Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,119
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Awesome. Im shipping mine off to get a socket put on it. I burnt out the dang chip on accident. Hopefully this gets back to me by the end of next week and we can party together.

Fair warning, these Macronix chips are hard to work on.

Sounds good! But that sucks... Yikes i'm scared to work on mine lol. I assume it's harder than the Titan ridge chip?
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,142
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sounds good! But that sucks... Yikes i'm scared to work on mine lol. I assume it's harder than the Titan ridge chip?
I'd say since mine will have a socket on it just use it in ICM mode until theres a firmware thats good to go. The less fooling around the better right?

I had trouble at first getting my reads to verify. They were all different checksums. Then I switched to the old CH341a (the black and gold one that sometimes sends 5 volts instead of the 3.3v) and I got 3 solid firmware captures. I think that at some point a pin slipped or I put on the clip backwards while going in between Ch341a's and thats all she wrote.

All in all I think the best bet is to just take the card and a copy of the patched firmware to a repair shop and ask them to put the new firmware on it for you and to verify it a few times. Shouldn't be but a few dollars and is much safer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,119
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Looks like 11.4 Public Beta 1 is out. Official support for 6800, 6800XT, 6900XT :) Currently SMBIOS MacPro7,1 and WEG disabled is recommended.

aboutthismac.png

Probably won't swap out my W5500 for one of those since I have a 3090 in my gaming rig but exciting news for all of you that were able to get your hands on a card.

Guessing a new MPX model will be released for the Mac Pro around WWDC?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
86
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow good job! Pretty incredible stuff. Welcome to team Thunderbolt Bus!

Yes, sleep seems to be a persistent issue. Some systems have no problem, some not so lucky.

My system is Alpine Ridge so its just patches and an SSDT but hopefully the ThunderboltEX4 card I have will have some success with a patched firmware. I'm currently replacing the ROM chip with a socket so that I can more safely test out all the different firmware versions.

I used the CH341A programmer which I picked up for about £10 on eBay. Checked the voltage and it was 3.3. Pretty straightforward.
IMG_2601.JPG



Haven't seen a lot on solving sleep on the Titan Ridge but @CaseySJ 's thread is 3400+ pages long so thanks @NorthAmTransAm for the link. I am not using a Thunderbolt monitor, just an first generation 27" Apple Cinema Display connected to the RX580 through the Titan Ridge 2.0. Things I plan to try:
- Moving the Titan Ridge to slot 4 and using a patch cable instead of the thunderbolt header cable on the Sage 10G.
- Disabling certain USB ports on the Thunderbolt card through a custom map although the Titan Ridge does not show up in Hackintool under USB (it did when I originally flashedafter using @ICEVISION 's SSDT)
- Playing with the settings under Thunderbolt in the bios although I tried turning the two wake settings in the bios to off with no effect.
- checking the Tb SSDT's or borrowing a Tb SSDT from someone who has flashed this card and has sleep working :)
- anything else I can find to troubleshoot.

I don't have any Thunderbolt devices at the moment, before flashing I was able to use a NVME USB C enclosure connected to the Tb card to boot Big Sur. So if all else fails I will refresh the card back to factory using the backups I made of the original firmware because sleep is important for me to have.
 
Last edited:

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,142
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I used the CH341A programmer which I picked up for about £10 on eBay. Checked the voltage and it was 3.3. Pretty straightforward.
View attachment 516024


Haven't seen a lot on solving sleep on the Titan Ridge but @CaseySJ 's thread is 3400+ pages long so thanks @NorthAmTransAm for the link. I am not using a Thunderbolt monitor, just an first generation 27" Apple Cinema Display connected to the RX580 through the Titan Ridge 2.0. Things I plan to try:
- Moving the Titan Ridge to slot 4 and using a patch cable instead of the thunderbolt header cable on the Sage 10G.
- Disabling certain USB ports on the Thunderbolt card through a custom map although the Titan Ridge does not show up in Hackintool under USB (it did when I originally flashedafter using @ICEVISION 's SSDT)
- Playing with the settings under Thunderbolt in the bios although I tried turning the two wake settings in the bios to off with no effect.
- checking the Tb SSDT's or borrowing a Tb SSDT from someone who has flashed this card and has sleep working :)
- anything else I can find to troubleshoot.

