Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Z77X-UD5H Audio on Catalina with Clover

Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi all,

Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H - i7 3770K - RX570 - Fenvi T919

I wanted to move to opencore for months.
I just upgraded my Mojave hack under clover with a fresh Catalina install following Dortania's guide and opencore 0.7.6 debug.

Everything went smooth but sound (alc 898). Maybe because I used the prebuilt SSDT-EC-DESKTOP.aml but I'm not sure...
I tried several alcids but was not luckier.

Then I disconnected all OSX hard drives and started a windows session installed on another HDD (without opencore bootloader) to see if the soundchip still works. Under windows it was not better.

Can the bios remember ACPI modifications done with opencore even without booting it ?
What do you think ?
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,406
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you clear the NVRAM before you booted in to Catalina, from the OC Picker List or GUI boot screen?

If not, then yes old settings can remain in the NVRAM and mess things up. I'm not sure why it would do so for Windows, as that OS uses a different Audio driver. But hey, this is an old Hack so anything can happen.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thx Edhawk, NVRAM already cleared.
I finally think that the soundchip is dead :

Weird crackling noises in windows, in realtek control panel, nothing is working anymore (jack plug detection...).
I will use an external USB soundblaster in place.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,406
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry to hear the Audio device has died on your motherboard.

Be careful with which Sound Blaster device you get/use, they don't all work in macOS, some only work in the older versions.

I know the Sound Blaster G3 work in macOS. Creative provide drivers/installers for macOS for this USB Type-C device (comes with a Type-C to Type-A adapter). https://support.creative.com/Produc...ifiers&prodID=23431&prodName=Sound+Blaster+G3

 
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm using the mp3+ version bought in 2007 who was sleeping in a box for years.
It works out of the box and sound better than the alc chip. :headbang:

IMG_20220118_095042.jpeg
 
Top