Contribute
Register

X299 - Open Core support

Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
414
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Right, that would work. What doesn't work is if you try to use your monitor speakers (if your monitor has speakers) connected via DP to the Radeon VII. At least so I would bet.....what layout ID are you using in AppleALC for your Radeon VII?
Oh I misunderstood what the problem is. My monitor does not have speakers, but I connected some to the audio out jack on it to test. It does have bad audio. Not so much scratchy, but poppy and also cuts out. I did have less issues with the audio when I changed the setting in Audio MIDI from 2ch 48kHz 24bit to 2ch 44.1Khz 16bit.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
66
Motherboard
ASUS X299 PRIME DELUXE II
CPU
i9-9900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My new machine is running somewhat smooth but when I begin to run some film-editing software I soon run into an issue where it freezes. It happens few minutes after i begin editing. The CPU is not even being pushed and runs at temperature around 40deg. My build is Asus x299 Prime Deluxe II, 10core i9-9900x, Vega 64 GPU and 32gb 3200mhz ram. All is running at stock configuration and with auto settings on voltage and such. XMP os also active.
Any thoughts about what is causing the issue. I am wondering if my problem is power related, if i need to increase the voltage to the cpu.
Or is my problem related to the Opencore settings?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
My new machine is running somewhat smooth but when I begin to run some film-editing software I soon run into an issue where it freezes. It happens few minutes after i begin editing. The CPU is not even being pushed and runs at temperature around 40deg. My build is Asus x299 Prime Deluxe II, 10core i9-9900x, Vega 64 GPU and 32gb 3200mhz ram. All is running at stock configuration and with auto settings on voltage and such. XMP os also active.
Any thoughts about what is causing the issue. I am wondering if my problem is power related, if i need to increase the voltage to the cpu.
Or is my problem related to the Opencore settings?

The simplest way to determine if your issue is related to OC or not is to boot from Clover.....if you don't have the problem with Clover, the problem is some setting in OC. If you have the problem in Clover (in addition to OC), then the problem is most probably your configuration and/or hardware.....

ALSO: When you say "film editing software" most of us think about NLE software such as Premiere Pro, FCPX, Resolve, etc.....but maybe you're using something special? Something else? What are you using? Any other software that you work in a lot that the same thing happens in? Or is it only when you use this film editing software?

Now another thing you could do is download the latest version of Prime 95 (the Mac version of course), and run it for at least a couple hours. If it passes that, I would think that maybe your issue is related to your software.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Oh I misunderstood what the problem is. My monitor does not have speakers, but I connected some to the audio out jack on it to test. It does have bad audio. Not so much scratchy, but poppy and also cuts out. I did have less issues with the audio when I changed the setting in Audio MIDI from 2ch 48kHz 24bit to 2ch 44.1Khz 16bit.

Interesting approach.....I tried that and it seemed a little better, but my bottom line test is youtube, and while the scratchy sound and odd interrupt problems were lessened, they weren't gone forever. Audio, in the new itunes (I'm in Catalina) was really pretty good. But web audio still had that scratchy sound - less so, but still there.

I have a Asus Sage CEB (this is the one without the 10G) coming this week (finally, seemed to take forever....), and I'm hoping that will put this issue to bed......

Thank you for your input and testing....!
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
66
Motherboard
ASUS X299 PRIME DELUXE II
CPU
i9-9900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I did some testing and it looks like if I turn XMP off and run the RAM on stock settings it runs stable. So my theory is that the RAM is the bad guy here. Maybe i bought ram sticks that don´t play well with asus xmp. Its 4x8gb HyperX Predator 3200mhz DDR4. I have some G-skill sticks in my computer at home that i might try out instead and see if they play nicer.
Is there any RAM related settings that i don´t know about that might help my run XMP speeds?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
I did some testing and it looks like if I turn XMP off and run the RAM on stock settings it runs stable. So my theory is that the RAM is the bad guy here. Maybe i bought ram sticks that don´t play well with asus xmp. Its 4x8gb HyperX Predator 3200mhz DDR4. I have some G-skill sticks in my computer at home that i might try out instead and see if they play nicer.
Is there any RAM related settings that i don´t know about that might help my run XMP speeds?

Prime 95 (Mac) should tell you if it's the RAM.....I can tell you that I know of a LOT of Prime Deluxe users (Versions I and II) that have had a LOT of issues with RAM on those boards.....(that includes me!)

EDIT: Or, buy an Asus SAGE....
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
66
Motherboard
ASUS X299 PRIME DELUXE II
CPU
i9-9900X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Prime 95 (Mac) should tell you if it's the RAM.....I can tell you that I know of a LOT of Prime Deluxe users (Versions I and II) that have had a LOT of issues with RAM on those boards.....(that includes me!)

EDIT: Or, buy an Asus SAGE....
*Damn.. it´s too late to turn back now. :) I've already spent more time and money then planned on this baby, so I guess I'll try to make it work. Any suggestion about what RAM type is the best choice for this type of mobo?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
I would test the RAM first. I would test with Prime 95 or boot from Memtest 64 and test there.

I use G.Skill, but RAM compatability issues with those motherboards are quite common......
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
223
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9 7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
*Damn.. it´s too late to turn back now. :) I've already spent more time and money then planned on this baby so I guess I'll try to make it work. Any suggestion about what RAM type is the best choice for this type of mobo?

I had the same problem when editing 4K in premiere pro, I solved it, lowering the RAM frequency from 3200 to 2400 MHZ, and using XMP
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
414
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900X
Graphics
Radeon VII
I always buy RAM listed in the QVL and have never had an issue with RAM except for a defective stick. Swapped that out with the same model and it fixed the problem. I also always buy a full set. If I want 64GB, I buy a 64GB set, not 2 32GB sets.
 
Top