Contribute
Register

X58a-UD3R macos Sierra with the very old guard

Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
Z170M-D3H
CPU
Skylake i7
Graphics
Zotac GTX 750 Display Port
Mac
  1. iMac
So I've been running el Cap on my X58a-UD3R perfectly (apart from shutdown since the day it came out, with no problems (apart from shutdown). I'm trying to install Sierra but the old boy won't let me - I've changed the SysDef to 14,2, but when I try to download from the App Store it tells me that:

This version of MacOS can't be installed on this computer. I've got enough RAM, sysdef is changed,a compatible graphics card (with the new Nvidia drivers) but...no dice.
Anyone got any clues?
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
88
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
PNY GTX 1080 FE
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You may want to check again as to what SysDef to use. I'm browsing here to see about my shutdown problem in Sierra, but it seems that I've read that some SysDef's won't work. Personally, I use MacPro 5,1. I have Sierra running, but I can't shut down without it corrupting my CMOS. It's a headache, but at least everything else seems to work.

Oh, and everything, including shutdown, worked find in El Cap. Good luck!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
Z170M-D3H
CPU
Skylake i7
Graphics
Zotac GTX 750 Display Port
Mac
  1. iMac
You may want to check again as to what SysDef to use. I'm browsing here to see about my shutdown problem in Sierra, but it seems that I've read that some SysDef's won't work. Personally, I use MacPro 5,1. I have Sierra running, but I can't shut down without it corrupting my CMOS. It's a headache, but at least everything else seems to work.

Oh, and everything, including shutdown, worked find in El Cap. Good luck!

There's life yet in these boards! Did you reinstall or update? If so, how?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
Z170M-D3H
CPU
Skylake i7
Graphics
Zotac GTX 750 Display Port
Mac
  1. iMac
Oh - incidentally - if the whole BIOS resetting thing becomes a new issue for us all, you can save the latest FH BIOS in the BIOS settings so that if it resets, it will reset to the latest FH Bios instead of going back to the one stored on your board the day it was made.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,239
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You may want to check again as to what SysDef to use. I'm browsing here to see about my shutdown problem in Sierra, but it seems that I've read that some SysDef's won't work. Personally, I use MacPro 5,1. I have Sierra running, but I can't shut down without it corrupting my CMOS. It's a headache, but at least everything else seems to work.

Oh, and everything, including shutdown, worked find in El Cap. Good luck!
In Clover config.plist do you have AppleRTC = true in kernels and kexts to patch?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
Z170M-D3H
CPU
Skylake i7
Graphics
Zotac GTX 750 Display Port
Mac
  1. iMac
In Clover config.plist do you have AppleRTC = true in kernels and kexts to patch?
I'll check when I go home - thanks for joining in, GoingBald, most of the answers I've got over time have come from you. Could you tell me what Apple RTC is please? I'd prefer to understand it rather than just tick it.

EDIT - Sorry, thought that was for me.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
52
Motherboard
Z170M-D3H
CPU
Skylake i7
Graphics
Zotac GTX 750 Display Port
Mac
  1. iMac
Since I'm using Clover, I did an update via the App Store using the instructions in tony's post.

If anyone knows why I get the This version of MacOS can't be installed on this computer when I try to install or download Sierra, OTHER than because I have the wrong SysDef (I've tried 14.2 and 5.1) I'd like to know.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD3R rev 2.0
CPU
Xeon X5670@4.46GHz
Graphics
GeForce GTX 760
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I did a clean install & everything goes fine. Here are what I have done in addition to a working El Capitan build. BTW mine is PCB 2.0.

1- Updated Clover to r3751
2- Copy all existing kexts to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/ EXCEPT RealtekALC.kext
3- Get AppleALC.kext and put under /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. Removed all kext patches made for RealtekALC.kext.
3- I am using MacPro5,1 with ECC ram so System Definitions is fine as is. You can use iMac14,1 if coming from MacPro3,1, otherwise you'll get "This version of MacOS can't be installed on this computer". Reboot to reflect the change to System Definitions.
4- Now you're ready to proceed Direct Update or using the same Clover to boot macOS Sierra Installer for a clean install.

* AppleALC.kext is a new kext to enable sound, it keeps OSX vanilla and supposed to survive over OSX update.
** If you doesn't have a working Clover / El Capitan build, get a well edited DSDT here and put under /EFI/Clover/ACPI/Patched. You don't need to mess with Clover patches.
 
Top