Contribute
Register

[WIP-Guide] HP ENVY x360 13-y013cl - i7-7500U Kaby Lake

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,997
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am attempting to install 10.11.6 on my HP 13-y013cl. I am struggling with the NVME drive as it is not detected in Disk Utility after booting off of the install USB. I have generated the correct HackrNVMeFamily kext using RehabMan's method, as well as created the SSDT_NVMe-Pcc.aml file. I also have _DSM to XDSM replacement setup in the config.plist. I removed all references to the IONVMeFamily.kext patches in the config.plist. I do not know what else to try.

The NVME drive is a Samsung MZVLV256HCHP-000H1.

Please let me know if any of you have any suggestions. Thank you for your time.

Hi

I have the same nvme on my 2017 15" HP Spectre X360 and had a similar issue .... a few suggestions :-

Firstly why are you using 10.11.6 ? .. suggest you use 10.12.6 as your kaby lake CPU & GPU are natively supported ... to use 10.11.X you will have to spoof the CPU & GPU .. see the guides elsewhere on this site for more info on spoofing KBL as SKL.

Have you patched your DSDT ?

Try adding NvmExpressDxe-64.efi to /EFI/Clover/drives64UEFI .... its in the Clover install bundle .. normally only installable when using legacy (mbr) install but if you use pacifist you can extract it manually ... i was unable to use nvme without it.

The clover IONVMeFamily kext patches are basically the same thing as rehabmans HackrNVMeFamily .... his script applies all of the patches to the apple kext and saves it as HackrNVMeFamily... use one method or the other but not both.

Be sure to use the class-code spoof SSDT so that HackrNVMeFamily can co-exist with the apple kext ..

When trying to install osx the first time to a new laptop i always install to a usb SSD (or HDD) ... get that booting first and debug the osx install ... once running correctly use carbon copy cloner to clone the build onto a partition on your nvme.

Good Luck
Jay
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am attempting to install 10.11.6 on my HP 13-y013cl. I am struggling with the NVME drive as it is not detected in Disk Utility after booting off of the install USB. I have generated the correct HackrNVMeFamily kext using RehabMan's method, as well as created the SSDT_NVMe-Pcc.aml file. I also have _DSM to XDSM replacement setup in the config.plist. I removed all references to the IONVMeFamily.kext patches in the config.plist. I do not know what else to try.

The NVME drive is a Samsung MZVLV256HCHP-000H1.

Please let me know if any of you have any suggestions. Thank you for your time.

Read guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...h-ionvmefamily-using-class-code-spoof.210316/

Attach "Problem Reporting" files as per guide.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP 13-Y013CL Laptop / Clover Legacy
CPU
Intel i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620 / 3200 x 1800
Firstly why are you using 10.11.6 ? .. suggest you use 10.12.6 as your kaby lake CPU & GPU are natively supported ... to use 10.11.X you will have to spoof the CPU & GPU .. see the guides elsewhere on this site for more info on spoofing KBL as SKL.

Thank you for the reply.
I am running 10.11.6 on my 2009 MacBook Pro and cannot upgrade to Sierra due to the hardware limitations. If there is a way to get the App Store to download Sierra, even though I cannot install it on said MacBook, I can go that route but I haven't found a way.

Have you patched your DSDT ?
No. Will do now.
Try adding NvmExpressDxe-64.efi to /EFI/Clover/drives64UEFI .... its in the Clover install bundle .. normally only installable when using legacy (mbr) install but if you use pacifist you can extract it manually ... i was unable to use nvme without it.
I am booting in legacy mode in order to circumvent the KP on boot issues some have had in this thread. I will try this suggestion now.
Be sure to use the class-code spoof SSDT so that HackrNVMeFamily can co-exist with the apple kext ..
I am doing this.
When trying to install osx the first time to a new laptop i always install to a usb SSD (or HDD) ... get that booting first and debug the osx install ... once running correctly use carbon copy cloner to clone the build onto a partition on your nvme.
I will attempt this. Thank you for the tip!
Thanks for the help. I will get back to you after I have implemented your suggestions.

Will do asap. Thank you for the response.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP 13-Y013CL Laptop / Clover Legacy
CPU
Intel i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620 / 3200 x 1800

Attachments

  • EFIZip.zip
    4.1 MB · Views: 95
  • ACPI_Namespace_Path.jpg
    ACPI_Namespace_Path.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 97

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,997
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am booting in legacy mode in order to circumvent the KP on boot issues some have had in this thread.

I was initially booting using legacy mode until i disassembled the BIOS and found that it treats clover as a HP post boot utility and enables the touch screen interface which is what causes the KP .. see post #80

The only way around the issue and boot in UEFI mode on 2017 HP Spectre and Envy laptops is to use the linux preloader.efi method which works very well - see post #124.

However if you decide to switch to the preloader method and you have installed clover in legacy mode you must remove clovers mbr boot sector helper, the only way to do that is to boot your windows installer, use the repair options to get to the command line and then use the following commands :-

Code:
bootrec /FixMbr
bootrec /FixBoot
bootrec /ScanOs
bootrec /RebuildBcd

This will reset the boot sector and remove clovers SS0 boot sector helper .. you can then install clover for UEFI booting and implement the preloader method ..

