Contribute
Register

Yosemite 10.10.1 and dual ASUS R9 290 (non-X) reference GPU

Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
11
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey Guys,

So after a while i decided to finally switch completely from Windows to Mac OS X, spent a few days researching and found out about the Dual Monitor Issue with single AMD R series GPUs, That was a problem for me as well but I had 2 R9 290 Reference GPUs from ASUS lying around from my Mining Rig so i decided to use that instead of a single Sapphire R9 290.

I installed everything & everything is working as it should even the Wi-Fi, except for bluetooth which would not find my Galaxy Note 4, will test with an iPhone if i get a chance but that is irrelevant for now.

I created this thread because I need to know what Temps my GPUs are running at because when i touch them they are hot as in i have to move my finger away within 3 seconds. the fans are spinning but i don't hear them ramp up, and i know they are very loud at 100% speed cause i was mining with them.

I am not that new to Hackintosh builds so, I have installed FakeSMC & its plugin & hwmonitor, which give temps as 0 for GPU Die & GPU 2 Die

CineBench etc gives excellent 99 FPS on both these cards. but i am worried i would burn these cards, so i need to know what temps they are running at.

Is there anyway i can get HWMonitor to show my ASUS AMD R9 290 Reference 4GB GPU's Temps? or use anything else that gives me insight on the temps for my cards? they are detected as AMD Radeon HD 8xxx 4096 MB graphics

System Config:

Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Formula VI
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K
Memory: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
OS: Yosemite 10.10.1
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
81
Motherboard
GA-P55M-UD2
CPU
Intl Core i5
Graphics
EVGA GTX 750TI 2GB FTW
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you don't mind me asking, how did you get your 290 to run? I have a 270 (non x) and i can't get this thing to work properly. Would you be kind to put the steps you took?

Thanks!



Hey Guys,

So after a while i decided to finally switch completely from Windows to Mac OS X, spent a few days researching and found out about the Dual Monitor Issue with single AMD R series GPUs, That was a problem for me as well but I had 2 R9 290 Reference GPUs from ASUS lying around from my Mining Rig so i decided to use that instead of a single Sapphire R9 290.

I installed everything & everything is working as it should even the Wi-Fi, except for bluetooth which would not find my Galaxy Note 4, will test with an iPhone if i get a chance but that is irrelevant for now.

I created this thread because I need to know what Temps my GPUs are running at because when i touch them they are hot as in i have to move my finger away within 3 seconds. the fans are spinning but i don't hear them ramp up, and i know they are very loud at 100% speed cause i was mining with them.

I am not that new to Hackintosh builds so, I have installed FakeSMC & its plugin & hwmonitor, which give temps as 0 for GPU Die & GPU 2 Die

CineBench etc gives excellent 99 FPS on both these cards. but i am worried i would burn these cards, so i need to know what temps they are running at.

Is there anyway i can get HWMonitor to show my ASUS AMD R9 290 Reference 4GB GPU's Temps? or use anything else that gives me insight on the temps for my cards? they are detected as AMD Radeon HD 8xxx 4096 MB graphics

System Config:

Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Formula VI
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770K
Memory: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
OS: Yosemite 10.10.1
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
11
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Anyone?

I installed OpenGL Extensions Viewer and it shows my GPU as AMD Radeon HD Bonaire Unknown Prototype OpenGL Engine


Renderer: AMD Radeon HD Bonaire Unknown Prototype OpenGL
Engine
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.

Memory: 4096 MB

Version: 4.1 ATI-1.28.29

Device: MacPro6,1

Shading language version: 4.10

Shouldn't my 290 be Hawaii & not Bonaire which is for 260? How do i fix this? do you think fixing this will enable me to view temps?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
81
Motherboard
GA-P55M-UD2
CPU
Intl Core i5
Graphics
EVGA GTX 750TI 2GB FTW
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
You can change the framebuffer at boot time to test, check out this link that goes into detail on this.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/41092-ati-amd-5xxx-6xxx-7xxx-graphics-cards-framebuffer-personalities.html

I'm just selling my R9 270 for a GTX 750ti, forget all this trouble lol. GL


Anyone?

I installed OpenGL Extensions Viewer and it shows my GPU as AMD Radeon HD Bonaire Unknown Prototype OpenGL Engine


Renderer: AMD Radeon HD Bonaire Unknown Prototype OpenGL
Engine
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.

Memory: 4096 MB

Version: 4.1 ATI-1.28.29

Device: MacPro6,1

Shading language version: 4.10

Shouldn't my 290 be Hawaii & not Bonaire which is for 260? How do i fix this? do you think fixing this will enable me to view temps?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
11
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Update: I edited the kext file AMD8000Controller.kext\Content\Info.plist and found out that GPU Device ID for my R9 290 was listed under Bonaire, just below that there was an entry for Hawaii so i removed my DevID from Bonaire & placed it under Hawaii, restart that did the trick..

Now it shows AMD Radeon HD Hawaii PRO Prototype OpenGL Engine but i still don't see the temps...

You can change the framebuffer at boot time to test, check out this link that goes into detail on this.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/41092-ati-amd-5xxx-6xxx-7xxx-graphics-cards-framebuffer-personalities.html

I'm just selling my R9 270 for a GTX 750ti, forget all this trouble lol. GL

I did check that link before but that doesn't have 8xxx series in it, unless i missed something.

yeah going for an NVidia would be a better option but i quite like my R9 290's so not going to give up on this just yet. worst comes to worst, i'll switch back to Windows 8.1
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
81
Motherboard
GA-P55M-UD2
CPU
Intl Core i5
Graphics
EVGA GTX 750TI 2GB FTW
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm not huge on Linux but i ended up installed latest Ubuntu 14 and i'm very impressed with the performance, stability and usability. Its very easy to use and works great, everything detected right off the bat, I managed to installed everything i needed including Hearthstone with minimal research.

:) They may be good enough for me...

Update: I edited the kext file AMD8000Controller.kext\Content\Info.plist and found out that GPU Device ID for my R9 290 was listed under Bonaire, just below that there was an entry for Hawaii so i removed my DevID from Bonaire & placed it under Hawaii, restart that did the trick..

Now it shows AMD Radeon HD Hawaii PRO Prototype OpenGL Engine but i still don't see the temps...




I did check that link before but that doesn't have 8xxx series in it, unless i missed something.

yeah going for an NVidia would be a better option but i quite like my R9 290's so not going to give up on this just yet. worst comes to worst, i'll switch back to Windows 8.1
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
TRy dont change the original kexts (amd8000controller and amdX4000). Leave the original from the last versión os Yosemite and in Clover dont inject FAKEID 0x67B11002 because this is for Bonaire CHIP and AMD Radeon R9 290 is Haawaii chip. You have to inject this fakeid --> 0x67B01002 (with this id your computer recognise like a Haawaii prototype and Works Fine.

I have a sapphire radeon r9 290 non-x versión working full without problems only doing that injection. My SMBios is Macpro 6.1.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
My Asus R9 290 DirectCU II OC works fine except more than one display. FxFactory crashes system :(
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
42
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Can you please tell me how you got the Asus R9 290 Direct CU II working?
I only get black screen when injecting FakeId.
0x67B01002


Would be great if you could share how you made it work!
 
Top