800 (1600), Non-ECC, CAS 9-9-9-24, XMP, 1.50V

Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz Socket 1155 6MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor

Gigabyte GA-Z68P-DS3 Z68 Socket 1155 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

Casecom KB-7760 Black ATX Midi Tower Case - No PSU, No Case Fans Included

Xilence Red Wing 80mm Quiet Fan - 3&4pin connection

Corsair 430W V2 CX Series PSU

bluetooth?

Thanks

sofaking said:
...I have sl 10.6.8 running on my brothers old macbook (coreduo) and windows 7 running on my dell studio laptop. Can I install my new build with lion rather than sl + lion update, is this viable? I can't burn dvds on my macbook but could set up a sl vm on my dell which can.