Contribute
Register

Z77 / Ivy Bridge System only booting in safe mode

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99-UD4
CPU
Intel Core i7-5960x
Graphics
GeForce GTX 780 6GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello,

I'm trying to setup a new system. I was able to install Mountain Lion but now I can't boot into the system without using the safe mode ("-x" in chameleon).

This is the Hardware:
Intel Core-i7 3770
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H
16 GB RAM (two slots)
1 SSD (Sandisk 840pro 256GB)
1 WD 3 TB HDD

Graphics, Network etc. works in safe mode but sound isn't. I installed the ALC892 which is why I chosed this board: the UD3 has a via audio chipset and I'm happy with my i7-950 system with an Realtek on a Gigabyte board so I choose this. I'm not shure if the problem is sound related but I get the output you see in the attachment and then nothing else happens.

Maybe someone has an idea why boot stucks here?

[EDIT:] Sorry, just hit enter when I was in the title bar, so this post changed a lot since I hadn't written a usable error description before accidentially hitting enter.
 

Attachments

  • bootfail.jpg
    bootfail.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 206
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASRock X79 Extreme 6, 16GBs GSKILL DDR3 2400, OCZ Vertex 4 128GB SSD, 2TB Hitachi Deskstar
CPU
i7 3930k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 780 Classified
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ditto, I'm having the same problem here on an ASRock Z77E-ITX and 3570k. I can only boot -x.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
1,364
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
that kp u get when u need nullcpumanagement kext most gigabyte mobos don't need this its saying unknown ivy bridge cpu in short. boot with -x -f -v graphicsenabler=no if kp take a pic again
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
372
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
CPU
E3-1240 V2
Graphics
GTX 660Ti x2 SLI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I'm trying to setup a new system. I was able to install Mountain Lion but now I can't boot into the system without using the safe mode ("-x" in chameleon).

This is the Hardware:
Intel Core-i7 3770
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H
16 GB RAM (two slots)
1 SSD (Sandisk 840pro 256GB)
1 WD 3 TB HDD

Graphics, Network etc. works in safe mode but sound isn't. I installed the ALC892 which is why I chosed this board: the UD3 has a via audio chipset and I'm happy with my i7-950 system with an Realtek on a Gigabyte board so I choose this. I'm not shure if the problem is sound related but I get the output you see in the attachment and then nothing else happens.

Maybe someone has an idea why boot stucks here?

[EDIT:] Sorry, just hit enter when I was in the title bar, so this post changed a lot since I hadn't written a usable error description before accidentially hitting enter.

Check in UEFI/BIOS, make sure VT-d is disabled.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99-UD4
CPU
Intel Core i7-5960x
Graphics
GeForce GTX 780 6GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Check in UEFI/BIOS, make sure VT-d is disabled.
This was on to have it if using a VM sometime but with VT-d disabled it works. And currently there is no plan to use VMs soon so this will do the trick for me. Thank you.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
372
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
CPU
E3-1240 V2
Graphics
GTX 660Ti x2 SLI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This was on to have it if using a VM sometime but with VT-d disabled it works. And currently there is no plan to use VMs soon so this will do the trick for me. Thank you.

You don't need VT-d to run VM's, VMware Fusion and Parallels Desktop run perfectly fine with it disabled. However, you can re-enable it using a kext from 10.8.1. See pic below.
 

Attachments

  • Enable_VT-d.png
    Enable_VT-d.png
    52.8 KB · Views: 107
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
372
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH F11
CPU
E3-1240 V2
Graphics
GTX 660Ti x2 SLI
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does this solve your problem also? I'd mark the topic solved then.

I don't think VT-d is his problem, because his CPU does not support VT-d. All "K" versions of Intel CPU's have VT-d disabled. He should try using the same kext from 10.8.1.
 

Attachments

  • Enable_VT-d.png
    Enable_VT-d.png
    52.8 KB · Views: 101
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99-UD4
CPU
Intel Core i7-5960x
Graphics
GeForce GTX 780 6GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You don't need VT-d to run VM's, VMware Fusion and Parallels Desktop run perfectly fine with it disabled. However, you can re-enable it using a kext from 10.8.1. See pic below.
I know it isn't necessary but it can help to speed up virtual hardware in some cases. Managing some Linux systems with server virtualisation I got some experience over the years ...

But as I said for now it isn't important for me so I'll stick with VT-d disabled for now.


I don't think VT-d is his problem, because his CPU does not support VT-d. All "K" versions of Intel CPU's have VT-d disabled. He should try using the same kext from 10.8.1.
Ok, I didn't knew that the K series had no VT-d. Strange, normally they would cut features on the lower end of the processor series not on the top.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top