Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
IMPORTANT NOTE :

before posting an installation problem or EFI file request

Please refer and read carefully the post #2
History Log-File:
Resources

I update it regularly


Also post #1

All the best and enjoy :thumbup: - Stay safe
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
41
Motherboard
Asus Rog Rampage VI Extreme Omega X299
CPU
i9-10920X
Graphics
Radeon VII
Try SetupVirtualMap = false

Can you post your full EFI folder.
BIOS version? Settings? Full Specs?
@djlild7hina many thanks I tried SetupVirtualMap=false , and it still stuck at 14 min for hours
Please see attached EFI and log text
I have update BIOS but then I have to to revert back to 802 as I couldn't boot from USB.
BIOS setting same as KGP for ASUS X299 motherboards

Many thanks for your kind efforts
 

Attachments

  • opencore-2020-11-20-213543.txt
    256 KB · Views: 30
  • EFI.zip
    2.8 MB · Views: 36
  • A65715B8-DEF2-47A5-8D0E-2CBA4B5C2026.jpeg
    A65715B8-DEF2-47A5-8D0E-2CBA4B5C2026.jpeg
    640.4 KB · Views: 31
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Great, basically all RDNA1 RX cards are fully compatible with macOS? Do they still need WEG + agdpmod=pikera even on MacPro7,1 according to your knowledge/experience?
Yes but here are the RDNA 2 : so for full acceleration the AMDRadeonX6000.kext must be updated as you can see for Navi10 for example :

Code:
    <key>IOClass</key>
            <string>AMDRadeonX6000_AMDNavi10GraphicsAccelerator</string>
            <key>IODVDBundleName</key>
            <string>AMDRadeonVADriver2</string>
            <key>IOGVACodec</key>
            <string>AMDVCN2</string>
            <key>IOGVAH264EncodeCapabilities</key>
            <dict>
                <key>VTQualityRating</key>
                <integer>50</integer>
                <key>VTRating</key>
                <integer>350</integer>
            </dict>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCDecode</key>
            <string>1</string>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCDecodeCapabilities</key>
            <dict>
                <key>VTPerProfileDetails</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>1</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxDecodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                    <key>2</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxDecodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                    <key>3</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxDecodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                </dict>
                <key>VTSupportedProfileArray</key>
                <array>
                    <integer>1</integer>
                    <integer>2</integer>
                    <integer>3</integer>
                </array>
            </dict>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCEncode</key>
            <string>1</string>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCEncodeCapabilities</key>
            <dict>
                <key>VTPerProfileDetails</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>1</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxEncodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                </dict>
                <key>VTQualityRating</key>
                <integer>50</integer>
                <key>VTRating</key>
                <integer>350</integer>
                <key>VTSupportedProfileArray</key>
                <array>
                    <integer>1</integer>
                </array>
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
736
Motherboard
Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9 9980XE
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yes but here are the RDNA 2 : so for full acceleration the AMDRadeonX6000.kext must be updated as you can see for Navi10 for example :

Code:
    <key>IOClass</key>
            <string>AMDRadeonX6000_AMDNavi10GraphicsAccelerator</string>
            <key>IODVDBundleName</key>
            <string>AMDRadeonVADriver2</string>
            <key>IOGVACodec</key>
            <string>AMDVCN2</string>
            <key>IOGVAH264EncodeCapabilities</key>
            <dict>
                <key>VTQualityRating</key>
                <integer>50</integer>
                <key>VTRating</key>
                <integer>350</integer>
            </dict>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCDecode</key>
            <string>1</string>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCDecodeCapabilities</key>
            <dict>
                <key>VTPerProfileDetails</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>1</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxDecodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                    <key>2</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxDecodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                    <key>3</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxDecodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                </dict>
                <key>VTSupportedProfileArray</key>
                <array>
                    <integer>1</integer>
                    <integer>2</integer>
                    <integer>3</integer>
                </array>
            </dict>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCEncode</key>
            <string>1</string>
            <key>IOGVAHEVCEncodeCapabilities</key>
            <dict>
                <key>VTPerProfileDetails</key>
                <dict>
                    <key>1</key>
                    <dict>
                        <key>VTMaxEncodeLevel</key>
                        <integer>153</integer>
                    </dict>
                </dict>
                <key>VTQualityRating</key>
                <integer>50</integer>
                <key>VTRating</key>
                <integer>350</integer>
                <key>VTSupportedProfileArray</key>
                <array>
                    <integer>1</integer>
                </array>
Understood, basically we have to wait for the driver to be updated (and for the cards themselves since they're pretty much a paper launch for now). What about WEG + agdpmod=pikera? Still needed with MacPro7,1 and RDNA1?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Understood, basically we have to wait for the driver to be updated (and for the cards themselves since they're pretty much a paper launch for now). What about WEG + agdpmod=pikera? Still needed with MacPro7,1 and RDNA1?
Ok :
Personally, I don't use RNDA 1 GPUs: as I can read on RX 5000 GPUs, WEG + agdpmod = pikera is needed and I think we should use RDNA 2 in this way, developers still have to work on it.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2018
Messages
242
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
7960X
Graphics
6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok :
Personally, I don't use RNDA 1 GPUs: as I can read on RX 5000 GPUs, WEG + agdpmod = pikera is needed and I think we should use RDNA 2 in this way, developers still have to work on it.
No weg or agdpmod is needed on my RX 5700 on MacPro7,1
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,032
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
222
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage/10g
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am running a really stable Open Core Catalina (macOS 10.15.6) system on a X299 Sage 10G motherboard. Looking at Big Sur, is it possible to do a direct update with the "Install macOS Big Sur"from within my current installation without creating an installation USB stick, etc for Big Sur? The main page on tonymacx86 says this is possible, but I was not sure if this was the case with Open Core on the X299.
 
Top