Contribute
Register

Wrong Temperatures reported by iStat, etc.

Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello everyone.
I installed everything on my hackintosh about 3 weeks ago. I was amazed at how quickly I was up and running. Thank you tony and others for all that you do around here!! I am having one problem, though. The temperatures reported through iStat are (I am almost certain) wrong. When I use Windows I used BOINC, which is a scientific computing application which uses your entire processor to its max. Anyways, in Windows when I run the Prime project my core temps go up to around 72 degress C (maybe further, but I shut it off before I can find out), which is measured from CoreTemp (http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp) and other programs. With other projects in BOINC it doesn't get as hot, but still hot (65+) nonetheless. When I run the Mac version of that program and use any of the projects (or anything processor intensive, compressor, etc) the temperature never goes above 38 degrees C (in fact, the temperature is almost always in between 36-38 degrees C). I have also used Temperature Monitor (from: http://www.bresink.com/osx/TemperatureMonitor.html) in which the temperatures show the exact same that iStat has. And finally I used the MSR Tools acquired from MultiBeast. MSR Tools will not work for me, it says "Initializing" at first but then never shows anything past that except the grey background. If there is anything anyone can tell me I will be much appreciative!!

PS: What does it mean in MultiBeast by saying under the FakeSMC Plugins: Install with System Utilities Tasks. If it is something that I need to do manually, I have not done it!

Here is what I selected when I used MultiBeast:
UserDSDT Install (used DSDT-GA-H57M-USB3-F9.aml, and yes my BIOS is revision F9)
Drivers & Bootloaders > Kexts & Enablers [From Here I selected the following]:
Audio > Realtek ALC8xx > AppleHDA Rollback
Disk > IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector
Disk > JMicron 36x (AKA GSATA) > JMicron 36x ATA
Disk > JMicron 36x (AKA GSATA) > JMicron 36x eSATA
Disk > JMicron 36x (AKA GSATA) > JMictron 36x SATA
Miscellaneous > FakeSMC
Miscellaneous > FakeSMC Plugins
Miscellaneous > USB 3.0 - NEC/Renesas
Network > Lnx2Mac's RealtekRTL81xx Ethernet
Bootloaders > Chameleon 2.0 RC5 - Prerelease

Customization > Boot Options > 64-bit Apple Boot Screen
Customization > System Definitions > Mac Pro...
OSx86 Software > MSR Tools

I also changed my OpenGL so that my GPU would perform better in benchmark tests. I also have GraphicsEnabler=Yes and AtiConfig=Duckweed.

Here are my main system components:
CPU: i7-870
Cooler: THERMALTAKE CLP0552 (yes, I am in the market for a new one, so if there are any suggestions? I like smaller, non-heavy, cheaper coolers. but I will take any suggestion.)
MB: GA-H57M-USB3 (used DSDT-GA-H57M-USB3-F9.aml)
MEM: 2 x 2GB GSKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
GPU: XFX ATI HD-687A-ZDBC HD6870 1GB
3 HDD's (1 windows, 1 Mac Boot, 1 storage)
DVD Drive: Sony Optiarc AD-7260S-0B
PSU: Antec TP-750
Case: Antec Three Hundred (2 main fans)


Thanks in advance for anything you can provide, I appreciate it very much!!
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Bump.

Does anyone know what it mean in MultiBeast by saying under the FakeSMC Plugins: Install with System Utilities Tasks. If it is something that I need to do manually, I have not done it! I also just don't know what "System Utilities Tasks" are. :confused:

Also, would downloading the new MultiBeast and installing the FakeSMC Plugins (again, with System Utilities Tasks) solve my problem?

Thanks again for anyone who can help me...
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77N-NOWIFI
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770T
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
awesomginger said:
Bump.

Does anyone know what it mean in MultiBeast by saying under the FakeSMC Plugins: Install with System Utilities Tasks. If it is something that I need to do manually, I have not done it! I also just don't know what "System Utilities Tasks" are. :confused:

Also, would downloading the new MultiBeast and installing the FakeSMC Plugins (again, with System Utilities Tasks) solve my problem?

Thanks again for anyone who can help me...
You need the FakeSMC Plugins...
I you look in the edit preferences (iStat) I expect it is your HDD that you now see the temp for...

Core temps are 65 to 75 degress C and go up to around 100 degress C in my i5-760 with the stock Intel cooler in my old system when I run it hard.
In my never systems with GA-H67N-USB3-B3 and Zotac H67ITX motherboards the temps are around 35 to 45 and never goes above 50 due the fanless heatpipe cooling of chipset and CPU using a i5 2405S CPU.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well I already selected them inside MultiBeast. And there is a different section for the S.M.A.R.T monitors for my HDD's. iStat clearly labels the temps I am talking about are from the CPU cores.

Thanks for your reply!

Oblivion said:
awesomginger said:
Bump.

Does anyone know what it mean in MultiBeast by saying under the FakeSMC Plugins: Install with System Utilities Tasks. If it is something that I need to do manually, I have not done it! I also just don't know what "System Utilities Tasks" are. :confused:

Also, would downloading the new MultiBeast and installing the FakeSMC Plugins (again, with System Utilities Tasks) solve my problem?

