XFX 6870 2GB Using almost all of it's Memory.........

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Dajjal, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 3:38 PM #1
    Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [Help] XFX 6870 2GB Using almost all of it's Memory.........

    Greets to all on the Forum :wink:

    I seem to be having an issue where my GPU looks like it's using All of it's 2GB of memory according to iStat.The fan speed is kinda revved up as well.
    Screen Shot 2012-07-26 at 10.16.37 AM.png

    On the Windows side of things, all seems well, fan speed is normal etc...
    GPUZ.PNG

    The Issue is with my Z77X-UD5H running Lion 10.7.4.Is there another way to check if it's really using that amount of memory? My org.chameleon.Boot.plist has GE=Yes Only, which picks up the Card as..........
    Screen Shot 2012-07-26 at 10.36.19 AM.png

    If i try with ATI Config etc, the system just picks up the card as 6800 Series.If i try my Sapphire 4870, iStat displays as it should and the system picks up the Card as it should....
    Sapphire 4870 iStat.png

    Sapphire 4870.png

    This leaves me to think that it's something to do with Ivy? Strings in boot.plist ? Any suggestions are welcomed and much appreciated..........Bless
     
  2. KabalMac

    KabalMac

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Mac OS Mountain Lion 10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel Corei i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    XFX HD6870 1GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2012 at 2:13 AM #2
    KabalMac

    KabalMac

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Mac OS Mountain Lion 10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel Corei i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    XFX HD6870 1GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm in this situation.
    My GPU is 1GB.
    Do you have any solution?
     
  3. Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2012 at 3:08 AM #3
    Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've been told Elsewhere that it's just a Bug, but it is Quite strange cause if i place the 6870 into my X58 system it's all good, with iStat reporting Memory usage Very low just like the 4870 so apart from it maybe being a Bug it's surely pointing to the Z77 as the culprit :?:
     
  4. Mcfool123

    Mcfool123

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    166
    Mobo:
    The Worker
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.5
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670 FTW Giggahertz Model x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2012 at 9:37 AM #4
    Mcfool123

    Mcfool123

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    166
    Mobo:
    The Worker
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4.5
    Graphics:
    EVGA 670 FTW Giggahertz Model x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It's the same on the z68 and it's been doing it since 10.7.4
     
  5. KabalMac

    KabalMac

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Mac OS Mountain Lion 10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel Corei i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    XFX HD6870 1GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2012 at 11:39 AM #5
    KabalMac

    KabalMac

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Mac OS Mountain Lion 10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel Corei i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    XFX HD6870 1GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have an H55. The fan of my GPU is very fast!
     
  6. Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2012 at 3:33 PM #6
    Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well i guess that rules out the Z77 being the Issue since you guys have different boards.At least the system is usable........
     
  7. haysphere

    haysphere

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H / OCZ Vertex 4 - 128Gb
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge core-i7 3770K / 32GB G-SKILL TRIDENT 19200
    Graphics:
    XFX HD6870 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2012 at 9:32 PM #7
    haysphere

    haysphere

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H / OCZ Vertex 4 - 128Gb
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge core-i7 3770K / 32GB G-SKILL TRIDENT 19200
    Graphics:
    XFX HD6870 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Was it already working like that in Lion ?
     
  8. Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 28, 2012 at 2:59 AM #8
    Dajjal

    Dajjal

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD5 | Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 930 | i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire 4870 | XFX 6870 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    On my X58 system it's reads as it should in Lion & SL.I cant test the Z77X in SL so i dont know......
     
  9. Davirus

    Davirus

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4 LGA 2011
    CPU:
    intel core i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 770 2GB Titan Cooler
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 28, 2012 at 10:58 PM #9
    Davirus

    Davirus

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4 LGA 2011
    CPU:
    intel core i7 3930k
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 770 2GB Titan Cooler
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  10. shingm

    shingm

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    intel desktop
    CPU:
    i7 960
    Graphics:
    gtx 670
    Jul 30, 2012 at 7:45 AM #10
    shingm

    shingm

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    intel desktop
    CPU:
    i7 960
    Graphics:
    gtx 670
    same problem here. sapphire 5770. UI / switching spaces shows a noticeable lag.
    cinebench shows normal 37fps. only happens when in 10.8. no problems in 10.7
     

Share This Page