Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
Core i9-10900K
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB
Hey Lads,

I'm totally new to the Hackmac/Hackintosh game and am looking for tips on configuration.

We need a powerhorse machine for professional heavy duty sound engineering, sound design and hybrid A/D mixing and mastering for our studio.

I was thinking of the following setup:

MB - Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU - Core i9-10900K
Cooling - Corsair H60 (Water)
RAM - Crucial Ballistix 2666 (32GB)
Drives - 4x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
PSU - Corsair RM 650x Watt
Acc. - StarTech.com 3 Port 800+400 FireWire PCIe
Fenvi T919 Wifi/BT 4.0 PCIe (Optional)
Case - Corsair Corsair Carbide Series 275R
Graphics - Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB

Question 1) Is there a better suited Motherboard for audio application?

Question 2) Do I need even need a seperate GPU for that CPU setup if I only use the system for audio applications?

Question 3) Any recommendations for a system wide quieter cooling?

Cheers

Hi mate,

I built a hack system for a studio 8 months ago based on the same CPU and motherboard. It's very stable with that motherboard/CPU combo and has been performing great for audio ever since.
SchmokLord's Github is a great starting point for you EFI and configs for this motherboard/CPU combo.

As the system would live in the control room, it had to be as silent as possible, so we went with a be Quiet Case (the 801/802 series), all Noctua fans for the cooler and case, overkill on the cooler (Corsair H150i series triple 120mm, with 6 Noctua fans, setup as intake on the top of the case in a Push/Pull config) and also overkill on the PSU (Corsair RM850 Watts).