Contribute
Register

ZenBR's Build: Asus P8Z77-M Pro + i5 3570K + Intel HD4000 - Mountain Lion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
OSX Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3750K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
ZenBR's Build: Asus P8Z77-M Pro + i5 3570K + Intel HD4000 - Non-DSDT

ZenBR's Build - P8Z77-M PRO - Core i5 3750K - Intel HD4000 - Mountain Lion​

57064798.jpg



Components

Apple OS X Mountain Lion @ Mac Apps Store
http://itunes.apple.com/br/app/os-x-mountain-lion/id537386512?l=en&mt=12

ASUS P8Z77-M PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007RIFKUI

Kingston Technology HyperX 8 GB (2x4 GB Modules) 1600 MHz DDR3
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0037TO5C0

Intel Core i5 3570K Processor 3.4 Ghz 4 cores BX80637I53570K
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007SZ0E1K

Antec Kuhler H2O 620 Liquid CPU Cooler System
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004LWYE4Q



Already Owned

Corsair CMPSU-450VX 450-Watt VX Series 80 Plus Certified Power Supply compatible with Core i7 and Core i5
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000UF28V4

CoolerMaster Case Elite 335U
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005SFDA4A

Kingston SSDNow V Series 128 GB SATA 3 GB/s 2.5- Inch Solid State Drive SNV425-S2/128GB
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00378KHV4

Samsung BX2250 22in LED Monitor
http://ap.viewsonic.com/in/products/pro ... php?id=306

Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003SVSJ1K



Comments:

Initial Setup
For this installation, you don't need DSDT!

Bios
For those who are not sure or are not familiar with bios operation, just load defaults and also make sure the AHCI is enabled (it's default on this BIOS, but check). Then, enter in Advanced Mode, go to Advanced tab, select System Agent Configuration and then Graphics Configuration. Make sure the primary display is set do iGPU and 32M for iGPU Memory.

screenshot20120803at120.png


Installation disk
Mountain Lion 10.8 (Mac App Store)
Unibeast 1.5

After finish the first step/part of the install, reboot your machine and finish the second part.

Do not remove the Unibeast installation disk. Restart and boot up your new system using the unibeast. Just select Mountain Lion instead of the Install.

If you did everything right, your system will boot up in a few seconds. Fill the forms and start your system.



My MultiBeast Configuration

Version 4.6.1 - Mountain Lion​

screenshot20120802at944.png

Apply and DO NOT REBOOT. Be careful because after installing the network driver, the installer asks to reboot. Let it waiting...

Open your Mountain Lion drive, go to /System/Library/Extension and delete the NullCPUPowerManagement.kext, AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext.

Now, download the patched AppleIntelCPU from HERE

Download KextBeast from Resources / Download.

Put the AppleIntelCPU...kext on your Desktop and install it using KextBeast.

Now, open multibeast 4.61 and reapply the System Utilities (that's not mandatory, but just to make sure all permissions are ok).

Now, it's time to make your HD4000 works. Open terminal and type:

Code:
sudo nano /Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist

Type your password.

Add these codes:

Code:
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
    <string>1920x1080x32</string>

Code:
<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>

Your should now have the org.chameleon.Boot.plist like this:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
    <string>Yes</string>        
    <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Graphics Mode</key>
    <string>1920x1080x32</string>    
    <key>Kernel</key>
    <string>mach_kernel</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>npci=0x3000 darkwake=0</string>
    <key>Legacy Logo</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <string>2</string>
    <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>device-properties</key>
    <string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Save with CTRL + X.


I got the codes from this thread. Many thanks to DTA for explain, step by step, how to make HD4000 works. Good work, man!


Now, download Chimera 1.11.0, apply and reboot.

That's all. You should now have everything working flawless: sleep/wake/video

That's the geekbench of my system:

http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/913236

screenshot20120802at101.png


Enjoy your system!



