Contribute
Register

X299 - Open Core support

Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
198
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage/10g
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Not sure.. I would google that error. Run as admin?
I was able to download a TB Control Center copy from the Microsoft Store. It worked and showed the TB2 Lacie RAID attached to the Windows side. The USB-C plugged in did not show up on the TB Control center, just the TB drive, and the most recent driver showed to be installed in my system on the TB Control Center, so I am fairly certain the driver is installed now on the windows side.

On the MacOS Side, there are no added drivers or controllers on the PCI list in System Information. Screenshot below.

USB-C Drives mount up on the MacOS Side, but not the TB2 drives.

A copy of my IOReg is attached below.

Lastly, something weird is going on with my config.plist file. When I boot back up, I lost all of my SMBios data. I was using OC Configurator before you said do not use it...but I cannot find how to update the config.plist with kext and ssdt entries without the OC Configurator. Canyon do that in Clover Configurator? Maybe that is the problem? The SSDT and the KEXTS are not entered into the config.plist file properly? Blank SMBios shown below (when I know I have filled it in 3-4 times in the last 3 hours....)?!?
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
826
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
Intel i9 9960X
Graphics
AMD RX 580
I was able to download a TB Control Center copy from the Microsoft Store. It worked and showed the TB2 Lacie RAID attached to the Windows side. The USB-C plugged in did not show up on the TB Control center, just the TB drive, and the most recent driver showed to be installed in my system on the TB Control Center, so I am fairly certain the driver is installed now on the windows side.

On the MacOS Side, there are no added drivers or controllers on the PCI list in System Information. Screenshot below.

USB-C Drives mount up on the MacOS Side, but not the TB2 drives.

A copy of my IOReg is attached below.

Lastly, something weird is going on with my config.plist file. When I boot back up, I lost all of my SMBios data. I was using OC Configurator before you said do not use it...but I cannot find how to update the config.plist with kext and ssdt entries without the OC Configurator. Canyon do that in Clover Configurator? Maybe that is the problem? The SSDT and the KEXTS are not entered into the config.plist file properly? Blank SMBios shown below (when I know I have filled it in 3-4 times in the last 3 hours....)?!?
No, clover configurator is not compatible with OpenCore. Use Xcode, PlistEdit Pro, or ProperTree
.

Please use the base-efi folder and start over in case something got corrupted.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
85
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 SAGE / Asus P9X79 WS / HP Probook
CPU
i9 7900x oc 4mhz / i7 4930k oc 4.25mhz
Graphics
Radeon RX580 / GTX 970
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Again it's 15 per chipset. only the intel chipset has above 15 ports, the asmedia ones are fine. There are two Asmedia on the Sage (One USB C + one USB A) on the back, and the internal USB C front connector.

USB 3 ports count as 2 (one USB 2 and one USB 3)

So that leaves you with the intel:
4 USB 2 on back
6 USB 3 on back
1 USB 3 Front panel connector

So the total is 20. I believe this is the mapping for the Sage but I'm not sure since I dont have that board anymore.

USB Port Mapping:
BackPanel
4 USB 2.0 Ports (Left to Right)
HS12
HS11
HS10
HS09

2 USB 3.0 Ports
First row (Left to Right)
HS08/SS08
HS07/SS07


2 USB 3.0 Ports
Second row (Left to Right)
HS06/SS06
HS05/SS05

2 USB 3.0 Ports
Third row (Left to Right)
HS06/SS06
HS05/SS05

Front Panel
2 USB 3.0 Ports (Left to Right)
HS01/SS01
HS02/SS02

The attached kext should work with the marked out ones disabled. If you are using iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS follow the instructions here to rename the model.

Make sure USBInjectAll.kext is disabled and XhciPortLimit is disabled.
Thanks, i already tried the attached kext with no success but i took a closer look at it and redid mine. I think it's working now, i got rid of the 3.1 ports to make it simple. I wasn't that far but i think my dock is acting weird depending of which port it is plugged in. I'll get something else to hook up my external drives in the future. ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
127
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
i've searched the thread a little and there's a lot to digest here, but i wanted to ask if it makes sense to try with an ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe II using this guide/github repository.

my goal is to build my last hack (given the ARM transition) and i want to get the highest performance i can under 10.14 (since i want to keep 32b support). my understanding is that this means 9th gen CPUs and X299 motherboards. i didn't realize until today that these boards are somewhat difficult to hack (though thanks to @djlild7hina it has gotten a lot easier.)

originally i was going to go with the gigabyte designare but that seems like it might be a mistake.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
826
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
Intel i9 9960X
Graphics
AMD RX 580
i've searched the thread a little and there's a lot to digest here, but i wanted to ask if it makes sense to try with an ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe II using this guide/github repository.

my goal is to build my last hack (given the ARM transition) and i want to get the highest performance i can under 10.14 (since i want to keep 32b support). my understanding is that this means 9th gen CPUs and X299 motherboards. i didn't realize until today that these boards are somewhat difficult to hack (though thanks to @djlild7hina it has gotten a lot easier.)

originally i was going to go with the gigabyte designare but that seems like it might be a mistake.
The new X299 Designare 10G? or Z390/Z40? It looks like the X299 Designare 10G is compatible but from the other thread looks like there's a lot of BIOS issues and I feel there are a lot more ASUS X299 users than Gigabyte.

7000,9000, and 10000 X Series chips should be compatible since they are pretty much the same thing. Just make sure you use iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS since MacPro7,1 isn't compatible with 10.14.

