Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
104
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9920X
Graphics
Radeon RX 6900 XT
Try this EFI, not sure why you have SSDT-AWAC and RTC0. It's usually one or the other. Also you had CustomMemory set to Yes but no memory mapping so i disabled it.

thanks so much.

but still no go...

may be i need to give up...

Snap1.png
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
123
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD RX 560 | Nvidia RTX 3070
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just curious to see if anyone has updated their board to a BIOS with Resizeable BAR support yet?

I realise that this is likely a fringe case and very few have any want or need for it, and obviously not expecting any benefit at all in MacOS, but I know a few here have 6800's or like me an AMD and an RTX 30 series and it would be nice to have Resizeable BAR available in Windows without breaking MacOS.

I tried the latest MSI BIOS for the X299 Pro and couldn't get it to boot properly, it would simply reboot the machine just at the point it would normally present me with the MacOS desktop and the login window - even when disabling the resizable BAR feature.

Haven't done any real troubleshooting and I'm not really after any support assistance at this point, just curious if anyone else has played with this yet?

Its quite possible that my failure to boot is completely unrelated to the feature anyway and really I need to update the BIOS re-dump the DSDT in Windows and check for other changes that could affect my SSDT's before drawing any conclusions. Hoping there are other changes afoot in the MSI BIOS - with any luck native NVRAM... I can keep dreaming :)
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe (1.0)
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
on the Asus X299 Prime Deluxe it seems that the new Bios 3403 (with BAR-Support) broke the TB-USB (GB Titan-Ridge 1.0)... Catalina boots but you can't use TB-USB on Big Sur you get random freezes... any suggestions / help or informations ? @CaseySJ @djlild7hina
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
123
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-A II
CPU
i9 10940X
Graphics
AMD RX 560 | Nvidia RTX 3070
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
on the Asus X299 Prime Deluxe it seems that the new Bios 3403 (with BAR-Support) broke the TB-USB (GB Titan-Ridge 1.0)... Catalina boots but you can't use TB-USB on Big Sur you get random freezes... any suggestions / help or informations ? @CaseySJ @djlild7hina

Thats my suspicion with the MSI board - perhaps plenty of other changes rather than that one specifically that's not working with my system. I will at some point go back to the new BIOS and do some proper investigation. I don't have TB unfortunately so can't comment on that yet. Keep us posted if you get working on the new BIOS :thumbup:
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,424
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
on the Asus X299 Prime Deluxe it seems that the new Bios 3403 (with BAR-Support) broke the TB-USB (GB Titan-Ridge 1.0)... Catalina boots but you can't use TB-USB on Big Sur you get random freezes... any suggestions / help or informations ? @CaseySJ @djlild7hina
We've seen this problem on other board as well. The only solution we're aware of is to reinstall the previous BIOS.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
199
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks so much.

but still no go...

may be i need to give up...

View attachment 514744

Do not give up

I purchased ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II just a few days ago
For Thunderbolt 3 Support (I replaced my old Asus Rampage VI Apex)

And my previous installation just came up without a problem
With Thunderbolt 3 also (in retrospect) there was no problem
All you have to do is install Windows 10 on another drive and install the drivers for Thunderbolt 3

And next time you turn on your hackintosh
You will see that your thunderbolt is working

I'll send you my efi as it is
Do not forget to create a serial number etc.
and TSCAdjustReset is for 18 core! (place yours)
Screen Shot 2021-04-16 at 10.38.42.png
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 35
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
104
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9920X
Graphics
Radeon RX 6900 XT
Do not give up

I purchased ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II just a few days ago
For Thunderbolt 3 Support (I replaced my old Asus Rampage VI Apex)

And my previous installation just came up without a problem
With Thunderbolt 3 also (in retrospect) there was no problem
All you have to do is install Windows 10 on another drive and install the drivers for Thunderbolt 3

And next time you turn on your hackintosh
You will see that your thunderbolt is working

I'll send you my efi as it is
Do not forget to create a serial number etc.
and TSCAdjustReset is for 18 core! (place yours)
View attachment 515327

whats your bios version?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
94
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do not give up

I purchased ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II just a few days ago
For Thunderbolt 3 Support (I replaced my old Asus Rampage VI Apex)

And my previous installation just came up without a problem
With Thunderbolt 3 also (in retrospect) there was no problem
All you have to do is install Windows 10 on another drive and install the drivers for Thunderbolt 3

And next time you turn on your hackintosh
You will see that your thunderbolt is working

I'll send you my efi as it is
Do not forget to create a serial number etc.
and TSCAdjustReset is for 18 core! (place yours)
View attachment 515327
Thanks for posting your EFI. I was wondering why my GC Titan Ridge was showing as Slot-4 and yours as built-in. Swapped out the existing TB3 SSDT (2kb) for yours (8kb) and now showing as built-in.

Still nothing showing under Thunderbolt/USB 4 tab of the system report, but I think that section populates when a thunderbolt device is added.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,196
Motherboard
ASUS Pro WS X299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for posting your EFI. I was wondering why my GC Titan Ridge was showing as Slot-4 and yours as built-in. Swapped out the existing TB3 SSDT (2kb) for yours (8kb) and now showing as built-in.

Still nothing showing under Thunderbolt/USB 4 tab of the system report, but I think that section populates when a thunderbolt device is added.

You can configure the slot (cosmetic) inside the SSDT. Nothing shows up under the Thunderbolt/USB 4 tab until you flash the Thunderbolt card.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
50
Motherboard
ASUS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Any chances of any of you getting Asus ThunderboldEX 4 working?
 
Top