Contribute
Register

Any successful build with GA-Z170X-UD5??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm thinking to direct my attention (and financial endeavors) to GA-Z170X-UD5/i7 6700K/GTX 970.

Anyone succeeded with these components and El Capitan?

Thanks
ws

I have almost exactly that setup, but with a gtx 980 ti. I've been using it as a daily driver for about 4 months with no major issues. Everything works (that I can think of) except:

* USB 3.1/USB-c port, haven't tested.
* i211 networking causes crashes when using nvidia card (the i219 is working fine with Mausi kext).
* Built in audio doesn't wake up after sleep, this is solvable but I haven't worked on it.
* I don't use the igfx, but I hear it works with 11.4 now.

You can read what I said in november about the board here. Ignore the problems I talk about in the first two paragraphs, I've solved everything that annoyed me since. I still agree with my assessment that I would buy this board again, it's still very stable. But read my complaints at the bottom. If you care a lot about fan control, I'd look at ASUS boards.

If you decide to go for this setup, or any skylake setup be prepared to have a lot of patience to get it all setup and working. Especially if it's your first hackintosh.

P
I have almost exactly that setup, but with a gtx 980 ti. I've been using it as a daily driver for about 4 months with no major issues. Everything works (that I can think of) except:

* USB 3.1/USB-c port, haven't tested.
* i211 networking causes crashes when using nvidia card (the i219 is working fine with Mausi kext).
* Built in audio doesn't wake up after sleep, this is solvable but I haven't worked on it.
* I don't use the igfx, but I hear it works with 11.4 now.