Contribute
Register

X58 and OS X El Capitan? (X58A-UD3r)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Msi x58 pro-e
CPU
i930 intel
Graphics
gtx 660 nvidia
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a Msi x58 pro-E motherboard and I installed el capitan with clover (Unibeast 6) and with the last config.plist everything went well without problems (thanks Tony)
But there are some problems with ram: I have 24 GB of RAM 1333 mhz on 6 slots but are recognized only 20 gb 1600 mhz of 5 slots. Not a very serious problem, but if I look at activity monitor memory, it's all very strange (attachments : png and bdmesg)
Some applications such as Premiere and After Effects are slow to open, send email with an attachment is very very slow and sometimes crashes. The temperatures of the processors get up when I open a program a bit 'challenging (80 ° and more). Everything else is fluid.
Does someone understand how to resolve this problem?
Thank you
 

Attachments

  • activity monitor.png
    activity monitor.png
    131.2 KB · Views: 254
  • bdmesg.txt
    19.2 KB · Views: 130
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
97
Motherboard
Asus P6X58D-Premium
CPU
X5675
Graphics
GTX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a Msi x58 pro-E motherboard and I installed el capitan with clover (Unibeast 6) and with the last config.plist everything went well without problems (thanks Tony)
But there are some problems with ram: I have 24 GB of RAM 1333 mhz on 6 slots but are recognized only 20 gb 1600 mhz of 5 slots. Not a very serious problem, but if I look at activity monitor memory, it's all very strange (attachments : png and bdmesg)
Some applications such as Premiere and After Effects are slow to open, send email with an attachment is very very slow and sometimes crashes. The temperatures of the processors get up when I open a program a bit 'challenging (80 ° and more). Everything else is fluid.
Does someone understand how to resolve this problem?
Thank you

What app do you use to monitor temp?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
581
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Maximus Gene VI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi CyCloBoT. what was the card that you ordered? I have a 4 port USB 3.0 PCI Express VIA VL805. but it just works with Yosemite.


Sorry i read the answer "Inatek KT4006 (FL1100)" Thanks anyway :) Where do you bought it?

Thanks in Advance!

I bought the card from Amazon. It is arriving tomorrow so will test it out and post the results.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
222
Motherboard
MSI x58 pro-E
CPU
intel Xeon 5650 (3.8 ghz)
Graphics
Gainward Geforce gtx 950
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a Msi x58 pro-E motherboard and I installed el capitan with clover (Unibeast 6) and with the last config.plist everything went well without problems (thanks Tony)
But there are some problems with ram: I have 24 GB of RAM 1333 mhz on 6 slots but are recognized only 20 gb 1600 mhz of 5 slots. Not a very serious problem, but if I look at activity monitor memory, it's all very strange (attachments : png and bdmesg)
Some applications such as Premiere and After Effects are slow to open, send email with an attachment is very very slow and sometimes crashes. The temperatures of the processors get up when I open a program a bit 'challenging (80 ° and more). Everything else is fluid.
Does someone understand how to resolve this problem?
Thank you

Hi, I have almost the same system as you, but with i7 920 and gtx 650; I could install El capitan with Tony's plist file but cannot reach the desktop after reboot, did you do something else special?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2015
Messages
3
Motherboard
Asus P6T
CPU
I7 920
Graphics
HD 7750
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
SUCCESS!!

I was able to update directly from Yosemite to El Capitan on my Asus P6T, I7 920 with HD7750!

I couldn't get to the installer, but I modified config.plist as mentioned here (and a couple of modifications - see image).

Captura de pantalla 2015-10-08 a las 9.27.28 a.m..jpg

The other thing I did was to change at Clover Bootloader's Options "Set OS Version if not: 10.10.10" to "Set OS Version if not: 10.11" and only THEN I was able to install. It took about 20 minutes.

After reboot, the system would hang. It happened the same when I installed Yosemite, due to the HD7750.

So I made a hard reset and started system in safe mode (-x), took my kexts I used on Yosemite and BOOM! Audio, network and video working like a charm!
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
102
Motherboard
GA-Z270-HD3
CPU
i7-7700k
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
SUCCESS.

I have a GA-X58A-UD3R V2 (FF). I have things working well. Sound, sleep, shutdown. etc. Let me know if anyone has questions.

I am attaching the DSDT.aml and config.plist I'm using.
 

Attachments

  • DSDT.aml
    20.7 KB · Views: 309
  • config.plist
    5.1 KB · Views: 516
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Msi x58 pro-e
CPU
i930 intel
Graphics
gtx 660 nvidia
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, I have almost the same system as you, but with i7 920 and gtx 650; I could install El capitan with Tony's plist file but cannot reach the desktop after reboot, did you do something else special?

I used this config. everything went well but I still have problems with Ram (see post #103)
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5 KB · Views: 252
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top