Contribute
Register

Z490 & Z590 - Will Z590 ever have macOS Support ?

Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
526
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
I'm sure that i don't have SSDT-DTGP.aml. I (think I) have read @CaseySJ's post mentioning NOT to use this SSDT... This I'm not sure
I try to find it anyway. I see it's not part of Opencore-0 ➧ Docs ➧ AcpiSamples Folder

I'm gonna read those ... many thanks
Here you go !
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-DTGP.aml
    100 bytes · Views: 52
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
526
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Seems better .... with your SSDT.
I'll find another Thunderbolt device to test.
OK, but Thunderbolt tree isn't full. Which Thunderbolt settings have you on your BIOS ?

Thunderbolt Host Chipset ?
Thunderbolt Security Level ?
Thunderbolt Boot from TB
Thunderbolt MMIO Ressource ?
Legacy/Native/RTD3 ?
Thunderbolt Wake up command ?

Update: On your BIOS Advanced section > AMD CBS, could you set IOMMU to disable ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
977
Motherboard
AsRock X299 Creator-1.50
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, but Thunderbolt tree isn't full. Which thunderbolt settings have you on your BIOS ?

Thunderbolt Host Chipset ?
Good question.
I thought it is Maple Rridge
capture 2021-11-16 à 11.30.25.png

But Hackintool shows Maple Ridge & Titan Ridge. Very confusing .... for me :crazy:
Thunderbolt Security Level ?
Thunderbolt Boot from TB
Thunderbolt MMIO Ressource ?
Legacy/Native/RTD3 ?
Thunderbolt Wake up command ?
Here it is
IMG_7613.jpg

What are your recommandations for those settings ?
Update: On your BIOS Advanced section > AMD CBS, could you set IOMMU to disable ?
I did it and attach the IOregistery
many thanks
 

Attachments

  • B550 creator IOMMU disable.ioreg
    4.8 MB · Views: 27
Last edited:
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
67
Motherboard
ASUS Proart Creator z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
I just picked up an ASUS Z590 ROG MAXIMUS XIII HERO that has two Thunderbolt 4 ports.
No hot plug or hot swap, but my UAD Apollos connect when turned on before the macOS boot screen

Do your UAD Apollos work in macOS on this board without modification (flashing) of the Thunderbolt Firmware or extra SSDTs? Or did I miss something?
 
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
67
Motherboard
ASUS Proart Creator z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Have you tried enabling AppleVTD?
I have just spent a week trying to get an ASUS ThunderboldEX 3-TR working - only to find out that the card was probably corrupted from the beginning....so frustrating.

However, in the process of getting this card up and running, "enabling AppleVTD" was suggested a couple of times.
So I searched for it, but didn't really find anything or too much to swallow (for me).

Can someone point me in the direction, where I can learn how to do that and why and what it means?

I have an UAD Apollo Twin, that I want to connect to my built (Asus Z490 board with 14PIN Thunderbolt Header).
Therefore I need a PCI Thunderbolt Controller.

I just spent some time looking through this forum to find an alternativ PCI TB3 controller, that doesn't need firmware flashing and is supposedly easy to install. I only need TB3 Audio for the UAD Apollo, no Display.

This website has a buyers guide for everything, just not for "Thunderbolt" - maybe its time to set one up :clap:...or maybe I just didn't find it.:crazy:

I wouldn't also mind swapping the Mainboard for one with integrated TB3/4, as long as it supports the UAD Apollo like the one I mentioned in this post (supposedly without firmware flashing)

Anyway - I would be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction. Thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,123
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have just spent a week trying to get an ASUS ThunderboldEX 3-TR working - only to find out that the card was probably corrupted from the beginning....so frustrating.

However, in the process of getting this card up and running, "enabling AppleVTD" was suggested a couple of times.
So I searched for it, but didn't really find anything or too much to swallow (for me).

Can someone point me in the direction, where I can learn how to do that and why and what it means?

I have an UAD Apollo Twin, that I want to connect to my built (Asus Z490 board with 14PIN Thunderbolt Header).
Therefore I need a PCI Thunderbolt Controller.

I just spent some time looking through this forum to find an alternativ PCI TB3 controller, that doesn't need firmware flashing and is supposedly easy to install. I only need TB3 Audio for the UAD Apollo, no Display.

