Contribute
Register

"You need to restart your computer" error during usb stick preparation process

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 16, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
AsRock Z77 extreme6
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
"You need to restart your computer" / EBIOS error : error 0x31

Hey there,

I' currently praparing a bootable usb stick (8GB) for the installation of Mountain Lion and I always got the following stupid error massage:

TS3742_01_KP-001-en.jpg

I installed Mountain Lion in VirtualBox on Windows 7 and the error message pops up when I choose the plugged in usb stick in Virtualbox. I tried to format the USB stick in Windows (FAT 32) and did the same again. No error message. Then I followed the UniBeast 10.8 guide and when I have to create a partition in the Disk Utility the error message pops up again.

My second approach was the Lion Disk Maker App. There I got no luck, too. :(

I have no idea what I can do. Do you have any suggestions, please?
Thank you!
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
AsRock Z77 extreme6
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
"You need to restart your computer" / EBIOS error : error 0x31

We do not support VMs in any non OS X host.
oh I'm sorry Going Bald, i did not know that.

Anyway i have my usb stick now and I can boot from it, but when I'm choosing the usb stick as boot device I got the following error a couple of lines:
Code:
EBIOS read error : Error 0x31
Block 0 Sectors 4

After that the Chameleon bootloader shows up and I can boot up OS X. After about 10s the PC is rebooting itself. I've tried to boot with the following boot parameters:
Code:
[COLOR=#000000][FONT=Verdana]–v verbose mode
[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=#000000][FONT=Verdana]–x safe boot 
[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=#000000][FONT=Verdana]PCIRootUID=0[/FONT][/COLOR]

But no success, after 10s the PC is rebooting.

What is wrong? Do I have to take out any RAM or the HD 7970?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,309
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
What is wrong? Do I have to take out any RAM or the HD 7970?

There is no support for the HD 7970 in OS X unless they added it in the last day or so, slipping it by me as I have been distracted by holiday food shopping and cooking.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
AsRock Z77 extreme6
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
There is no support for the HD 7970 in OS X unless they added it in the last day or so, slipping it by me as I have been distracted by holiday food shopping and cooking.

Yep I knew that already and activated the onboard one (HD 4000) in the UEFI but I didn't remove the HD 7970 from my system. That is what I meant before.
Any other suggestions?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
AsRock Z77 extreme6
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
PowerColor HD 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Sure, follow this guide to create an install drive: http://www.tonymacx86.com/61-unibeast-install-os-x-mountain-lion-any-supported-intel-based-pc.html This site only supports its own tools, http://blog.gete.net/lion-diskmaker-us/ is not one of them.

As you now know the HD 7970 is not supported so use on-board graphics to install.

1. I created my install drive with the guide here (unibeast), but I got the EBIOS error after booting with it. Then I thought ok let's try another one (lion diskmaker tool) which also results in the EBIOS error. :(
Maybe it is my SSD, which is not empty (formatted) and Windows 7 (GPT) is running on it.

What does
Code:
[COLOR=#3e3e3e]EBIOS read error : error 0x31
[/COLOR]Block 0 Sectors 4
exactly mean? I'm not quite sure what the error is about. What is wrong configured?

2. I know that the HD 7970 is not supported, but my question was should I remove the card completely or can it stay in the system (just activate onboard graphics in the UEFI). :confused:
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
oh I'm sorry Going Bald, i did not know that.

Anyway i have my usb stick now and I can boot from it, but when I'm choosing the usb stick as boot device I got the following error a couple of lines:
how did you solved your first problem? I have the same problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top