Contribute
Register

Yosemite and Titan X

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte z97 Gaming 3
CPU
4790
Graphics
GTX Titan X SC
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello,
I recently built my PC and installed Yosemite 10.10.3 on it. I have everything working using Multibeast Post-Install......except the Titan. I can only boot into Yosemite with the boot flag, nv_disable=1, which disables the Nvidia drivers. I have to use that flag even when I installed the Nvidia Web Drivers and Cuda Drivers. System Info recognizes it as "NVIDIA Chip Model" and at 1024x786, I want to be able to run at 1080p to use FCPX and Adobe CC. Any help is appreciated.

Specs:
Intel i7 4790
Gigabyte z97 Gaming 3
HyperX 16GB 2133Mhz
EVGA Titan X SC
Samsung 850 Evo 250gb
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte z97 Gaming 3
CPU
4790
Graphics
GTX Titan X SC
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I got the Web drivers and CUDA Drivers installed with no problem. But once I switch to the Web drivers I can not longer boot up without nv_disable=1. I loose my input from the Titan, I'm using the DVI Port on the back and even tried the HDMI but no luck. By chance, one time I was able to get it run with Yosemite recognizing the Titan X and its 12GB of VRam but after doing my audio driver install and rebooting, it all went away. I'm not sure what I did to get it to work but I'm back to square one now.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,222
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got the Web drivers and CUDA Drivers installed with no problem. But once I switch to the Web drivers I can not longer boot up without nv_disable=1. I loose my input from the Titan, I'm using the DVI Port on the back and even tried the HDMI but no luck. By chance, one time I was able to get it run with Yosemite recognizing the Titan X and its 12GB of VRam but after doing my audio driver install and rebooting, it all went away. I'm not sure what I did to get it to work but I'm back to square one now.

Are you using the Preference Pane to select the NVIDIA drivers or using nvda_drv=1?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte z97 Gaming 3
CPU
4790
Graphics
GTX Titan X SC
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I've started to use both. But I've found that using nvda_drv=1 only works every so often. I usually have to restart my desktop a few times for it to actually work. However I've found that when it doesn't succeed, I get an error saying that the Maxwell series is unknown or something. SAMPLE: GeForceSensors (pci2): [Fatal] unknown chipset, 0x124020a1. When I have to reboot, I will try to take a picture of the error when I boot into verbose.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2012
Messages
86
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've started to use both. But I've found that using nvda_drv=1 only works every so often. I usually have to restart my desktop a few times for it to actually work. However I've found that when it doesn't succeed, I get an error saying that the Maxwell series is unknown or something. SAMPLE: GeForceSensors (pci2): [Fatal] unknown chipset, 0x124020a1. When I have to reboot, I will try to take a picture of the error when I boot into verbose.

This message is just the FakeSMC plugin telling you that it can't read temperature sensors, it shouldn't affect booting success. To be sure though, you can remove the GeForceSensors kext. You should try all the troubleshooting people do with the other Maxwell cards (making sure that you have kext-dev-mode=1, for the recent drivers, making sure your smbios is correct, etc.).
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte z97 Gaming 3
CPU
4790
Graphics
GTX Titan X SC
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yosemite and Titan X [SOLVED]

I went into my boot.plist and added the kext-dev-mode=1 and nvda_drv=1 and changed UseKernalCache to No and now I can boot into Yosemite with no problems. Thanks for all the help.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,222
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I went into my boot.plist and added the kext-dev-mode=1 and nvda_drv=1 and changed UseKernalCache to No and now I can boot into Yosemite with no problems. Thanks for all the help.

You can probably boot with kernel cache if you rebuild it using terminal. Using kernel cache will greatly speed up your boot times.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte z97 Gaming 3
CPU
4790
Graphics
GTX Titan X SC
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I went ahead and rebuilt and switch it back to On. But I get sound assertions from AppleHDAEnabler. I still boot up fine but it adds like a minute to my boot time. Any info?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
69
Motherboard
X99 Deluxe
CPU
5960X
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i can't get mine working. when i install web drivers there's no video. i can access desktop via Remote Desktop. that's it though.

if i use nv_disable i can see the desktop but then the drivers aren't loaded and resolution is too small.

any ideas?

GPU - Titan X (of course)
Mobo - Asus Rampage IV Extreme (X79)
CPU - intel 3930k
OS - Yosemite
Bootloader - Clover UEFI
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top