Contribute
Register

WindowServer Service only ran for 0 seconds

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
19
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth z97 Mk2/3.1usb
CPU
I7-4790k
Graphics
nvidia gtx 960 sc
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
For what it's worth, physically removing the discrete graphics card, forcing the MOBO GPU in BIOS, and disabling the nvidia drivers in clover command line allowed the installation for me. This then allowed me to install the nvidia web drivers (I got an error message on install but ignored it). Then plugged the graphics card back, disabled the mobo GPU, and allowed it to boot normally. It worked.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
17
Motherboard
GA-Z68AP-D3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
For what it's worth, physically removing the discrete graphics card, forcing the MOBO GPU in BIOS, and disabling the nvidia drivers in clover command line allowed the installation for me. This then allowed me to install the nvidia web drivers (I got an error message on install but ignored it). Then plugged the graphics card back, disabled the mobo GPU, and allowed it to boot normally. It worked.

Was physically removing the GPU necessary to get past the install or did you just do that to troubleshoot? Would it not work with the GPU plugged in but the HDMI cable plugged into the iGPU and relevant BIOS settings changed?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2014
Messages
117
Motherboard
Z97MX-Gaming-5
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. iMac
WindowServer uses library validation now, and it won't load with kext modifications present, including Lilu, it's why all the nvidia graphics users need https://github.com/mologie/NVWebDriverLibValFix

If that doesn't work can try the more aggressive https://github.com/mologie/macos-disable-library-validation maybe but that could have some very neg side effects too. no idea how windowserver would react to that.

Thanks for the solution, one thing I don't understand is why not everyone with Nvidia cards is getting this error ? And what's more, it happens sometimes on GPUs that were supported oob by macOS o_O
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
17
Motherboard
GA-Z68AP-D3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Was physically removing the GPU necessary to get past the install or did you just do that to troubleshoot? Would it not work with the GPU plugged in but the HDMI cable plugged into the iGPU and relevant BIOS settings changed?

To answer my own question: Yes, it is necessary to physically remove the GPU to get past the WindowServer error. I'm currently installing, hopefully it works.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,624
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To answer my own question: Yes, it is necessary to physically remove the GPU to get past the WindowServer error. I'm currently installing, hopefully it works.

You *can* fix this with other methods (eg. not removing the device), but it involves some injection techniques that are not commonly known (config.plist/Devices/AddProperties)

See here for clues:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-only-ran-for-0-seconds-with-dual-gpu.233092/
Especially here:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-on-haswell-intel-4600hd.231800/#post-1582114
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
17
Motherboard
GA-Z68AP-D3
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You *can* fix this with other methods (eg. not removing the device), but it involves some injection techniques that are not commonly known (config.plist/Devices/AddProperties)

See here for clues:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-only-ran-for-0-seconds-with-dual-gpu.233092/
Especially here:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...-on-haswell-intel-4600hd.231800/#post-1582114

I like keeping my config.plist as clean as possible and not fiddling with it much, so I was more than happy to temporarily remove my GPU to get the upgrade process working.

Just reporting in to anyone with the same issue: after removing the GPU and booting back into the Install partition from Clover w/ my Intel iGPU, I was able to get past the WindowServer error and complete the installation of High Sierra. I then continued on into my newly updated 10.13 install, installed the updated Nvidia drivers for 10.13 and then reinstalled my GPU onto the motherboard. It's running along just fine now.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming K6
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 4.2 GHz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
I like keeping my config.plist as clean as possible and not fiddling with it much, so I was more than happy to temporarily remove my GPU to get the upgrade process working.

Just reporting in to anyone with the same issue: after removing the GPU and booting back into the Install partition from Clover w/ my Intel iGPU, I was able to get past the WindowServer error and complete the installation of High Sierra. I then continued on into my newly updated 10.13 install, installed the updated Nvidia drivers for 10.13 and then reinstalled my GPU onto the motherboard. It's running along just fine now.

I also just want to report physically removing NVidia card (GTX-1070) works to get pass the installation. Though, I had my own challenges with ACPI->DSDT's. I initially disabled all renamings, and after passing by the WindowServer and installation, I failed to boot. I mounted the Nvidia again, and enabled GFX0 to IGPU rename, also didn't load FakeSMC.kext this time, and it booted.

Then, the usual update of the NVidiaWeb and CUDA.
Everything works now, audio, facetime, all the works

Thanks for your time and effort, everybody!
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2014
Messages
117
Motherboard
Z97MX-Gaming-5
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. iMac
I also just want to report physically removing NVidia card (GTX-1070) works to get pass the installation
.

Did you just disconnect the power plug from the card or did you have to go as far as disconnecting the card from the motherboard ? I'd like to avoid tearing all my stuff apart if possible =D
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2017
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming K6
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 4.2 GHz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 1070
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
.

Did you just disconnect the power plug from the card or did you have to go as far as disconnecting the card from the motherboard ? I'd like to avoid tearing all my stuff apart if possible =D
Of course, I tried to only disconnect the power from the card, but it didn't work. Apparently, the BIOS still reports the card, because I could still see it in my browser from the BIOS. You need to physically remove the card from the slot, or if your BIOS allows it, disable it, so it is not seen from the BIOS. I know, this is a pain with this GTX 10x series, but it will work. Once you get pass the installation, you can install it back in for the initial boot, that I had minor problems with. I put that in my post.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2014
Messages
117
Motherboard
Z97MX-Gaming-5
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. iMac
Thanks for the confirmation, that's what I feared. Might as well think about upgrading my GPU since I need to open the beast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top