6. Plus
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I'm a noob to this forum and Hackintosh so please bear with me a bit.

So far I've managed to get to the install screen with just the mobo and processor, no graphics card or other PCI cards. But when the choose language screen comes up all the USB ports, including a 2-port USB 2.0 adapter I plugged in to the mobo, no longer function and I lose mouse and keyboard control.

I've read threads on the z77x-up4 th and USB 3 but, being such a noob who speaks English rather than IT, I'm lost and have seen too many threads with no answers.

I'm unemployed and trying to build a video editing machine so I can feed my family.

Any suggestions that might help me move ahead will be greatly appreciated.

Make sure that you've got your USB 2.0 adapter plugged into a USB 2.0 header on the motherboard. Also, if you've got USB 2.0 ports on your computer case make sure those are hooked up to USB 2.0 header (the manual will tell you which is which). I use this board and had to do that initially, although with 10.8.2 you can use the the USB 3.0 ports for devices (with the exception of storage devices).

I'm going to tidy my threads over here. Here's an update and re-post of what's there, but please reply there if you have any suggestions. Thanks

The original USB problem has been fixed with a bios setting and I've installed 10.8.2 ML on my Z77X-UP4-TH with Intel 3770K and applied these settings in MultiBeast 5.2. They seem to be working for Kongzilla, but not for me. After restart and boot to SSD, startup hangs a few seconds after the grey Apple screen. The wheel gets about 10 revolutions then freezes. Same in Safe Mode. The drive shows up as a boot option but won't go. I can reboot with the UniBeast USB but not to the SSD system drive.

No PCI cards, running internal graphics until I get the rest ironed out.