Contribute
Register

Z370 Gaming 7 Bios F12c update

Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
205
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Anyone else running a Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7 with the newest Bios update?

I upgraded my i7 8700k to an i9 9900k and figured I might as well update the Bios from F11 to F12c.

I can't get passed clover into Mac os or get into the install screen. I want to do a fresh installation.

Maybe there's a setting I need to enable/disable. I'm lost. May try to go back to F11 bios...
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,667
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone else running a Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7 with the newest Bios update?

I upgraded my i7 8700k to an i9 9900k and figured I might as well update the Bios from F11 to F12c.

I can't get passed clover into Mac os or get into the install screen. I want to do a fresh installation.

Maybe there's a setting I need to enable/disable. I'm lost. May try to go back to F11 bios...

Try downgrading your bios if it supports the 9900k Mac OS should just work when you change out the CPU other then the IGPU needing to be spoofed.

Edit
The Golden build for the gaming 7 says F12c is bad news.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
205
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I downgraded to F11 and it worked at first. Now That I am trying to do a new/fresh installation of 10.14.3 I cannot get to setup screen. Something with my graphics. Apparently my Vega 64 isn't playing nice. Have yet to figure out a work around....
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,667
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I downgraded to F11 and it worked at first. Now That I am trying to do a new/fresh installation of 10.14.3 I cannot get to setup screen. Something with my graphics. Apparently my Vega 64 isn't playing nice. Have yet to figure out a work around....

What Vega do you have really there should not be any issues with any Vega. What do you mean by you can not get past clover screen? Maybe try using a different port on the card some ports will not be enabled without Whatever green or a custom config. In addition if I try an install with two monitors plugged into my video card it acts strange as well so disconnect one of the monitors when I do a install or upgrade.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
205
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
What Vega do you have really there should not be any issues with any Vega. What do you mean by you can not get past clover screen? Maybe try using a different port on the card some ports will not be enabled without Whatever green or a custom config. In addition if I try an install with two monitors plugged into my video card it acts strange as well so disconnect one of the monitors when I do a install or upgrade.

I have a Sapphire Vega 64. Only thing that worked for me was finally booting into my other Mojave install disk and using Kext Beast to install Lilu and Whatevergreen on the drive I couldn't boot into. Now after all that I can't get Multibeast to work!!!! I am going crazy!!!
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,667
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a Sapphire Vega 64. Only thing that worked for me was finally booting into my other Mojave install disk and using Kext Beast to install Lilu and Whatevergreen on the drive I couldn't boot into. Now after all that I can't get Multibeast to work!!!! I am going crazy!!!

I would guess by your installation of WG the drive was booting you just could not see it, and that if you would have tried one of the other display ports it would have been working. However, I can not help you with the mutibeast issue.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
205
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I would guess by your installation of WG the drive was booting you just could not see it, and that if you would have tried one of the other display ports it would have been working. However, I can not help you with the mutibeast issue.

I tried all the display ports and different monitors. I have now narrowed it down to a clover issue. For some reason it's failing to install. I might just start over again ...
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
296
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Slickademo, did you get yours to work. I have a gaming 5 and just updated the bios to 12c and it WONT boot. Stuck on the apple logo. I had to downgrade back to F10.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
205
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@Slickademo, did you get yours to work. I have a gaming 5 and just updated the bios to 12c and it WONT boot. Stuck on the apple logo. I had to downgrade back to F10.

F12c doesn't work apparently. I'm running F11 myself. Sounds like everyone is going back to F10? I wonder if that's more compatible then F11 or something?
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
205
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I would guess by your installation of WG the drive was booting you just could not see it, and that if you would have tried one of the other display ports it would have been working. However, I can not help you with the mutibeast issue.

Here's what happens when I try to boot into installation. It only shows a small box in the middle of a black screen. Same thing on DP and HDMI.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20190128_184848.jpg
    IMG_20190128_184848.jpg
    4.9 MB · Views: 160
  • IMG_20190128_184853.jpg
    IMG_20190128_184853.jpg
    4.2 MB · Views: 154
Top