Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Background:
I am a Windows Engineer of some considerable experience, who has on occasion been forced to fix the odd unix-related problem. I have been using Macs at home for about five or six years and quite like them, enough to have bought a couple and have a hankering for another. I should however point out that I haven't ever really had to fix much with any of the my Macs, I wouldn't consider myself any higher than a "power user" at a push.

So I was poking around on eBay watching auctions of minis and iMacs, roughly around the 2006-8 time-range and seeing that they were regularly selling for anything from £200-£400, so I started squirelling away the pennies when it occured to me that most of the machines I was looking at were Core Duo or even Core Solo, therefore not capable of running more recent builds of OSx. So I thought to myself, do I really want to spend that much money on something that is already pushing obsolesence? Probably not, but what to do?
I cast my mind back to the bad old days when I tried to build a Hackintosh using 10.4, laughed at my ridiculous idea and then went about my day. But for some reason, I couldn't get the idea out of my head, probably because I hate to be defeated. So before I knew what was what I had dusted off my old rig (literally, with canned air and a black sack) and was busily trying to find an intelligible guide appropriate to the hardware I had to hand, which for the record was as follows..

Hardware:
Generic PSU
Board: Gigabyte GA-EG41MF-US2H socket 775 mainboard (Link: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3469#ov) or google the board name if the link expires
CPU: Intel E2160 (Link: http://ark.intel.com/products/29739/Intel-Pentium-Processor-E2160-(1M-Cache-1_80-GHz-800-MHz-FSB) ) or google