Contribute
Register

[WIP-Guide] XPS 9570 Hackintosh Guide

Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9570
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, LC, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE, SE/30
I've been reading this thread for the past couple weeks getting ready to dual boot my xps 15 and am almost ready to buy the things I need for it. But the dw1830 wifi card has 3 antennas and am wondering what people here did for it, if everyone just got a spare antenna or just ran it with 2 antennas. if you ran it with 2 antennas what 2 ports give the best result. thank you in advance
I bought the DW1830 but can't get it work on windows, no way to install the drivers - seems to be bios restricted.
Anyone been able here to use, enable the thunerbolt port?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570
CPU
i9-8950HK/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've been reading this thread for the past couple weeks getting ready to dual boot my xps 15 and am almost ready to buy the things I need for it. But the dw1830 wifi card has 3 antennas and am wondering what people here did for it, if everyone just got a spare antenna or just ran it with 2 antennas. if you ran it with 2 antennas what 2 ports give the best result. thank you in advance
You'll want to connect J0 to the white cable, J1 to the black cable, and J2 is optional for a 3rd aux antenna. See readme for more details: https://github.com/bavariancake/XPS9570-macOS
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570
CPU
i9-8950HK/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I bought the DW1830 but can't get it work on windows, no way to install the drivers - seems to be bios restricted.
Anyone been able here to use, enable the thunerbolt port?
You shouldn't need drivers for the DW1830 in Windows. Does it show up in device manager? What about Linux (e.g. live USB stick)?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9570
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, LC, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE, SE/30
You shouldn't need drivers for the DW1830 in Windows. Does it show up in device manager? What about Linux (e.g. live USB stick)?
Can't check now since I installed again the killer wifi. Windows said unknown device, installing dw1830 drivers failed.
I've read somewere that It's bios related restriction, like ram limitation to cl > 17or 18 .
Erratum: I've put the DW1830 back into the dell, booted in windows and no error messages. Just worked. So you're right no need to install drivers. Thanks bavariancake.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 - 1.7.0 - Clover UEFI
CPU
i7-8750HQ
Graphics
GTX 1050ti / UHD630 1920x1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS


Have you succeeded? Many brothers in this post have already used it properly.
I figured out the issue was my dell dw1820A wifi card. I replaced it with the dw 1830 and it booted successfully. I also tested my dw 1560 and I can say that card works as well.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
62
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9 7900x
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mobile Phone
iOS
I figured out the issue was my dell dw1820A wifi card. I replaced it with the dw 1830 and it booted successfully. I also tested my dw 1560 and I can say that card works as well.
I have used DW1830 and DW1560, they are all normal, 1820A also has a card, no equipment need to be refitted or tested, the original idea is to use 94306 with adapter card, now DW1830 is very stable in use, in the Mac system is a good card, about DW1820A estimates need a certain set to normal use.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
62
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9 7900x
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mobile Phone
iOS
I figured out the issue was my dell dw1820A wifi card. I replaced it with the dw 1830 and it booted successfully. I also tested my dw 1560 and I can say that card works as well.
Dw1820A looks at device ID under win and modifies FakeSMC.kext/Contents/Info.plist

The two values are hexadecimal, converted to decimal, and then written to the idProduct and idVendor of Info.plist.

IdProduct is the product ID above, 0x6412 - 25618
IdVendor is the following vendor ID, 0x0a5c - 2652

FakeSMC.kext/Contents/Info.plist,IOKitPersonalities,Add child nodes, as before and after
  1. <dict>
  2. <key>Broadcom</key>
  3. <dict>
  4. <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
  5. <string>com.apple.iokit.BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport</string>
  6. <key>IOClass</key>
  7. <string>BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport</string>
  8. <key>IOProviderClass</key>
  9. <string>IOUSBHostDevice</string>
  10. <key>idProduct</key>
  11. <integer>25618</integer>
  12. <key>idVendor</key>
  13. <integer>2652</integer>
  14. </dict>
Incidentally, I enclose FakeSMC. kext for your modified DW1820A.
If your 1820 A device ID number is the same as mine, you can use it directly. If not, you can modify your own device according to what I said.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
dell xps 15 9570
CPU
i7 8750H
Graphics
nvidia gtx 1050 ti
so I just got everything together and got a successful usb boot of clover but now that I'm trying to install the os it's not finding the partition I made on my ssd for my hackintosh os so i'm currently stuck there. I've tried formatting the hackintosh partition in xfat 4k sectors and saw someone say that the partition needs to be infront of the windows partition so moved them around but it still isn't showing up. am I doing something wrong?
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9570
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iBook, LC, Power Mac, PowerBook, SE, SE/30
I didn't put the exfat partition upfront and it worked.
  • Did you change to AHCI in BIOS? RAID won't work.
  • GUID partition table?
  • Still using original Toshiba SSD? I replaced with EVO 970 which works fine, Toshiba too but a bit slower.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
dell xps 15 9570
CPU
i7 8750H
Graphics
nvidia gtx 1050 ti
thank you! I just had to change to AHCI and it picked up my ssd and hdd just completed everything and it seems to be working wonderfully! I replaced my toshiba with an HP EX920 and it works beautifully.
 
Top