I don't have any Thunderbolt devices at the moment, before flashing I was able to use a NVME USB C enclosure connected to the Tb card to boot Big Sur. So if all else fails I will refresh the card back to factory using the backups I made of the original firmware because sleep is important for me to have.

Just double checking, you tried the SSDT from HackinDROM correct?

Reminder, though you're probably aware. Don't forget to change location in bios and in the SSDT if you're moving to slot 4!

You're being very thorough! This is great.

By the way, I get my new chips in the mail today and will be flashing it by placing it directly in the flasher socket. So much easier! This is for the EX4.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,119
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I used the CH341A programmer which I picked up for about £10 on eBay. Checked the voltage and it was 3.3. Pretty straightforward.
View attachment 516024


Haven't seen a lot on solving sleep on the Titan Ridge but @CaseySJ 's thread is 3400+ pages long so thanks @NorthAmTransAm for the link. I am not using a Thunderbolt monitor, just an first generation 27" Apple Cinema Display connected to the RX580 through the Titan Ridge 2.0. Things I plan to try:
- Moving the Titan Ridge to slot 4 and using a patch cable instead of the thunderbolt header cable on the Sage 10G.
- Disabling certain USB ports on the Thunderbolt card through a custom map although the Titan Ridge does not show up in Hackintool under USB (it did when I originally flashedafter using @ICEVISION 's SSDT)
- Playing with the settings under Thunderbolt in the bios although I tried turning the two wake settings in the bios to off with no effect.
- checking the Tb SSDT's or borrowing a Tb SSDT from someone who has flashed this card and has sleep working :)
- anything else I can find to troubleshoot.

I don't have any Thunderbolt devices at the moment, before flashing I was able to use a NVME USB C enclosure connected to the Tb card to boot Big Sur. So if all else fails I will refresh the card back to factory using the backups I made of the original firmware because sleep is important for me to have.

Just double checking, you tried the SSDT from HackinDROM correct?

Reminder, though you're probably aware. Don't forget to change location in bios and in the SSDT if you're moving to slot 4!

You're being very thorough! This is great.

By the way, I get my new chips in the mail today and will be flashing it by placing it directly in the flasher socket. So much easier! This is for the EX4.

Just a heads up on the Sage, only Slot-2 is officially supported under BIOS Settings. The reason for this is if you enable TB in BIOS it switches Slot-2 to the PCH. PCH lanes are the only lanes that are officially supported on the Sage for Thunderbolt. If you disable Thunderbolt BIOS settings, it'll switch slot-2 back to PCIe lanes.

If you put it in another slot you'll have to use the jump pins 1 and 3 method. Adjusting the SSDT will be a pain with all the pcie-bridges due to the plx chips. You'll have to use ioreg to see the address of the slot as needed. The address may also change due to how many PCIe slots are populated.

Here's an example of what it should look like

Code:
Scope (\_SB.PC01.BR1A)
{
        If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
        {
            Scope (SL01)
            {
                Name (_STA, Zero)  // _STA: Status
            }

            Scope (PEGP)
            {
                Device (EGP0)                // create new device name here
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x00100000)  // _ADR: Address (Address changes per slot)
                  
                    // Insert thunderbolt SSDT code here
                }
            }
        }
}

I previously had two flashed GC Titan Ridge (v1.0) cards working but didn't do extensive testing on how stable it was since I only had one thunderbolt 3 device at the time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
66
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
AMD Radeon™ RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is it supported now?
How is the performance?

