Contribute
Register

X58 can't shut down

Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
100
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX CODE
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Graphics
Nvidia 1080 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My own patched or the one from GB?

My own patched has the speedstep states of the i7 930 in it, so you'd need edit those out.
Here:
View attachment 155315

Going Bald's doesn't have those.
It's at post nr 110
http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-desktop-support/174222-x58-cant-shut-down-11.html#post1118906


btw, do you have power management working on your nvidia card?
mine does not clock down to 300MHz like in windows, it stays at 731MHz or above.

I could never get AGPM to work.

I have been meaning to thank you;
I am currently using your "DSDT.aml," and my system has been shutting down, and rebooting like a champ.

Question is your system showing a full 1080p resolution during boot up? I have a Nvidia gtx 480, and I have tried everything to get this working. I think i'm going to upgrade my video card in a few weeks anyway, however I thought I would still ask...

Also can I remove the follow fixes from my config.plist:
AddDTGP_0001
FixHPET_0010
FixHDA_8000
FixIPIC_0040

which was recommended by tony, now that I'm using your DSDT.aml file?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
78
Motherboard
GA EX58-UD5
CPU
i7 930
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have been meaning to thank you;
I am currently using your "DSDT.aml," and my system has been shutting down, and rebooting like a champ.

Question is your system showing a full 1080p resolution during boot up? I have a Nvidia gtx 480, and I have tried everything to get this working. I think i'm going to upgrade my video card in a few weeks anyway, however I thought I would still ask...

Also can I remove the follow fixes from my config.plist:
AddDTGP_0001
FixHPET_0010
FixHDA_8000
FixIPIC_0040

which was recommended by tony, now that I'm using your DSDT.aml file?


Yeah, working so far really well without any of the patches ticked in Clover. Just the DSDT.

I had a Fermi Card too that gave me many problems during updates and various errors with resolutions or acceleration, Kepler works without any driver/file tinkering whatsoever.

I'd recommend dood's extensive guide for patching your own exported DSDT though, that way you don't need any Clover patches.

The only thing not working for me is sleep, but i traced it down to some USB components that keep the system awake.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 2.0)
CPU
3,2 GHz intel core i7
Graphics
ATI radeon hd 5700 / 6700 series
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
View attachment 154914

Try these instead:

View attachment 154911

and also change your system definition to a Mac Pro 4,1 - it is closer than the 5,1 to your hardware.

Hi Going Bald!

I have a working system, except for shut down. I tried to download the working plist you uploaded, but I got an error message saying it was not available anymore. Do you think you could upload it again please?

Thank you in advance :)
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
742
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD3R
CPU
X5650
Graphics
R9 290
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi Going Bald!

I have a working system, except for shut down. I tried to download the working plist you uploaded, but I got an error message saying it was not available anymore. Do you think you could upload it again please?

Thank you in advance :)

Same issue here regarding the error message-- can someone (ideally GB) provide GB's files that seem to have expired?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
742
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD3R
CPU
X5650
Graphics
R9 290
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have been meaning to thank you;
I am currently using your "DSDT.aml," and my system has been shutting down, and rebooting like a champ.

Question is your system showing a full 1080p resolution during boot up? I have a Nvidia gtx 480, and I have tried everything to get this working. I think i'm going to upgrade my video card in a few weeks anyway, however I thought I would still ask...

Also can I remove the follow fixes from my config.plist:
AddDTGP_0001
FixHPET_0010
FixHDA_8000
FixIPIC_0040

which was recommended by tony, now that I'm using your DSDT.aml file?

To get both clover and my OS to display at full resolution (ACD 27" via minidisplay port), I had to choose ATI Inject, and manually enter the framebuffer and port config for my ATI 5770. Works perfectly w/ miniDP at 1440p for me, and a second display via DVI at 1080p.

I don't know if there's a similar type of solution for older Nvidia cards like yours?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2010
Messages
1
Motherboard
EX58-UD4P
CPU
i7-920
Graphics
GeForce GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
In my case I solve this problem editing DSDT.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.10.56.png
    Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.10.56.png
    180.5 KB · Views: 630
  • Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.12.34.png
    Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 20.12.34.png
    181.3 KB · Views: 672
  • Screen Shot.png
    Screen Shot.png
    29.9 KB · Views: 515
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
147
Motherboard
HP Intel X58
CPU
3.2 Xeon quad core
Graphics
EVGA GT 740
I too have an X58 board that would not shutdown. For me the problem was solved by disabling wake up from LAN in the Bios setting.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
X58A UD3R Rev 1.0
CPU
I7 i930
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1024 MB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
How's everybody's CPU temps? Mine are unusually high. When I'm using the computer, I'm sitting at about 80 degrees Celsius. When running windows or linux on the same machine under higher load, the CPU only seems to be in the mid-50's.

My computer will also not wake from sleep, but I believe this has to do with the R9-380 in the box.

Other than that, the work you guys have done has solved a lot of problems for me. This is an incredible resource. Thank you!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
X58A UD3R Rev 1.0
CPU
I7 i930
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1024 MB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
How's everybody's CPU temps? Mine are unusually high. When I'm using the computer, I'm sitting at about 80 degrees Celsius. When running windows or linux on the same machine under higher load, the CPU only seems to be in the mid-50's.

My computer will also not wake from sleep, but I believe this has to do with the R9-380 in the box.

Other than that, the work you guys have done has solved a lot of problems for me. This is an incredible resource. Thank you!

So. Just to fill anybody in who might be looking, changing the definition from MacPro5,1 to MacPro4,1 really dropped the idle temp of the CPU. It still goes up into the late 80's under load, but it settles around 55 degress at idle. Gained an extra 500 points in geekbench, too, so it's definitely a better solution here.
 
Top