Contribute
Register

X299 - Open Core support

Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
223
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9 7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, with a riser cable, yes, then use slot1. Slot1 is the best, if you can use it.

Yes, probably best to install Windows first (that's because of Windows boot manager, which will try and take over booting for everything - at least it did with me). Windows is also a good test for your hardware. Lots of utilities that you can use to test there, if you want. I would get Windows going, and especially make sure that Thunderbolt is working there before moving to macOS.

No, I had no issue with LAN, but I use a Syba Aquantia 10GbE card, and it works natively with macOS. For Windows, I downloaded the drivers and installed them - worked fine. For the 1Gb cards/chips either Mieze's Ethernet drivers or the SmallTree drivers should work just fine. Both drivers are easily obtainable, and may be included in the downloads from kgp's thread (here on this site) or Github. You can also download Smalltree's drivers direct from Smalltree's site. The point is they're not hard to find if you need them.

You should use the EFI that djlild7hina has posted (for OC) with only a few modifications and that should get you going in OC. But of course, read the documentation on OC, and remember, OC is still very much in development (think beta), still very new and different. In many ways, maybe better, but still very new.

Clover EFI's are available on Github, search for kgp (before he stopped posting, he updated his system to a Sage/10G), or despite the fact that his thread here on this site is closed, I think you can still download from it, and you can still use most of his guide to get you going on Clover. You should update some of the drivers (for Clover), but I still think you should be able to get it going with little effort.

Due to bad experiences I don't post my EFI's anymore. Good luck.


mm2margaret, good morning is this Syba Aquantia 10GbE card?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07G2DV9K2/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
mm2margaret, good morning is this Syba Aquantia 10GbE card?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07G2DV9K2/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

That sure looks like it! Don't forget to change the MTU to 9000 (if you are planning to connect to another 10GbE device).....also, last I heard, macOS drivers are available on Syba's site, along with many other drivers......but my Linux Mint install didn't need them, (I think it was an automatic install), Windows may need the drivers, and I've never installed macOS drivers for any of my Hacks with this card installed (that's both of them)......but YMMV, okay?

NOTE: If you plan to run Titan Ridge Thunderbolt, you'll find the lack of internal USB 2.0 ports frustrating. But unlike the Sage/10G, there are USB 2.0 ports on the board - they're just external. So, there a lots of solutions listed out there on this site, but I connected a cable to one of the external ports and snaked it into my case and then connected it to my NZXT hub, which is inside the case.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07Q4QZW57/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Just a very easy solve. But, of course, there are other solutions. Others might prefer the USB 3 internal header connector to USB 2 which have been detailed on other pages in this thread.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
111
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9920X
Graphics
Radeon RX 6900 XT
hello,

About This Mac -> Overview
Processor 3.5 GHz Unknow


PlatformInfo -> Automatic = NO

i already set ProcessorType to 3841, but seems it didnt work.

except to modify AppleSystemInfo.strings. anyone have a solution for that issue?

thanks



33BF2230-738F-4011-B5E6-93D2AFEAB4C0.png
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,492
Motherboard
ASUS Pro WS X299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello,

About This Mac -> Overview
Processor 3.5 GHz Unknow


PlatformInfo -> Automatic = NO

i already set ProcessorType to 3841, but seems it didnt work.

except to modify AppleSystemInfo.strings. anyone have a solution for that issue?

thanks



View attachment 425604

can you upload your config or compare the section to the ones on my GitHub?
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
111
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9920X
Graphics
Radeon RX 6900 XT
can you upload your config or compare the section to the ones on my GitHub?

thanks. just tried same info as your Github but same result.
it can show the correct info in catalina.

i will wait for the final catalina.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
358
Motherboard
ASUS Z690 Maximus Extreme
CPU
i9-12900KF
Graphics
6900XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello,

About This Mac -> Overview
Processor 3.5 GHz Unknow


PlatformInfo -> Automatic = NO

i already set ProcessorType to 3841, but seems it didnt work.

except to modify AppleSystemInfo.strings. anyone have a solution for that issue?

thanks



View attachment 425604


Try setting PlatformFeature to 24, ProcessorType to 0, and Automatic to YES. I'm getting a proper read-out of my i9-9980XE without any special number using OpenCore in Mojave.

Catalina is a different story: I'm not getting a correct read-out of the processor with either OpenCore or Clover.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
111
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9920X
Graphics
Radeon RX 6900 XT
Try setting PlatformFeature to 24, ProcessorType to 0, and Automatic to YES. I'm getting a proper read-out of my i9-9980XE without any special number using OpenCore in Mojave.

Catalina is a different story: I'm not getting a correct read-out of the processor with either OpenCore or Clover.

Thanks. But same issue.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2019
Messages
358
Motherboard
ASUS Z690 Maximus Extreme
CPU
i9-12900KF
Graphics
6900XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. But same issue.


Please re-try with same settings but Automatic = NO.

BTW, I don't see any processor information with Catalina ß8, only with Mojave.


Edited:

And one more try. The CPUID for the Skylake-X, like the 9980XE, is 0x050654 as in Spoiler below:

You reverse this hex code:

Screen Shot 2019-09-14 at 10.53.54 PM.jpg


and then enter it into this area of the OpenCore config.plist:

Screen Shot 2019-09-14 at 10.54.16 PM.jpg

*****

I attached my OpenCore config.plist file as requested in the post immediately below this one. My config file differs a bit in that I have many customized SSDT files for my mobo (ASUS X299 Prime Deluxe) as well as many re-names a al KGP.

Also, I may have some new entries compared to older files as I re-did the config file last night to incorporate v051 (released this week) changes. My memory tab is working well:

Processor.jpg


Memory Tab in OC.jpg

OpenCore works the same in Catalina as in Mojave with the same results as shown in the above Spoiler.

However, with Clover, Catalina is a different story, if using all the same settings, I get no Memory tab. If I add-in SystemProfilerMemoryFixup.kext, I get the result shown below. This Memory Tab reports that there are 9 memory slots; there are only 8. It also references 3200MHz modules but I'm using 4000MHz DDR4.

Finally, Processor is 'Unknown' with either Clover or OpenCore in Catalina.

Catalina Memory Tab.jpg


Catalina-Processor.jpg
 

Attachments

  • config-OpenCore-NoSNs.plist
    60.8 KB · Views: 165
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,492
Motherboard
ASUS Pro WS X299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@rj510 and @applemacosxGOD can you post your config.plist or compare the entire PlatformInfo section to the config.plist 'DJ7_EFI_OC004_ASUS_BASE_081919' on my GitHub? I don't have issues with the processor or the missing memory tab on both Mojave and Catalina. BTW I don't use Generic and set Automatic to 'No'.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
736
Motherboard
Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9 9980XE
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Now I know where all of you guys were!! Everyone on OpenCore?!?!?! It seems I'd learn everything again :banghead:
 
Top