Contribute
Register

Z77X-UP5 + Thunderbolt Display = Intermittent Failed Boots

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
368
Motherboard
Asus X99-A
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX Titan X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
  3. eMac
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. Performa
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My failed boots always seem related to a BT dongle I use. If I remove that and then boot into verbose mode it is fine. However I did just replace my HDD with a SSD and so far zero KP's even with booting with BT installed. That said I don't reboot often but the last thing I have changed was installing 10.8.1 and the SSD at the same time.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
368
Motherboard
Asus X99-A
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX Titan X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
  3. eMac
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. Performa
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Also my USB, FW, sound and audio ALWAYS work on boot I have NEVER had an issue with those unless I hotplugged. Also I never let my machine sleep either just display sleep.

Mark
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
P5W DH Deluxe
CPU
Q9450
Graphics
ATI HD6850
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
Also my USB, FW, sound and audio ALWAYS work on boot I have NEVER had an issue with those unless I hotplugged. Also I never let my machine sleep either just display sleep.

Mark

Hi Einsteiniac

What is your system definition ? I have good result have Macpro5,1 so far after 30 over reboot ...
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte UP5 TH
CPU
Intel i7 3770k
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi All, massive hi-jack sorry... but here's where I'm at:

Followed basic Multibeast 5 (as per guide for mobo etc) under MacPro 3,1, been running 2x screens (HDMI to Plasma + DVI), FW (PCIE) and USB soundcards, BT Dongle and other bits.. (For ref my sleep settings are never).

No KPs, it has booted fine so far for about 2-3 months of medium usage.

Recently my plasma blew (about 3 months to early) so as originally planned I ordered a TB Display of which I've had for a day+. My experience/issues so far:

Display/Screen - My main problem is (somehow) recognition as a display. My 'successful' route is boot, see Gigabyte Bios etc, grey apple screen, then the screen 'switches off', turn display off and on. It only seems to do this off a cold boot however. If I restart, sometimes I don't even get to the Gig screen... very frustrating. Weirdly, I know its booting up ok as Firefox loaded and started a vid of which the audio was coming out of the TB Display but no picture!

Audio/Camera/USB - I can verify the Audio working. The Camera doesn't work. USB is untested.

For getting the screen to behave consistently, does anyone have any thoughts/experience/help? I'd really appreciate it. I'm still in the exchanging it period which is something I don't really want to do.

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
368
Motherboard
Asus X99-A
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX Titan X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
  3. eMac
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. Performa
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Einsteiniac

What is your system definition ? I have good result have Macpro5,1 so far after 30 over reboot ...

I am running iMac 12,2. I still get the KP's on boot most times. I will have a clean boot 1 out of probably 3 times. I find if I just reboot after a KP I usually get a different KP then reboot again and it starts up fine. Sometimes however it just boots. I don't reboot enough to care to track down the issue.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H TH
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
Intel HD4000/Radeon HD5870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Finished my build! I think I have managed to get it fully up and running with 100% functionality on the Thunderbolt display! My build is as follows;

Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H THIntel i7 3770K
Radeon HD5870
Crucial m4 SSD 2.5" 128GB
Seagate Barracuda 2tb
Corsair Vengeance 16gb 1600MHz
Be quiet! Pure Power 730W PSU
Fractal Design Define Mini
Sony Optiarc DVDRW
TP-Link WDN4800
Targus Bluetooth

Apple Thunderbolt Display
Apple Bluetooth Keyboard and Mouse

I followed Alfa's guide but used this string below to get full function with the Thunderbolt Display! Everything seems to work. The GPU is also working plugged in and will run some test on it later this week.

Overal very happy with my Hack!!

I have a Z77X-UP4 TH with TB 27 display and found that booting was intermittent until I disabled GraphicsEnabler and set an EFI string for the HD4000. FWIW this is what I'm using-

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>

Though the camera/speakers dont seem to work using this string.

Would be interested to know what settings people are using and if they can reliably get the camera/sound to work.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Os X
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
ATi Radeon 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey guys.

I'm having the Z77X-UTH5 TH (and HD4000 integrated + HD6870) and the apple cinema display 27 Thunderbolt connected to the TB port of the mobo.

Having the same problems as you... kernel panics, etc. Tried various installations, but can't get it running.
Can someone help me with the multibeast and chimera settings? How do you do the EFI string injection and how has it to be set for the HD4000?

What setting do you use for the internal graphics ram... 32 or 64MB?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
Os X
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
ATi Radeon 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I get stuck with "failed to load smc driver"... (in verbose)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top