i7-3770
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
[SOLVED]

It was a dumb problem, I was trying all the front ports in my tower instead of using the USB ports that are directly sitting on the motherboard. As soon as I removed all other USB peripherals and just plugged in the keyboard, mouse, and install stick into the back side of the tower, everything worked fine.

Hey everyone--

TL;DR: Can't get my computer to recognize the Install High Sierra bootable USB stick I made with UniBeast as a boot option. System specs at bottom of post.

I've been running Sierrra for the past 18 months or so on my old-ish Hackintosh which I originally built in early 2013. I had a small SSD with the OS and had relocated my Home folder to a 2TB HDD because I do a lot of photo and video work that takes up more space than I want to try and fit on SSDs.

Well that 2TB drive finally bit the bullet (no worries, I have backups of everything). I figured since I'm replacing that drive, why not just go to High Sierra so that my desktop and laptop can be running the same OS? I don't want to go to Mojave specifically because I'm still using my Adobe CS6 programs, and they have some significant incompatibility reports with Mojave.

Because my SSD has gotten a bit cluttered, and because my build of Sierra had some minor annoying issues (sleep wasn't working, for example), I decided to just do a clean install instead of running the updater.

So I jumped through a bunch of hoops to find and download the "Install High Sierra" app since it's no longer properly available on the app store, and even if you can find it there, it's usually the ~19MB truncated version that will download, rather than the full 5GB file. Finally I got the full installer, and started following the instructions here.