Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
1,283
Motherboard
ASUS Pro WS X299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro W5500
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah which is why I had the Vega in what the mac seems to be recognizing as Slot 1, but in "sys info" it's showing it in Slot-2 now, which I would have thought not what it wanted. It wants the 5700 in Slot-1??! But yeah, the Vega is now in the physical top slot instead of the 5700. So you're bang on. Thanks for this insight! Makes more sense, and yes I could have fiddled with the SSDT.

What I do find weird is that all has been working fine for quite a while now, years in fact, since whenever I bought the 5700 to help with Davinci resolve rendering speeds. It was only since updating Catalina with the latest security update did it break everything. Would never have thought the security update would have changed anything that would have required a new SSDT. Additionally, my original Clover SSDT was customized for this machine, and what I'm using now in OpenCore is far more generic as I didn't alter anything at all (just downloaded someone else's that seems to have everything functional because my build is almost identical, just to try it out and play around). But all seems very stable now.

SO there you go!

Congrats on moving to OpenCore! Make sure you follow this to wipe out Clover leftovers.
OpenCore-Install-Guide/clover-conversion at master · dortania/OpenCore-Install-Guide · GitHub

Depending on how old the EFI you're using, you may need to adjust some things in order for Big Sur support. It also depends on which BIOS version you're on with 3201 and newer seem to be better since ASUS broke the MSR lock functionality in between. Also your previous Clover SSDT may need to be adjusted for OpenCore so that could've been an issue as well.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus X299-A
CPU
i7-7920X
Graphics
VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Congrats on moving to OpenCore! Make sure you follow this to wipe out Clover leftovers.
OpenCore-Install-Guide/clover-conversion at master · dortania/OpenCore-Install-Guide · GitHub

Depending on how old the EFI you're using, you may need to adjust some things in order for Big Sur support. It also depends on which BIOS version you're on with 3201 and newer seem to be better since ASUS broke the MSR lock functionality in between. Also your previous Clover SSDT may need to be adjusted for OpenCore so that could've been an issue as well.
Thanks! I'll take a look. Both Catalina and Big Sur working with same OpenCore, BIOS on this ASUS X299-A seems to be lower than 3201 and the MSR lock is still working and everything booting fine.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
141
Motherboard
ASRock X299E-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
I did some optimisation after updating to OpenCore 0.6.5.

Big Sur (11.1) working EFI for ASRock X299E-ITX/ac with i7-7820X, Vega 56 and Apple WiFi card in the WiFi card slot on the board.

Notes:
- Platforminfo is anonymised and has to be filled with your own values
- HideAuxiliary is enabled
- simple Bootpicker with indefinite timeout
- the SMC kexts for temps and stuff are included but disabled
- TSCAdjustReset.kext has to be adjusted to the cores used on your cpu
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    2.4 MB · Views: 118
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
206
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
Has anyone with an X299 Prime Deluxe tried Bios 3301?

Thank you!
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ASUS SAGE/10G 3302 BIOS with Apple Logo Splash Screen
Released 01/15/2021

Notes from Asus
  • Fix crash free function

New Sage 10G bios after the new one below. That was unexpected. :shifty:


ASUS SAGE/10G 3301 BIOS with Apple Logo Splash Screen
Released 01/12/2021

Notes from Asus
  • Improve system performance
  • Fix SSD device compatibility


Note: With ASUS BIOS, you can save your BIOS profile on a USB Stick through the BIOS as a .CMO file and then use Bios Flashback, then restore the settings from the .CMO. One thing I noticed is sometimes with this the Above 4G doesn't get enabled so be careful as upon reboot after restoring settings you will get a black screen, and also COM Ports are never restored properly (I always have it disabled on this board). I will try to post a guide for this soon, so it makes it easier for everyone if it's interesting let me know. It's pretty easy.
 

Attachments

  • WS-X299-SAGE-10G-ASUS-3302_APPL_SPLASH.zip
    10 MB · Views: 36
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
206
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
ASUS SAGE/10G 3302 BIOS with Apple Logo Splash Screen
Released 01/15/2021

Notes from Asus
  • Fix crash free function

New Sage 10G bios after the new one below. That was unexpected. :shifty:
Would you be willing to do the Prime Deluxe Bios, please?
I LOVE the way you made the apple logo and really don't want to see the Asus search for incredible (lol) screen when I update.

Thank you in advance!
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Would you be willing to do the Prime Deluxe Bios, please?
I LOVE the way you made the apple logo and really don't want to see the Asus search for incredible (lol) screen when I update.

Thank you in advance!

Sure thing, here you go.

I could never figure out how to remove the "Press F2..." message since it seems like it's a string hidden in all the AMI bioses, or else it would be a perfect boot screen :mrgreen:

There are instructions here how to do this. It should work with Gigabyte or other brands of X299 boards, but I haven't personally tried, only did this to ASUS boards so far.
 

Attachments

  • PRIME-X299-DELUXE-ASUS-3301-APPLE_LOGO.zip
    9.8 MB · Views: 29
Joined
Sep 30, 2020
Messages
79
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
RX 6900XT
Hey everyone, just updated to the "newest" 11.2 Beta (20D5042d) today and after restarting it a couple of times, everything works still, no problems at all. The only major issue is Kensington TrackballWorks app doesn't work at all. Looks like I might have to purchase SteerMouse (for $20), if Kensington doesn't come out with a finalized update. But that won't come until Apple releases their full 11.2 version.
 
Top