Yes I have this video card.
But at the moment little luck with big sur 11.4 beta. I installed the developer profile on my Big Sur stable release but the software update does not find any beta available. Tried to unroll and enroll but nothing. So I downloaded the 11.4 beta and prepared the installation usb using the same EFI (based on that of djlild7hina) I successfully use in Big Sur 11.2.3. I have disabled WEG and did not use the agdpmod string in the boot arguments. When I boot from USB with 11.4 beta I get to the installation screen but after a few seconds kernel panic occurs. I don't understand what this KP is about.
So I'm currently using the Radeon Rx 6900 with Windows 10.
 

Attachments

  • 2021-04-23_193336.png
    2021-04-23_193336.png
    140.9 KB · Views: 8
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
86
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just double checking, you tried the SSDT from HackinDROM correct?

Reminder, though you're probably aware. Don't forget to change location in bios and in the SSDT if you're moving to slot 4!

You're being very thorough! This is great.

By the way, I get my new chips in the mail today and will be flashing it by placing it directly in the flasher socket. So much easier! This is for the EX4.
Yes, the SSDT is now correct with the correctly populated UID and UUID's. I also changed the location in the SSDT to Slot 2. Attached is the updated screen shot of the Tb bus.

Yes it is easier to have removable chips for sure but I must say that the clip worked first time for me - saw some people had issues getting the clip to sit right on the chip. I also took my time to make sure I have the pins lined up right - the screenshot was attached earlier to help people to make sure that the clip orientation was correctly attached to the programmer because I had to spend time verifying the correct orientation - so easy to plug that 8 pin adapter in the wrong way around!

Looking forward to see how you get on.

Screen Shot 2021-04-23 at 20.30.02.png
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml
    2.2 KB · Views: 5
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
86
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just a heads up on the Sage, only Slot-2 is officially supported under BIOS Settings. The reason for this is if you enable TB in BIOS it switches Slot-2 to the PCH. PCH lanes are the only lanes that are officially supported on the Sage for Thunderbolt. If you disable Thunderbolt BIOS settings, it'll switch slot-2 back to PCIe lanes.

If you put it in another slot you'll have to use the jump pins 1 and 3 method. Adjusting the SSDT will be a pain with all the pcie-bridges due to the plx chips. You'll have to use ioreg to see the address of the slot as needed. The address may also change due to how many PCIe slots are populated.

Here's an example of what it should look like

Code:
Scope (\_SB.PC01.BR1A)
{
        If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
        {
            Scope (SL01)
            {
                Name (_STA, Zero)  // _STA: Status
            }

            Scope (PEGP)
            {
                Device (EGP0)                // create new device name here
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x00100000)  // _ADR: Address (Address changes per slot)
                 
                    // Insert thunderbolt SSDT code here
                }
            }
        }
}

I previously had two flashed GC Titan Ridge (v1.0) cards working but didn't do extensive testing on how stable it was since I only had one thunderbolt 3 device at the time.
Thats a big help - it'll be next week when I have time to play with the slot location to fix broken sleep - I knew that the Sage 10G only allows Tb cards to sit in Slot 2 - then I read about patching but mistakenly thought it would be a simple patching of pins 1 and 3 for different slots but clearly nothing is simple in this game :banghead: so your code will help a lot.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,142
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, the SSDT is now correct with the correctly populated UID and UUID's. I also changed the location in the SSDT to Slot 2. Attached is the updated screen shot of the Tb bus.

Yes it is easier to have removable chips for sure but I must say that the clip worked first time for me - saw some people had issues getting the clip to sit right on the chip. I also took my time to make sure I have the pins lined up right - the screenshot was attached earlier to help people to make sure that the clip orientation was correctly attached to the programmer because I had to spend time verifying the correct orientation - so easy to plug that 8 pin adapter in the wrong way around!

Looking forward to see how you get on.

View attachment 516093

Looking good my friend.

Yes, it can get the best of us sometimes. For whatever reason the Macronix chips have been harder to get a good read. We're not exactly sure why. The Winbond however seem to work so much better. Congrats!
 
Top