Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
104
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9920X
Graphics
Radeon RX 6900 XT
Do not give up

I purchased ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II just a few days ago
For Thunderbolt 3 Support (I replaced my old Asus Rampage VI Apex)

And my previous installation just came up without a problem
With Thunderbolt 3 also (in retrospect) there was no problem
All you have to do is install Windows 10 on another drive and install the drivers for Thunderbolt 3

And next time you turn on your hackintosh
You will see that your thunderbolt is working

I'll send you my efi as it is
Do not forget to create a serial number etc.
and TSCAdjustReset is for 18 core! (place yours)
View attachment 515327

whats your bios version?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
87
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do not give up

I purchased ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II just a few days ago
For Thunderbolt 3 Support (I replaced my old Asus Rampage VI Apex)

And my previous installation just came up without a problem
With Thunderbolt 3 also (in retrospect) there was no problem
All you have to do is install Windows 10 on another drive and install the drivers for Thunderbolt 3

And next time you turn on your hackintosh
You will see that your thunderbolt is working

I'll send you my efi as it is
Do not forget to create a serial number etc.
and TSCAdjustReset is for 18 core! (place yours)
View attachment 515327
Thanks for posting your EFI. I was wondering why my GC Titan Ridge was showing as Slot-4 and yours as built-in. Swapped out the existing TB3 SSDT (2kb) for yours (8kb) and now showing as built-in.

Still nothing showing under Thunderbolt/USB 4 tab of the system report, but I think that section populates when a thunderbolt device is added.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,134
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for posting your EFI. I was wondering why my GC Titan Ridge was showing as Slot-4 and yours as built-in. Swapped out the existing TB3 SSDT (2kb) for yours (8kb) and now showing as built-in.

Still nothing showing under Thunderbolt/USB 4 tab of the system report, but I think that section populates when a thunderbolt device is added.

You can configure the slot (cosmetic) inside the SSDT. Nothing shows up under the Thunderbolt/USB 4 tab until you flash the Thunderbolt card.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
46
Motherboard
ASUS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Any chances of any of you getting Asus ThunderboldEX 4 working?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,134
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any chances of any of you getting Asus ThunderboldEX 4 working?

Im tempted to buy one to try but I’m holding out to see if Gigabyte releases their Maple Ridge one first. Since our boards dont have the 14 pin header I’m not sure if we can jump the pins like we do the Titan Ridge card. @NorthAmTransAm have you gotten your EX 4 card yet?
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,191
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Im tempted to buy one to try but I’m holding out to see if Gigabyte releases their Maple Ridge one first. Since our boards dont have the 14 pin header I’m not sure if we can jump the pins like we do the Titan Ridge card. @NorthAmTransAm have you gotten your EX 4 card yet?

I have it and am working on testing with CaseySJ elsewhere.

I need to do more testing and to make a proper post after, but from what I've gathered so far the EX4 on the z370a-II works in ICM mode under two conditions.

1) Thunderbolt is Enabled in bios
2) Custom SSDT (Like any other thunderbolt card)

Note: You might be able to warm boot with a device on without an SSDT. The card loads every time.

This is all without a Thunderbolt Header attached or jumpered. No jumpers, no header! There's also a 6v PCIe power for it that (in ICM mode) is not required. With it attached I was able to pass video to a USB C monitor. Not sure about actual Thunderbolt monitors.

I hope to figure out how to use the card with Thunderbolt Disabled in Bios. That would simulate more motherboards in my eyes. Right now, with it disabled, it will in fact load in IOReg in ICM mode but a device powering on will cause the computer to crash. I suspect we can fix that which I think will be quite meaningful for a lot of people.

More importantly, I hope we get a good patched firmware going and can have Thunderbolt/USB4!
 
Last edited:

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,191
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for posting your EFI. I was wondering why my GC Titan Ridge was showing as Slot-4 and yours as built-in. Swapped out the existing TB3 SSDT (2kb) for yours (8kb) and now showing as built-in.

Still nothing showing under Thunderbolt/USB 4 tab of the system report, but I think that section populates when a thunderbolt device is added.
If you dont have a flashed TB Card then nothing will ever show up there. Look in PCI instead. That Thunderbolt/USB4 tab is for Extended Mode.

Edit: Er, unless its Alpine Ridge!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,134
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have it and am working on testing with CaseySJ elsewhere.

I need to do more testing and to make a proper post after, but from what I've gathered so far the EX4 on the z370a-II works in ICM mode under two conditions.

1) Thunderbolt is Enabled in bios
2) Custom SSDT (Like any other thunderbolt card)

Note: You might be able to warm boot with a device on without an SSDT. The card loads every time.

This is all without a Thunderbolt Header attached or jumpered. No jumpers, no header! There's also a 6v PCIe power for it that (in ICM mode) is not required. With it attached I was able to pass video to a USB C monitor. Not sure about actual Thunderbolt monitors.

I hope to figure out how to use the card with Thunderbolt Disabled in Bios. That would simulate more motherboards in my eyes. Right now, with it disabled, it will in fact load in IOReg in ICM mode but a device powering on will cause the computer to crash. I suspect we can fix that which I think will be quite meaningful for a lot of people.

More importantly, I hope we get a good patched firmware going and can have Thunderbolt/USB4!

Wow! thats very exciting and good news! I think I’ll snag one and a thunderbolt dock next time it’s in stock.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,191
Motherboard
Asus Z370-A Prime II
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow! thats very exciting and good news! I think I’ll snag one and a thunderbolt dock next time it’s in stock.
My hope is that the Asus 99 and 299 will share this success in ICM mode and it will be a fairly effortless 2 port TB3 solution for us.

Like I said, if we can work out how to stop it from crashing macOS when using it with TB Disabled then that would would reach a wider range of users. I suspect its a power surge and maybe the solution is in jumpering. We'll get there!

As for the dock I imagine it would work fine with a standard TB3 dock but I do have my doubts of being able to "hub" the the TB ports on the TB4 dock without having a flashed card. My two cents for ya!
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
46
Motherboard
ASUS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Im tempted to buy one to try but I’m holding out to see if Gigabyte releases their Maple Ridge one first. Since our boards dont have the 14 pin header I’m not sure if we can jump the pins like we do the Titan Ridge card. @NorthAmTransAm have you gotten your EX 4 card yet?

Ive got the Asus EX 4, OS won't detect it.
 
Top