Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello I have the exact same issue
And I tried the install from USB with 3 GPUs : RX 5700 XT, RX 5600 XT and Nvidia GT710
It still a mystery

Could you share a copy of your dumped DSDT from your motherboard - I'd like to take look - I think seeing as we both have the same issue it would be worth looking to see what is common to our boards/configuration but differs from those that have got it working - might lead us in the right direction :thumbup:
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
961
Motherboard
AsRock X299 Creator-1.50
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Could you share a copy of your dumped DSDT from your motherboard - I'd like to take look - I think seeing as we both have the same issue it would be worth looking to see what is common to our boards/configuration but differs from those that have got it working - might lead us in the right direction :thumbup:
Here you are
 

Attachments

  • Asrock X299 Creator System DSDT.dsl
    5.6 MB · Views: 28
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here you are

Good example : you have both AWAC and RTC but no RTC0 :

Code:
Scope (_SB)
{
     Device (AWAC)
     {
         Name (_HID, "ACPI000E" /* Time and Alarm Device */)  // _HID: Hardware ID
            
    ..............................................................................

  Scope (_SB)
  {
      Device (PC00)
      {

   .............................................................................;
      
            Device (LPC0)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001F0000)  // _ADR: Address
            
    ..............................................................................   

                Device (RTC)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00") /* AT Real-Time Clock */)  // _HID: Hardware ID

For example on other Mobo : no AWAC but RTC0

Code:
                Device (RTC0)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00"))  // _HID: Hardware ID

So your SSDT-RTC should be :
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-RTC.aml
    172 bytes · Views: 31
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
961
Motherboard
AsRock X299 Creator-1.50
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good example : you have both AWAC and RTC but no RTC0 :

Code:
Scope (_SB)
{
     Device (AWAC)
     {
         Name (_HID, "ACPI000E" /* Time and Alarm Device */)  // _HID: Hardware ID
            
    ..............................................................................

  Scope (_SB)
  {
      Device (PC00)
      {

   .............................................................................;
      
            Device (LPC0)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001F0000)  // _ADR: Address
            
    ..............................................................................   

                Device (RTC)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00") /* AT Real-Time Clock */)  // _HID: Hardware ID

For example on other Mobo : no AWAC but RTC0

Code:
                Device (RTC0)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00"))  // _HID: Hardware ID
Okay
that means we/I need an SSDT-RTC0, right ? I'm little confused !!
I attached the SSDT-RTCO I build (from dortania's guide) and use with catalina
This one should work with Big sur, no ?
Thanks
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-RTC0-RANGE.aml
    172 bytes · Views: 25
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay
that means we/I need an SSDT-RTC0, right ? I'm little confused !!
I attached the SSDT-RTCO I build (from dortania's guide) and use with catalina
This one should work with Big sur, no ?
Thanks
This one can’t load on your ACPI, I think :

Scope (_SB.PC00.LPC0)
{
Device (RTC0) ——> Device (RTC)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00")) // _HID: Hardware ID

;)
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good example : you have both AWAC and RTC but no RTC0 :

Code:
Scope (_SB)
{
     Device (AWAC)
     {
         Name (_HID, "ACPI000E" /* Time and Alarm Device */)  // _HID: Hardware ID
            
    ..............................................................................

  Scope (_SB)
  {
      Device (PC00)
      {

   .............................................................................;
      
            Device (LPC0)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001F0000)  // _ADR: Address
            
    ..............................................................................   

                Device (RTC)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00") /* AT Real-Time Clock */)  // _HID: Hardware ID

For example on other Mobo : no AWAC but RTC0

Code:
                Device (RTC0)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00"))  // _HID: Hardware ID

Yeah - this matches my board too - an AWAC and an RTC with the incorrect ranges but no RTC0.

I believe my SSDT is disabling the default RTC and creating a new RTC0 with the correct ranges. But I can't figure out a way to disable the AWAC as well. Ioregexplorer shows no RTC device - only my new RTC0.

Its definitely possible its still related to this... most of the SSDT examples I've found for this disable AWAC and enable RTC but we have the problem that the default RTC isn't correctly configured and by disabling the AWAC device it always enables the RTC - which we don't want - we just want the new RTC0?

Hopefully that is making sense... I'm no expert in this stuff, willing to try some changes to AWAC/RTC with some guidance.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah - this matches my board too - an AWAC and an RTC with the incorrect ranges but no RTC0.

I believe my SSDT is disabling the default RTC and creating a new RTC0 with the correct ranges. But I can't figure out a way to disable the AWAC as well. Ioregexplorer shows no RTC device - only my new RTC0.

Its definitely possible its still related to this... most of the SSDT examples I've found for this disable AWAC and enable RTC but we have the problem that the default RTC isn't correctly configured and by disabling the AWAC device it always enables the RTC - which we don't want - we just want the new RTC0?