Cheers
Jay
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,497
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Attached. Thank you.

You should not expect your setup to work.
SortedOrder refers to SSDT-NVMe-Pcc.aml, but you have ACPI/patched/SSDT_NVMe-Pcc.aml.

Hint: Examine the name of the file carefully.
 
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
21
Motherboard
Dell XPS 9360 - 2017 (Clover)
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
HD 620, 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook
Make sure you haven't swapped an underscore character with a dash. Spent days figuring out why my NVMe wouldn't work, only to realize filenames matter. In case this helps.

EDIT: Yep, didn't see Rehabman's post; he beat me to it. Same issue I had. Doh!
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP 13-Y013CL Laptop / Clover Legacy
CPU
Intel i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620 / 3200 x 1800
I was initially booting using legacy mode until i disassembled the BIOS and found that it treats clover as a HP post boot utility and enables the touch screen interface which is what causes the KP .. see post #80

The only way around the issue and boot in UEFI mode on 2017 HP Spectre and Envy laptops is to use the linux preloader.efi method which works very well - see post #124.

However if you decide to switch to the preloader method and you have installed clover in legacy mode you must remove clovers mbr boot sector helper, the only way to do that is to boot your windows installer, use the repair options to get to the command line and then use the following commands :-

Code:
bootrec /FixMbr
bootrec /FixBoot
bootrec /ScanOs
bootrec /RebuildBcd

This will reset the boot sector and remove clovers SS0 boot sector helper .. you can then install clover for UEFI booting and implement the preloader method ..

Cheers
Jay

Thank you for the clarity. I have switched to UEFI mode and Sierra. Since doing so, I have spent considerable time focussing on RehabMan's guides and I have successfully booted to installation after patching my DSDT and including SSDTs, proper kexts, etc. After installation, I will take your advice regarding the linux preloader.efi. Thank you for the help!

You should not expect your setup to work.
SortedOrder refers to SSDT-NVMe-Pcc.aml, but you have ACPI/patched/SSDT_NVMe-Pcc.aml.

Hint: Examine the name of the file carefully.

Thank you for pointing this out. As I stated above, I have started over with Sierra instead of El Capitan. I have spent considerable time with many of your guides, and I can't thank you enough. I have patched my DSDT, added SSDTs to the patched directory and used various kext files per your suggestions. At this moment, I am successfully booting to install and I can see my NVMe drive. I used Pike R's IONVMeFamily patches in order to get my VNMe drive to show up. The reason I used his patches instead of your method is due to the fact that my Macbook Pro is only capable of running El Capitan and, as your guide regarding the HackrNVMeFamily and class-code spoof clearly states, the host in which I create the SSDT-NVMe-Pcc.aml and HackrNVMeFamily*.kext files on must be running the same release of Mac OS as the destination device. At this point, I will be installing and asking further questions, but I wanted to update those who have assisted me and thank them. I appreciate the support and hope to pay it forward in the forums.

Kindly,
Blyssed
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP 13-Y013CL Laptop / Clover Legacy
CPU
Intel i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620 / 3200 x 1800
Firstly why are you using 10.11.6 ? .. suggest you use 10.12.6 as your kaby lake CPU & GPU are natively supported ... to use 10.11.X you will have to spoof the CPU & GPU .. see the guides elsewhere on this site for more info on spoofing KBL as SKL.
I switched to Sierra, but I am still needing to spoof KBL as SKL. If I don't, I do not reach the installer and only see a series of plus signs (+) displayed in verbose mode. Any suggestions as to why this is happening? If I spoof, everything works fine, but I suspect this will cause CPU frequency issues post installation. I have attached some troubleshooting files.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 80
  • Freezing_Without_CPU_Spoof.jpg
    Freezing_Without_CPU_Spoof.jpg
    6.3 MB · Views: 79

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,997
Motherboard
GB Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9 10850K OC @ 5.2 GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 LC + HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Should be no reason why you cant get it booting with native kaby lake support, from your screen shot it looks like the OSX boot is failing very early .. so i would guess its an issue with your dsdt or clover config ....

Suggestions ...

Your SSDT's are incomplete ... forget about manually patching the SSDT's (remove all of them from patched) set drop OEM = false
Perform all renames in Clover (you have some conflicts) and use minimal patching on your DSDT (check clover boot log to see they are being applied to dsdt and ssdt's)
Use the ssdt hotpatch method to inject LPC, disable GPU ... etc (see rehabman hotpatch git repo)
Use latest Clover i'm using r4200
Make sure to use current FakeSMC
you got a bunch of unneeded kexts in EFI/Clover/Kexts ...only put FakeSMC & HackrNVMeFamily Kext's in Clovers Kexts/Other Folder .. install all other kexts in /S/L/E
Ensure you remove all traces of SKL cpu & gpu spoofing ... and just set Fake GPU & APPL,ig-platform-id (see post #139)
Make sure your using a SMBIOS that supports kaby lake .. i'm using MacBookPro14,2

Best way to work on these type of issues is to keep your existing config.plist as is and copy it to config-kbl.plist then work on getting that config to work, you can select which plist to boot with in the clover menu ... goto Settings/Configs ... that way you can test the new config .. if it does not work just boot with the default and make more changes ....

Keep chipping away at it and you'll get there ....

Jay
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top