Register

Wood case

Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-7700k
Graphics
GTX 960
Hi everyone, I've been using my Hack for work for ~3 yrs now, but my wife encouraged me finally (and I quote): "go get your s*** online." So here's the build!

Big thanks to the community here for all that you do. Without the build guides and forums here, I never would have been able to get the machine running in the first place.

“Compline” is my wooden PC case design. The case is genuine maple hardwood (no veneer or fiberboard here). The lighting elements are ⅜” (10mm) acrylic, edge-lit with LEDs. It all fits to the ATX form factor spec, so I can swap out hardware in the future.

I used a table saw, sliding compound miter saw, router, and wood glue to make the wooden parts. I loved the grain and color of the maple so much that I left it in its natural color, and just used polyurethane to protect it. The obvious exception is the outer corner, which is stained maple.

Some seamless photos for my webpage. (I couldn’t help it. I’m in the video & photo industry - see below for backstory).

I made the frame from aluminum extrusion. I absolutely love the color and texture and smooth lines of extrusion, and I’m so pleased I got to use it in the design.

The panel slides on a linear rail driven by a small servo, which is governed by a simple Arduino board and switch.

My personal rig in the case

I experimented with a lot of internal configurations in this first model. In this one I made the drive cage from aluminum bar and home-poured silicone caulking (for vibration isolation), but in future iterations of the design, I think for simplicity’s sake I’ll go with pre-built drive cages and vibration dampeners.

I learned a lot from working on the physical design, so I picked up CAD (Fusion 360) to help me finalize the next iteration.

I’m making the internal assembly totally removable, so you can pull the computer out of the case to make hardware changes, and drop it back in when you’re done.