Hopefully that is making sense... I'm no expert in this stuff, willing to try some changes to AWAC/RTC with some guidance.
For me is making sense too :

On my AMD X570 for example : I have RTC0 on DSDT and I put SSDT-RTC0 on ACPI, with correct Scope and hardware id , the result should be the same if you have SSDT-RTC with your correct Scope and hardware id, I think. ;)

The goal is :

Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized) // _STA: Status
{
If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
{
Return (0x0F)
}
Else
{
Return (Zero)
}


Also see here : Guide from Kgp how-to-create-or-modify-a-simple-system-ssdt-aml : #427
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@oli.mathieu
@rustEswan
Actually I can't determine if your problem is the result of SSDTs or other points in your setup : as i read you can load the installer, start the installation and the problem persists on reboot when the process stops ?

If there were problems with ACPI or Kexts, you would not be able to start the installer.

I see on screen shots problem reported to SIGKILL : Diskarbitration which send a SIGKILL ? Or GPU ?

Changing SMBIOS for exemple : I was unable to install the first beta with iMacPro SMBIOS on AMD X570, on X299 I only used iMacPro SMBIOS and it works well. Now with OC 0.6.4 the issue is gone on AMD X570...

Maybe your macOS Big Sur install app…so perhaps download the installer another time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
127
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@oli.mathieu
@rustEswan
Actually I can't determine if your problem is the result of SSDTs or other points in your setup : as i read you can load the installer, start the installation and the problem persists on reboot when the process stops ?

If there were problems with ACPI or Kexts, you would not be able to start the installer.

I see on screen shots problem reported to SIGKILL : Diskarbitration which send a SIGKILL ? Or GPU ?

Changing SMBIOS for exemple : I was unable to install the first beta with iMacPro SMBIOS on AMD X570, on X299 I only used iMacPro SMBIOS and it works well. Now with OC 0.6.4 the issue is gone on AMD X570...

Maybe your macOS Big Sur install app…so perhaps download the installer another time.

Thanks - Not sure about the SIGKILL that is all I've been able to see, even with "-v" it stops verbose output and switches to the progress indicator with mouse pointer before crashing back to that screen so I'm kind of blind...

Yeah, I'm not sure if the installer crashing at 12 minutes is a symptom or the cause. I wonder if something makes it crash before its finished some part of the install and the reason its then in a reboot loop is because it never finished doing the install part. (Or if indeed it is a crash at all and not just a normal part of the process?)

I still think we could be onto something regarding RTC0 - I'll come back to that later. Currently compiling snippets of code from DSDT/SSDT and some Ioregexplorer screens for you to take a look at, But thought id share another update because it might help direct us to the problem...

This morning I rebuilt the USB installer using the latest 20B50 build (before was 20B29 I think) but same behaviour. This time while the installer was running I opened the installer log and switched to "show all" and I managed to get a couple of photos of the logs right before it crashes out at 12 minutes remaining, they are scrolling real fast though so some is very blurry - I can't really tell if any of these are critical errors or normal process?

Also of note, on the reboot Opencore does not find a Preboot volume which I think I'm expecting to see if the install is progressing normally?

I've numbered them in order here, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8, black screen, reboot, then the reboot loop as mentioned before:
 

Attachments

  • 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    398.2 KB · Views: 31
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    394.2 KB · Views: 32
  • 3.JPG
    3.JPG
    401.3 KB · Views: 26
  • 4.JPG
    4.JPG
    454.9 KB · Views: 28
  • 5.JPG
    5.JPG
    454.1 KB · Views: 26
  • 6.JPG
    6.JPG
    428.6 KB · Views: 30
  • 7.JPG
    7.JPG
    452.1 KB · Views: 24
  • 8.JPG
    8.JPG
    552.9 KB · Views: 31
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks - Not sure about the SIGKILL that is all I've been able to see, even with "-v" it stops verbose output and switches to the progress indicator with mouse pointer before crashing back to that screen so I'm kind of blind...

Yeah, I'm not sure if the installer crashing at 12 minutes is a symptom or the cause. I wonder if something makes it crash before its finished some part of the install and the reason its then in a reboot loop is because it never finished doing the install part. (Or if indeed it is a crash at all and not just a normal part of the process?)

I still think we could be onto something regarding RTC0 - I'll come back to that later. Currently compiling snippets of code from DSDT/SSDT and some Ioregexplorer screens for you to take a look at, But thought id share another update because it might help direct us to the problem...

This morning I rebuilt the USB installer using the latest 20B50 build (before was 20B29 I think) but same behaviour. This time while the installer was running I opened the installer log and switched to "show all" and I managed to get a couple of photos of the logs right before it crashes out at 12 minutes remaining, they are scrolling real fast though so some is very blurry - I can't really tell if any of these are critical errors or normal process?

Also of note, one the reboot Opencore does not find a Preboot volume which I think I'm expecting to see if the install is progressing normally?

I've numbered them in order here, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8, black screen, reboot, then the reboot loop as mentioned before:
Can you take a screen shot when you reboot at OpenCore gui screen ?
 
Top