Contribute
Register

Z490 & Z590 - Will Z590 ever have macOS Support ?

Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
561
Motherboard
Asus z590 ROG Maximus XIII Hero
CPU
i9-11900K
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

I have a Gigabyte Z590 Vision G with an Intel i7 11700KF and I'm a bit desperate as it reboots once in a while on its own.
Video card is the Radeon W5500 8GB.
I'm not sure is the configuration.
I tried using a SATA SSD instead of a Samsung 980 PRO
I tried swapping the Power Supply
Once in a while it reboots, often when it's doing nothing particular.
If I stress test I get 100% stability, but once in a while it reboots outof the blue..
Does anyone have a clue or an advice?
Thanks a lot!
There's a shell command to search log for cause of shutdown:

I found this at ifixit.com, there may be others.

Code:
log show --predicate 'eventMessage contains "Previous shutdown cause"' --last 24h

One aspect to consider is that power mgmt needs tweaking? Maybe it's going to sleep, but too far? Idk
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
796
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There's a shell command to search log for cause of shutdown:

I found this at ifixit.com, there may be others.

Code:
log show --predicate 'eventMessage contains "Previous shutdown cause"' --last 24h

One aspect to consider is that power mgmt needs tweaking? Maybe it's going to sleep, but too far? Idk
Hi @c-o-pr

thanks for your reply.
Sleep works consistently well.
The PC reboots only when it's awake.
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
76
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I have been doing research and testing. Regarding my Apollo problem, and the reboot needed to get it going. I have found that apparently it is not a Thunderbolt problem, since I plug in other devices such as disks and nothing happens. Apparently, the problem is when the audio device changes when the Apollo is connected via Thunderbolt. The next clue I have, is that: when I reboot and take the Apollo -> if I go to the "Audio MIDI Control Setup" section and try to configure the speakers, my hack will reboot. So that the reboot does not happen, I must turn off and turn on Apollo (now it is running after the first reboot). Can you come up with an idea what it might be?

PS: If I turn on the computer with the Apollo on, it doesn't take it either, if or if I have to panic the system to take it.

Please, help me!

Thanks!

@CaseySJ

Hello! I'm still investigating about my kernel panic when turning on my uad apollo TB3... I've discovered a quirk... If I manually remove the kext from the system, I mean, in the terminal I enter "sudo kextunload /Library/Extensions/UAD2System.kext "and I turn on my apollo. My thunderbolt section sees it, my pci section too. (That makes me think that the thunderbolt is not the problem)
But if I load the kext manually with the kextload command, my machine automatically freezes... Does that give us any clues?

@CaseySJ
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,080
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello! I'm still investigating about my kernel panic when turning on my uad apollo TB3... I've discovered a quirk... If I manually remove the kext from the system, I mean, in the terminal I enter "sudo kextunload /Library/Extensions/UAD2System.kext "and I turn on my apollo. My thunderbolt section sees it, my pci section too. (That makes me think that the thunderbolt is not the problem)
But if I load the kext manually with the kextload command, my machine automatically freezes... Does that give us any clues?

@CaseySJ
@oLiMonKeY has been facing the same problem.
  • Are you on Big Sur or Catalina?
  • Is the UAD kext certified for Big Sur / Catalina?
  • Do you have Thunderbolt Bus enabled?
  • Do you have AppleVTD enabled?
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
76
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@oLiMonKeY has been facing the same problem.
  • Are you on Big Sur or Catalina?
  • Is the UAD kext certified for Big Sur / Catalina?
  • Do you have Thunderbolt Bus enabled?
  • Do you have AppleVTD enabled?
I'm in Big Sur with 9.15.1, which according to UAD is only for Big Sur onwards.
I have the Thunderbolt bus activated, with my Titan Ridge flashed, and Apple VTD activated.

What other information can I provide?
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,775
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm in Big Sur
with 9.15.1, which according to uad is only for Big Sur onwards
I have thunderbolt bus activated, with my titan ridge flashed
and apple VT-D activated

What other information can I provide?

Do you have any overclocking going on CPU or RAM?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,080
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm in Big Sur
with 9.15.1, which according to uad is only for Big Sur onwards
I have thunderbolt bus activated, with my titan ridge flashed
and Apple VT-D activated

What other information can I provide?
Some more questions:
  • Did this problem always exist in Big Sur, or you have only recently installed Big Sur?
  • If this problem did not always exist in Big Sur, then Apollo has been working fine in Big Sur for some time? But only now it is crashing the system?
  • Do you know if other Big Sur users have Apollo devices working properly in Big Sur? In other words, do we know that Apollo drivers "should" work in Big Sur on Hackintosh?
 
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
76
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I'll go by parts.

It does not have overclocking the cpu or the ram (I am only with the xmp profile 1)
My z590 vision D, I put it together directly with bigsur, therefore I always had this problem
In my studio hackintosh there is a z490 vision D with big sur and uad (WITHOUT THE ACTIVE THUNDERBOLT BUS) and it works perfectly...

Color note: There were a few weeks that it worked perfectly, but I added some front usb c devices, and everything went wrong again (Before it also worked wrong). Only for a few weeks it seemed to fix itself, but it didn't.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,080
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I'll go by parts.

It does not have overclocking the cpu or the ram (I am only with the xmp profile 1)
My z590 vision D, I put it together directly with bigsur, therefore I always had this problem
In my studio hackintosh there is a z490 vision D with big sur and uad (WITHOUT THE ACTIVE THUNDERBOLT BUS) and it works perfectly...

Color note: There were a few weeks that it worked perfectly, but I added some front usb c devices, and everything went wrong again (Before it also worked wrong). Only for a few weeks it seemed to fix itself, but it didn't.
On the Z590 Vision D there is a built-in Maple Ridge Thunderbolt 4 controller. But you're using a flashed GC-Titan Ridge.
  • Does it help if you Disable the built-in Maple Ridge controller in BIOS?
  • If that does not help, then does it help if you un-flash the GC-Titan Ridge?
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,775
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On the Z590 Vision D there is a built-in Maple Ridge Thunderbolt 4 controller.
  • Are you using the Maple Ridge controller or a GC-Titan Ridge PCIe card?
  • If you're using a GC-Titan Ridge, is it flashed?
You said that Thunderbolt on Z590 Vision D has been flashed (i.e. Thunderbolt Bus is active) so I'm trying to determine whether you have a flashed GC-Titan Ridge.

The Z490 Vision D has built-in Titan Ridge.

I'd like to add on my Maple Ridge card only one port worked consistently. Two devices would kill it.
 
Top