Thanks again for anyone who can help me...
You need the FakeSMC Plugins...
I you look in the edit preferences (iStat) I expect it is your HDD that you now see the temp for...
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
OS X 10.7.4
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 580
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm having a similar problem.

I recently built a new Sandy Bridge system, basically one of the CustoMacs (which I was able to assemble and get running on Lion pretty painlessly). Everything is up and running - geek bench scores are good at stock speeds, etc.

I'm familiar with FakeSMC and its plugins, which I was using in my previous i7-870 system with accurately measured temperatures in iStat. However, on this new system, I am almost certain the temperature readings in iStat MUST be wrong...

I also use BOINC, and often leave my computer running it for long periods of time. Recently, I came back and found that iStat said my temperatures for the CPU were 97c. The CPU fan was not running very quickly, and my motherboard, which is set to sound an alarm when the temps exceed 90c, was not beeping and never has.

The only OS on this new rig is OS X 10.7, so I can't compare the temps I'm getting in OS X with what I might get in Windows.

I have a feeling the signals coming from the CPU are being interpreted incorrectly by the IntelCPUMonitor.kext file, or the base measurements are somehow wrong as a result of some assumed tjmax code in the SMBIOS for a MacPro 3,1 (which is the only smbios I can boot with on this sandy bridge system).

Any help / insight would be greatly appreciated!
 

AC3

Joined
Aug 3, 2010
Messages
178
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The inaccuracies are a known issue but there is currently no resolution.

@awesomginger: As far as the system utilities question goes, there is a checkbox in multibeast called system utilities near the top and that is what it is referring to. If you installed the FakeSMC plugins you have to check that box at the same time. I believe it deals with permissions and creating an mkext. I think you've already done this otherwise you'd have no temps at all.

-AC3
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
OS X 10.7.4
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 580
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well that's a relief! I thought I had done something wrong concerning my heatsink and that I was about to fry my new i7, even at stock speeds and voltages!

I don't suppose you might know how inaccurate the readings are? That way I can just subtract in my head say 20 degrees from the temp readings I'm seeing?

And lastly, is there any reason that the temperature alarms I'm setting in my bios might be ignored or reset while running OS X with DSDT? I ask because I tried setting my CPU temp alarm to 60c, but I've never once heard a beep or alarm of any kind from my motherboard, even when the temp readings in OS X are well above 60c. My concern is that somehow the bios settings are being invalidated by something in OS X.

Thanks!
 

AC3

Joined
Aug 3, 2010
Messages
178
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I don't think anyone knows the degree of inaccuracy otherwise it would be an easy fix. I only get to temps of 60+ when under load - are you testing your alarms under load? I've got no experience with that sort of thing so I'm not sure if OSX might somehow be overriding those alarms. Ive seen people talk about how OSX caused CMOS reset, so I think its possible. Maybe try with lower temps? 40 under load should set off alarms quickly.

-AC3
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
4
Motherboard
OS X 10.7.4
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 580
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yep - I was using Cinebench in both instances (with or without the alarms set in my BIOS).

Unfortunately, my BIOS' lowest alarm setting is 60c.

In OS X, when running Cinebench at stock speeds (3.4ghz), iStat reports temperatures that frequently go over 70c. At a mild overclock (4ghz with no voltage increase), those temps easily rise up to the high 80c to low 90c range, but never have I heard an alarm from my motherboard.

Also, if I reboot into my bios as soon as Cinebench finishes it's cpu test, the temp in my bios is usually in the mid 50s c, and then it quickly drops down to the 30s-40s.

My CPU fan speed, as reported by iStat, never goes past 2500rpm. Maybe that's the fastest it can go? It's the stock cooler than came with the i7 2600k.

For reference, this is what my temp readings are in OS X right now, not under load:

CPU 1 & 2 are always 98c. No change there, ever.
CPU A-C - 49c
CPU D - 45c
GPU Diode - 67c
GPU heatsink - 53c
Heatsink A - 42c (rarely fluctuates. Certainly doesn't seem to be the CPU heatsink, as it's temperature doesn't vary with the CPU core read outs)
Northbridge 1 - 44c
Ambient - 38c

I was under the impression that fakeSMC and its plugins simply read stuff from the system without actually controlling anything. Now, I'm not so sure. I'm just a little worried that OS X is somehow in control of my temps and fan speeds, and it's keeping them within the limits outlined for the Mac Pro 3,1, which is the smbios that I'm using.

Very peculiar!
 

AC3

Joined
Aug 3, 2010
Messages
178
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The plugins for FakeSMC read sensor outputs without manipulating anything. As far as what exactly FakeSMC does, I have no idea. I know that for the sensors to work you need to have the proper DSDT edits. If you get your DSDT from the DSDT database here, those edits should have already been made for you. The edits don't guarantee accurate reads - they just allow reading.

I'm not 100% sure but I believe there is an automatic shutdown built into the CPU/motherboard when it reaches absolutely critical temps. If you want to go the safe route while you wait, you should just use stock clocks and BIOS settings - its not as if OS X is overriding the bios specified clock speeds/multiplier.

-AC3
 
Top