Note:

I installed Diablo III and some steams games, like Left for Dead 2. And both ran really well in 1080p, specially Diablo III. I can't say for sure but visualy, Diablo III seemed smooth, even on HD4000.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asrock z77 pro4
CPU
i5-3750k
Graphics
hd4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I just followed this guide in the final reboot i saw the apple logo for 3 secons and then the screen went black, i disconnected and connected the dvi and i just see like a billion lines, any recomendation?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
OSX Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3750K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes. I forgot a simple but important detail.

You have to change some settings in the BIOS.

Go to the Advanced Mode and set the onboard GPU to iGPU and 32MB of VRAM.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asrock z77 pro4
CPU
i5-3750k
Graphics
hd4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes. I forgot a simple but important detail.

You have to change some settings in the BIOS.

Go to the Advanced Mode and set the onboard GPU to iGPU and 32MB of VRAM.

True Story BTW i have a Asrock Z77 Pro4 and an i5 3570k changing to 32 VRAM fixed it, Now in "About this mac" It read 512mb
Thanks for this guide sir.

Maybe offtopic but how about if i have a dual boot (win) and i want full more vram on win??? Only changing the bios manually??
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
OSX Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3750K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Maybe offtopic but how about if i have a dual boot (win) and i want full more vram on win??? Only changing the bios manually??

Have no idea. I know OSX ignores the amount of VRAM and always use the maximum. I don't have windows in this machine.

If you try, let me know what you got.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
66
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-M-Pro
CPU
i5 3570K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Thanks

Thanks ZenBR. I have the same motherboard and processor and a working ML computer following your guide. HD4000 works on DVI, sound/sleep/wakeup all OK. HDMI to a 1080p TV is not great with a band of distortion at the bottom, but I'll stick with DVI to my 1440x900 monitor. App store downloads are working.
Setting the BIOS and the steps to getting HD4000 to work were new to me, and typing in terminal a pain, but all was fine on the second attempt. The first failed due to the bios iGPU settings not being saved (my mistake).
Your Lion installation guide was also excellent and worked as described.
What did you need to tweak to get the Geekbench score of 14,100?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
OSX Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3750K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks ZenBR. I have the same motherboard and processor and a working ML computer following your guide. HD4000 works on DVI, sound/sleep/wakeup all OK. HDMI to a 1080p TV is not great with a band of distortion at the bottom, but I'll stick with DVI to my 1440x900 monitor. App store downloads are working.
Setting the BIOS and the steps to getting HD4000 to work were new to me, and typing in terminal a pain, but all was fine on the second attempt. The first failed due to the bios iGPU settings not being saved (my mistake).
Your Lion installation guide was also excellent and worked as described.
What did you need to tweak to get the Geekbench score of 14,100?

Thanks OzBrit. Good to know that my guide helped you.

To get 14100, I overclocked my machine from 3.40Ghz to 4.6Ghz. And memory from 1600Mhz to 2140Mhz.

You can try it setting the baseclock to 107 and multiplier to 43. For the memory, start at 1600 or something till the maximum stable speed you can get. If your computer freezes, just turn it on and press the red light button next to the memory bank. :)

Or, if you have windows on it, install the softwares that came with the motherboard and run the overclock utility. It will do de job for you. It's easy and works.

And, of course, a better cooler system is mandatory. Forget about the stock intel air cooler.

Just a tip: you can copy and paste the codes using the right mouse button, even in terminal.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,612
Motherboard
GA-X99M-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-5930K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Usb 3.0

zenbr: Do you have USB 3 working?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
37
Motherboard
OSX Mountain Lion
CPU
i5 3750K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Never tried.
Don't have any USB 3 device.

Zen
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
305
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Professional-M
CPU
i7-3770K (4.2 GHz)
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
USB Ports?

Zenbr,

I under stand you can't test for USB 3.0 functionality, but do you know which ports are working even as USB 2.0? I'm only able to get the first two ports (next too old windows serial port) working with 10.8 Mountain Lion. The other four USB ports don't work. Two of them are recognized in "About This Mac - System Profiler" but when I insert a USB Flash Drive nothing happens (never mounts).

Any idea what might be wrong? I'm almost certain Four of the Six USB ports worked with 10.7.4 Lion at USB 2.0 speeds.

Thanks in advanced!

-Mrengles
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top