Contribute
Register

Zotac gaming machines - Are these compatible?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello all,

I have been reading up on this hackintosh subject, quite a lot actually, but as I am very new to this subject and am just in the starting blocks (still looking for what computer to buy) I could use some advice and tips. As I don't have a computer as of yet (except for my macbook pro that I am writing this on) I haven't posted any specs on my profile.

I have some ideas on what I want to buy but as I said, I am not fully knowledgable to know if these pre-built machines are even doable as hackintoshes and what might not work and what might have to be replaced or added for everything to work as a regular mac (looking to use all mac specific features such as airdrop, handoff, iMessage, FaceTime, etc). As I have little interest of actually building my own machine and have already found something that I believe would fit my needs perfectly as I will use windows for gaming (and VR) and mac os for office use etc, then the only question is if these two options are compatible in to making hackintoshes?

Option 1 Zotac MEK1:

https://www.zotac.com/product/zotac_gaming/mek1-gaming-pc-black#spec

Computing System
  • Processor
    Intel Core i7-7700 (quad core 3.6 GHz, up to 4.2 GHz)
  • Chipset
    Intel, NVIDIA
  • System Memory
    16GB DDR4 (2x8GB - 2400) memory
Graphics
  • Graphics Engine
    ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 Ti 8GB GDDR5 256-bit
  • Video Output
    HDMI 2.0b
    3 x DisplayPort 1.4
    DL-DVI-D
    (max 4 display)
Storage
  • Hard Drive
    1TB 2.5-inch SATA HDD
  • Mass Storage
  • Optical Drive
  • mSATA
  • M.2
    240GB NVMe PCIe SSD (80mm)
I/O Ports
  • Audio
    Onboard 7.1 Channel Audio with Optical Output
  • USB Port
    6 x USB 3.0 ports
    2 x USB 2.0 ports
  • LAN
    Dual Gigabit Ethernet
  • Antenna
    Dual WiFI SMA connetor
  • Wifi
    802.11ac/b/g/n
  • Bluetooth
    Bluetooth 4.2