Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
600
Motherboard
Asus Sage 10/G X299
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This happens to me too sometimes!

Yeah they're cheap, but also cost as much as a 5500XT here in Italy and that's a pretty newer GPU, I only hope it works fine (agdpmod=pikera, for example, is still required?).
So maybe it's a common issue with Asus board...or OC related
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
60
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Apple
  4. Classic
  5. iBook
  6. Performa
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After 5 restart the installation has been successfully completed. I recreated the config.plist according to sample.plist(0.6.3) and redownload the new 11.0.1 copy from the link below; http://swcdn.apple.com/content/down...x1n2wpf8rik5agns2z43ikqu/InstallAssistant.pkg

If you get any error while first reboot or second like "an error occurred while..." Just manually reboot the system and keep going the installation.

I attached the my EFI it has GPRW patch for sleep issue.

the system works flawlessly with new Davinci Resolve Studio 17
:thumbup:


Bios version 3105
So one more question. I just tried to update to Bios 3105 from 0802 and the machine now just shuts down after it hits the Apple logo after the OpenCore menu. Was there something that changed drastically in the Bios? I know that the one after 0802 had issues with the MSR lock, but didn't see anything about 3105.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,553
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
just have this no thing happening

You need to have XCode installed and run it once to install the CLI tools and agree to the user agreement. OCBuilder should download some other dependencies too
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
88
Motherboard
MSI X299 PRO
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First off, this is my first post in years but been lurking and learning here since probably 2011 - although still feel like a massive novice. Second, I think the Build Signatures are broken because I don't seem to be able to make mine update at all.

I am having an issue installing Big Sur - I can boot the installer, complete the first graphical part of the install and reboot. On the reboot I select the Mac OS Installer on my SSD for Big Sur, this time it boots to the progress bar, then mouse pointer appears with the progress bar, screen goes black, shows a spinning logo for a second and reboots. Then this just keeps happening in a loop. When this happens even with the -V boot-arg Its already switched to graphical progress bar so I can't see where its failing.

Its an MSI X299 Pro, i9 10940x, Radeon RX 560, 2x Sabrent Rocket NVMe drives. Opencore 6.3.

I followed the Dortania guide to the letter for manual SSDT builds specific to my machine.

I have a perfectly functioning Catalina 10.15.7 build, sleep, wake, USB map, DRM everything seems to work perfectly except perhaps NVRAM. More on that in a second...

I initially suspected either EC or RCT0-RANGE as the problem because there is some weirdness with this motherboard:
  • It has no EC device. In Windows device manager there is no entry for "ACPI Embedded Controller" or similar. And searching the dumped DSDT for PNP0C09 finds "0" results.
  • It has both an AWAC and RTC device, with I think, a property that switched (STAS I'm barely even a beginner at ACPI!) to switch between the two, but it also seems to be missing the mapped section for the RTC device (0x70 range, 0x2 length)
  • Opencore requires npci=0x2000 boot-arg to boot
I have manually created SSDT's and Im pretty sure they are now working correctly.

In IoregExplorer I can see an EC device the name "ACID0001" and a newly created RTC0 device with name "PNP0B00" (and no old RTC device) with the two ranges properly mapped - address 0x70, length 0x4 and address 0x74, length 0x4.

I have tried a number of things suggested in the Dortania guide including adding vsmcgen=1 to boot-args and replacing VirtualSMC with fake SMC, with and without NVMEfix.kext and WEG but the behaviour is always the same.

Regarding my NVRAM, I have noticed that my while my custom SSDT-PMC at least shows a PMCR device with name "APP9876" in IoregExplorer, it doesn't appear to be working as NVRAM should - Opencore doesn't save any changes to "startup disk" for example.

So I have a couple of questions and one favour to ask:

  1. What is the best way for me to debug and collect or view log files to find out more about exactly what point its rebooting if -V is no longer showing the verbose output? It starts to show but once the screen shuts off and comes back with a progress bar and mouse pointer there is no verbose output to see anymore.
  2. Is this potentially related to a non-functioning NVRAM implementation - If so some guidance in fixing that would be appreciated.
  3. Could someone take a look at my custom SSDT's and give them a sanity check given my novice editing

(EFI folder attached with the SMBIOS cleaned and I removed resources and tools folders to reduce size, please let me know if you'd like to check the original DSDT dump, I'll add that too)




Thanks in advance for any help - and hopefully this can be worked through to another success so we can add another motherboard and config guide to the thread.
 

Attachments

  • MSI X299 Pro.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 14
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
67
Motherboard
Asus ROG G750JW
CPU
i7 4700HQ
Graphics
GTX 765M - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
After 5 restart the installation has been successfully completed. I recreated the config.plist according to sample.plist(0.6.3) and redownload the new 11.0.1 copy from the link below; http://swcdn.apple.com/content/down...x1n2wpf8rik5agns2z43ikqu/InstallAssistant.pkg

If you get any error while first reboot or second like "an error occurred while..." Just manually reboot the system and keep going the installation.

I attached the my EFI it has GPRW patch for sleep issue.

the system works flawlessly with new Davinci Resolve Studio 17
:thumbup:


Bios version 3105
Did you need to patch the BIOS for MSR 0xE2 ?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Asus Prime Deluxe 2 x299
CPU
10980XE
Graphics
VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
ugh, Asus Prime Deluxe II with AMD Raedeon VII and Intel 10980XE - can not get this thing to boot with OC or clover, can not tell what I am doing wrong, I been with Hackintosh for some years now - but this got me stumped, anyone have a working EFI folder that will boot with Big Sur?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,074
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Base Asus EFI for OpenCore 0.6.3 release that should work.
NOTE: Base EFI does not include Whatevergreen. Add to config.plist and efi folder as necessary. Also adjust TSCAdjustReset to amount of threads -1.

Config setup from before is a little outdated but should be straight forward. Files from my github are on @Loloflatsix github now
 

Attachments

  • OC063.zip
    2.6 MB · Views: 117
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
203
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Base Asus EFI for OpenCore 0.6.3 release that should work.
NOTE: Base EFI does not include Whatevergreen. Add to config.plist and efi folder as necessary. Also adjust TSCAdjustReset to amount of threads -1.

Config setup from before is a little outdated but should be straight forward. Files from my github are on @Loloflatsix github now

you are very welcome back to the scene my friend. Even though you are still retired i suppose, i hope to see you around from now on :thumbup:
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
754
Motherboard
Asrock X299 Creator
CPU
i9 10900X
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook
OK, more confused than ever. I tried to install Big Sur again on a new apfs container, and it's doing exactly the same as it was doing a few months ago:

After rebooting to complete the installation, it reboots right after graphics starts and you start seeing the progress bar. It then moves about 1cm, and poooof reboot.

I tried all the version and tweak of OC I had tried as I went with no luck.
So confused.

Seems that getting it to work this morning was a fluke. Somehow the graphic card got to initialise properly, and can't do it anymore.
Hello
Have you succeed to install BS finally ?
Did you know why you were stuck in a reboot loop ?
Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
59
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I succesfully updated from Catalina to BS and everything works but i've a strange issue. If i switch off the machine and i switch on again i've as usual OC menu and BS starts...if i restart the machine when it boots i've black screen and a back slash character appear on the monitor (as the picture attached!) qled code is d2. This happens only with the final version of BS with beta i'd no issue. Any suggestion? I use OC 0.63.
View attachment 496684

Exactly the same problem i've had since installing big sur
 
Top