Contribute
Register

[WORKING] i7-2700k OC SSDT

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
109
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 Mountain Lion
CPU
i7 4,8 OC'd
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 HD
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I installed the i7 OC SSDT from MultiBeast 4.5.1 and it is in my s/l/e but i dont understand, even after reading macman's explanation. I have my machin OC'd to 4.9 or 49 in the turbo. I am stuck at x16 after 10.7.4 and i7 OC SSDT. If i add dropSSDT to plist and delete SSDT i get 16 and 49 only. I have an asus P8Z68-V Pro/GEN3. Before 10.7.4 i got full p-states/c-states.

Can anyone please explain a little further how to achieve this using the i7 OC SSDT. Thank you and i apologize in advance for any ignorance, it wasn't intentional :)

UPDATE: Okay i got it. I have my machine (watercooled) OC'd to a 4.9 using a per core all set to 49. i attached my SSDT that goes from 16 up to 49. I dont know if this is the best method but it works and my temps and scores are great. Thanks

After finding a hexadecimal to decimal calculator it was fairly simple to figure out.

Geekbench score is: 17448
CineBench R11 - CPU of 9.50 pts and OpenGL of 65.99 fps

UPDATE AGAIN after some testing i lowered my per cores down to 48. It is more stable. Even though my SSDT still goes up to 49, it really wont go up to that since i have told it not to. i am going to remove th49 and re-test to see if it makes a difference.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT.zip
    1.1 KB · Views: 345
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
155
Motherboard
GA-H170-WIFI
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
draken182 said:
I installed the i7 OC SSDT from MultiBeast 4.5.1 and it is in my s/l/e but i dont understand, even after reading macman's explanation. I have my machin OC'd to 4.9 or 49 in the turbo. I am stuck at x16 after 10.7.4 and i7 OC SSDT. If i add dropSSDT to plist and delete SSDT i get 16 and 49 only. I have an asus P8Z68-V Pro/GEN3. Before 10.7.4 i got full p-states/c-states.

Can anyone please explain a little further how to achieve this using the i7 OC SSDT. Thank you and i apologize in advance for any ignorance, it wasn't intentional :)

UPDATE: Okay i got it. I have my machine (watercooled) OC'd to a 4.9 using a per core all set to 49. i attached my SSDT that goes from 16 up to 49. I dont know if this is the best method but it works and my temps and scores are great. Thanks

After finding a hexadecimal to decimal calculator it was fairly simple to figure out.

Geekbench score is: 17448
CineBench R11 - CPU of 9.50 pts and OpenGL of 65.99 fps

UPDATE AGAIN after some testing i lowered my per cores down to 48. It is more stable. Even though my SSDT still goes up to 49, it really wont go up to that since i have told it not to. i am going to remove th49 and re-test to see if it makes a difference.

Have you run MSRDumper? How many active PStates are used when OC'ing per core?

I have mine OC'd to 4.6GHz, and I get only 1.6 and 4.6, nothing in between. Even though the Chameleon bootlog shows 31 PStates found.

Adam
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
109
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 Mountain Lion
CPU
i7 4,8 OC'd
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 HD
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
for some reason it is only showing 17 and 48 in the MSRDumper.kext log. Any idea why that might be happening? Should i try setting my cores to 48, 47,46, 45? instead of all 48.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
365
CPU
i7 2600K @ 4.8ghz
Graphics
560 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
draken182 said:
for some reason it is only showing 17 and 48 in the MSRDumper.kext log. Any idea why that might be happening? Should i try setting my cores to 48, 47,46, 45? instead of all 48.

Should be fine at all 48. I'm running at that with my custom loop with no issue.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
155
Motherboard
GA-H170-WIFI
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
draken182 said:
for some reason it is only showing 17 and 48 in the MSRDumper.kext log. Any idea why that might be happening? Should i try setting my cores to 48, 47,46, 45? instead of all 48.

Same thing is happening to me, 16 and 46.

I'm using the iMAC 12,2 smbios. I tried the Macmini 5,1 but KP'd.

I might try the Mac Pro.

[EDIT] See my other post...

viewtopic.php?f=295&t=61318&p=382823#p382823

With some great suggestions, I'm getting 16, 29, 36, 42, 44, 46 by switching my SMBios to a Macmini5,3
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
109
Motherboard
Mac Pro 3,1 Mountain Lion
CPU
i7 4,8 OC'd
Graphics
GeForce GTX 570 HD
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
philz said:
Should be fine at all 48. I'm running at that with my custom loop with no issue.


Do you know why it is only showing 17 and 48 only in MSRDumper?
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
365
CPU
i7 2600K @ 4.8ghz
Graphics
560 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
draken182 said:
philz said:
Should be fine at all 48. I'm running at that with my custom loop with no issue.


Do you know why it is only showing 17 and 48 only in MSRDumper?

Again it shows all of them for me, try macmini5,3 Smbios. Otherwise there must be something that is causing some issue, null, speedsteper, etc.

EDIT:
By all of them, 6 P-States spread out evenly. With no "hang" due to not enough P-States that you could have happen in 10.7.3
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
155
Motherboard
GA-H170-WIFI
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
philz said:
draken182 said:
philz said:
Should be fine at all 48. I'm running at that with my custom loop with no issue.


Do you know why it is only showing 17 and 48 only in MSRDumper?

Again it shows all of them for me, try macmini5,3 Smbios. Otherwise there must be something that is causing some issue, null, speedsteper, etc.

EDIT:
By all of them, 6 P-States spread out evenly. With no "hang" due to not enough P-States that you could have happen in 10.7.3

I also got macmini5,1 to work after doing a couple of reboots... no issues now, getting 6 PStates. 16 29 36 42 44 and 46
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
365
CPU
i7 2600K @ 4.8ghz
Graphics
560 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Adam1203 said:
I also got macmini5,1 to work after doing a couple of reboots... no issues now, getting 6 PStates. 16 29 36 42 44 and 46

The iMac has strange results for some people–it's to be expected really it's a glorfied All in one. The Macmini has the least amount of GPU special stuff in the new kexts of 10.7.4, not to mention 5,3 is the only one that has hyper-threading standard. So if you have an i5 I suggest 5,1 if you have an i7 I suggest 5,3

Glad to see it's working for you!
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
CPU
Intel 2600k
Graphics
GTX480
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks for the SSDT draken!
Just want to confirm that the ssdt also works with a 2600k using the latest bios for the p8z68-v pro/gen3 (3304) :)

mac pro 3,1 smbios
MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 17 18 19 20 21 48

Mac mini 5,3 smbios (thanks Adam1203)
MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 17 30 38 47 48

Looks like the mac mini smbios is the one to use if you want a wider range of pstates.

Tested using the latest bios for the p8z68-v pro/gen3 (3304)

geekbench @ 4.8ghz (1.385v)
Screen Shot 2012-05-22 at 10.49.44 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2012-05-22 at 10.49.44 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-05-22 at 10.49.44 PM.png
    24.6 KB · Views: 634
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top