This website has a buyers guide for everything, just not for "Thunderbolt" - maybe its time to set one up :clap:...or maybe I just didn't find it.:crazy:

I wouldn't also mind swapping the Mainboard for one with integrated TB3/4, as long as it supports the UAD Apollo like the one I mentioned in this post (supposedly without firmware flashing)

Anyway - I would be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction. Thanks
For the UAD Apollo it's not necessary to enable AppleVTD. But if you're curious, the instructions are located here:
These are not complete, but if you do decide to enable AppleVTD, we can help you with the missing details.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
973
Motherboard
Gigabyte C246-WU4
CPU
E-2278G
Graphics
WX7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Can someone point me in the direction, where I can learn how to do that and why and what it means?
VT-d is a virtualisation technology which can give a device direct access to a part of the RAM. Some audio devices use that to achieve low latency.
To explain the instructions in the above link:
Enable (Intel) VT-d in BIOS and disable quirk DisableIOMapper (which disables VT-d).
Add a DMAC (Direct Memory Access Controller) device in ACPI with a SSDT if your board does not have one (workstation-class motherboards have one, consumer board typically not).
Let AppleVTD do what it wants with memory by removing protected areas: Drop the standard DMAR ACPI table and replace it by a custom version.

I just spent some time looking through this forum to find an alternativ PCI TB3 controller, that doesn't need firmware flashing and is supposedly easy to install. I only need TB3 Audio for the UAD Apollo, no Display.

This website has a buyers guide for everything, just not for "Thunderbolt" - maybe its time to set one up :clap:...or maybe I just didn't find it.:crazy:
Gigabyte GC-TitanRidge seems to be everyone's favourite… including for users with Asus boards.
With working Thunderbolt, you'll get display anyway. Flashing firmware is to activate the Thunderbolt bus, which is required for Thunderbolt networking and attached storage (Thuderbolt DAS are actually NAS which do "direct-attached networking" with the Thunderbolt cable)—but that's not your use case.

I wouldn't also mind swapping the Mainboard for one with integrated TB3/4, as long as it supports the UAD Apollo like the one I mentioned in this post (supposedly without firmware flashing)
Z490 boards with on-board Thunderbolt may be hard to come by at this point.
Note that if you ever have to flash the firmware (which should NOT be the case…), the procedure is less daunting than it may seem but is much easier and safer on a Thunderbolt add-in card.
If you're otherwise satisfied with your Asus motherboard, just keep it and get a working Thunderbolt card.
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
76
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi

I'm using a custom firmware titan ridge (I think the bridge with pins 3 and 5 is).
* I have a hot connection with Thunderbolt 3
* appears in the system report under the Thunderbolt tab
* also in pci.

The problem is that, when I turn on the hack, and start the system, once inside I turn on the apollo, and the hack restarts with a kernel panic of the uad extension, since I will attach more the txt.
After the panic, and restarting the computer, my apollo already works perfectly hot plug
But if I turn off the computer, I will have to repeat the process of -> turn it on -> panic -> reboot.

Anyone know what might be happening? I can't find answers anywhere and I need help!
Hello, I have been doing research and testing. Regarding my Apollo problem, and the reboot needed to get it going. I have found that apparently it is not a Thunderbolt problem, since I plug in other devices such as disks and nothing happens. Apparently, the problem is when the audio device changes when the Apollo is connected via Thunderbolt. The next clue I have, is that: when I reboot and take the Apollo -> if I go to the "Audio MIDI Control Setup" section and try to configure the speakers, my hack will reboot. So that the reboot does not happen, I must turn off and turn on Apollo (now it is running after the first reboot). Can you come up with an idea what it might be?

PS: If I turn on the computer with the Apollo on, it doesn't take it either, if or if I have to panic the system to take it.

Please, help me!

Thanks!

@CaseySJ
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,123
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I have been doing research and testing. Regarding my Apollo problem, and the reboot needed to get it going. I have found that apparently it is not a Thunderbolt problem, since I plug in other devices such as disks and nothing happens. Apparently, the problem is when the audio device changes when the Apollo is connected via Thunderbolt. The next clue I have, is that: when I reboot and take the Apollo -> if I go to the "Audio MIDI Control Setup" section and try to configure the speakers, my hack will reboot. So that the reboot does not happen, I must turn off and turn on Apollo (now it is running after the first reboot). Can you come up with an idea what it might be?

PS: If I turn on the computer with the Apollo on, it doesn't take it either, if or if I have to panic the system to take it.

Please, help me!

Thanks!

@CaseySJ
One thing we can try is to fix an ACPI table loading problem. Although there is no evidence that it will fix the problem you're reporting, it is certainly worth doing as a first step.

Simply run this command in Terminal:
Bash:
log show --last boot | head -1500 > ~/Documents/bootlog.txt
This will create a file in Documents folder called bootlog.txt. Simply post that file.
 
Top