The Dortania OpenCore guide and the Base EFI in post one should get you started.
It's pretty much:
1. If on latest BIOS, patch
2. Create a usb install disk
3. Follow Base EFI Configuration outlined in my github and edit config.plist with either ProperTree, XCode or PlistEdit Pro.
4. Copy EFI to usb disk
5. Install macOS
6. Once installed, create USB kext (Highly recommended).

EDIT: I believe the Aquantia 5G ethernet on the X299 Deluxe II will not work with macOS since there are no drivers.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
127
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
The new X299 Designare 10G? or Z390/Z40? It looks like the X299 Designare 10G is compatible but from the other thread looks like there's a lot of BIOS issues and I feel there are a lot more ASUS X299 users than Gigabyte.

7000,9000, and 10000 X Series chips should be compatible since they are pretty much the same thing. Just make sure you use iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS since MacPro7,1 isn't compatible with 10.14.

The Dortania OpenCore guide and the Base EFI in post one should get you started.
It's pretty much:
1. If on latest BIOS, patch
2. Create a usb install disk
3. Follow Base EFI Configuration outlined in my github and edit config.plist with either ProperTree, XCode or PlistEdit Pro.
4. Copy EFI to usb disk
5. Install macOS
6. Once installed, create USB kext (Highly recommended).
i don't think i was looking at the designare 10G - it was the designare x299 EX. my last 3 hacks have had gigabyte motherboards so i'm probably just biased. honestly i should do whatever causes the least pain, and if that's ASUS then i'm good with that.

earlier today i was reading the KGP x299 10.13 guide and started to freak out. in the past both chameleon and clover always gave me trouble, but it sounds like OC is a lot more straightforward with this chipset. in the last 2 weeks i've built 2 hacks on OC. so i have a little experience with OpenCore now. hopefully this won't be too bad, but i am glad i found this thread!!
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
198
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage/10g
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, clover configurator is not compatible with OpenCore. Use Xcode, PlistEdit Pro, or ProperTree
.

Please use the base-efi folder and start over in case something got corrupted.
OK, I rebuilt the EFI with the BASE-EFI Folder and used ProperTree to do the editing. Thanks for setting me straight on that!

Everything has booted up up great, except that unfortunately I still have no Thunderbolt functionality in MacOS. Thunderbolt functions fine in Windows as far as I can see (Thunderbolt Control Center shows the drives when they are plugged in). Any Ideas? My EFI and my IOReg are attached.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 18, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Edition 30
CPU
I9-7900X
Graphics
GTX 1080 / Vega 64
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks @djlild7hina for sending me here from the other thread

I am having trouble though...

I followed your guide and when booting from the OpenCore usb stick I can boot to the installer but it stops after the 21st line on the screen and will just stay that way for hours

As you suggested I removed the Windows Drive, actually all drives except the one i want to put macOS on as well as removed the Nvidia card and placed the Vega64 in slot 1

My Bios has the built in msr lock and and is version 604, i did not do the patch because i wasn't sure if that patcher worked on my bios, otherwise i made all of your bios settings changes

obviously i can not give you an IOreg

EDIT: sorry i uploaded just config not whole efi folder, fixed now
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
826
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
Intel i9 9960X
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Thanks @djlild7hina for sending me here from the other thread

I am having trouble though...

I followed your guide and when booting from the OpenCore usb stick I can boot to the installer but it stops after the 21st line on the screen and will just stay that way for hours

As you suggested I removed the Windows Drive, actually all drives except the one i want to put macOS on as well as removed the Nvidia card and placed the Vega64 in slot 1

My Bios has the built in msr lock and and is version 604, i did not do the patch because i wasn't sure if that patcher worked on my bios, otherwise i made all of your bios settings changes

obviously i can not give you an IOreg

EDIT: sorry i uploaded just config not whole efi folder, fixed now
Is MSR lock off? If so and it’s not booting most likely you’ll need to patch it.
Or you can try
If option isn't available in BIOS, turn on AppleCpuPmCfgLock and AppleXcpmCfgLock in config.plist under Kernel-Quirks.

I looked at your EFI and it looks like you changed some of the order of the SSDTs and kexts. Not sure what else you edited so I attached the base efi again. Just make sure to change the platform info with your serial info again. I would get a new serial since you uploaded yours already.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
198
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage/10g
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you haven’t, I would get a compatible WiFi/bt pcie card for handoff and airdrop, etc. Since the Sage does not have any internal usb 2 ports, I have some options listed in post 1.
For SMBIOS info you can either use GenSMBIOS or clover configurator. Do not use Open Core configurator to modify your config.plist since OpenCore is still in beta and things are changing constantly.

The thunderbolt card has to be plugged in to slot 2 on the sage.
If you look at kgps thread, he has instructions to get it working.

If you want to go a step further and flash your card with custom firmware, it’ll behave more like a Mac and support thunderbolt bus and local node. You can look in CaseySJ’s z390 designaire thread for more info.
Note flashing isn’t for everyone so if the regular kgp ssdt approach works for you and don’t need the extra functionality I wouldn’t flash.

I currently have two titan ridge cards in my hack with custom firmware
As you know, I am still having trouble getting un-flashed success in MacOS with my Titan-Ridge card, so I assume I should make it work this way before considering flashing it with custom firmware. OR, is flashing the firmware make seeing the card on MacOS easier?

If I was considering flashing later, is it something that I can do from within windows or MacOS, or is it something you need special equipment to perform? (CaseySJ’s z390 designaire thread's really hard to track how to do the flashing for me!). I am asking you, @djlild7hina, as you said that you have two TB3s with custom firmware in your system, and there are a couple of TB3 hardware devices I would like to use in my Hack. If you have any shortcuts here, please let me know.

@djlild7hina, THANK YOU FOR ALL OF YOUR GENEROUS HELP SO FAR!
 
Top