Contribute
Register

Windows thunderbolt activation doesn't survive restart

Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
226
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
CPU
8700K
Graphics
AMD Fury X/Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Another Thunderbolt issue. I use an Asrock thunderbolt 2 AIC with my Asrock Z97 Extreme 6. I activated thunderbolt using Windows and the system has been able to use the thunderbolt connection. I always had to boot with devices powered up and connected, but my thunderbolt display's camera, ethernet, USB, and firewire all worked properly over thunderbolt.

After upgrading to Sierra, thunderbolt became more problematic. The only way I can get thunderbolt to work now is to boot into windows first, then reboot into OSX Sierra. If my hackintosh is powered down, I have to again boot into Windows first, then reboot into Sierra.

Luckily, the graphics passthrough still works consistently.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
This happens to me too. I am using a gigabyte z170x-UD5 TH.
I just built my hackintosh and did a clean install with Sierra.

Does anybody not have this problem with Sierra?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
226
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
CPU
8700K
Graphics
AMD Fury X/Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the response. I was beginning to think that I might have a motherboard problem. Now it looks like it might be a Sierra problem.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
You didn't have any problems prior to the sierra update? What os were you using before?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
226
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
CPU
8700K
Graphics
AMD Fury X/Intel UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was using El Capitan
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Thanks, I'm gonna wipe the drive and just install El Capitan then.

I'm not sure that enough people are using Sierra with thunderbolt yet? Maybe in time when enough people start realizing this is a problem something will be figured out.

Good luck!
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I have this problem using a different mobo. TB survives restart, but not shut down from OSX. See my thread in this forum for the behavior.
I have the same problem, the only way I can get Sierra to detect a Thunderbolt device is by booting into Windows first and then rebooting into Sierra. There's no way I can get OSX to detect any Thunderbolt device from a cold boot.

My Setup:

Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
i7 6700K
ThunderboltEXII/Dual

Let's try and help each other with this because at this point I'm getting pretty frustrated :(
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A/USB 3.1
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790 Processor
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GT 640
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have the same problem, the only way I can get Sierra to detect a Thunderbolt device is by booting into Windows first and then rebooting into Sierra. There's no way I can get OSX to detect any Thunderbolt device from a cold boot.

My Setup:

Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
i7 6700K
ThunderboltEXII/Dual

Let's try and help each other with this because at this point I'm getting pretty frustrated :(
I had to give up. I was at it for weeks to no avail and had to move on with my life. Super frustrated.

I ended up getting an ASUS Z97A/USB 3.1 with the Thunderbolt EXII add-in card and I've got it working flawlessly in Sierra as everybody has described. I suspect it's the BIOS of the Gigabyte board that is not allowing OSX to retain its PCI assignments (or something). There's probably a way to inject and patch for the PCI stuff, but it was too over my head. If an answer comes along, I'd happily switch back, but now I've got my Hack Pro and Apollo Quad going on this ASUS board and it is killer.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I had to give up. I was at it for weeks to no avail and had to move on with my life. Super frustrated.

I ended up getting an ASUS Z97A/USB 3.1 with the Thunderbolt EXII add-in card and I've got it working flawlessly in Sierra as everybody has described. I suspect it's the BIOS of the Gigabyte board that is not allowing OSX to retain its PCI assignments (or something). There's probably a way to inject and patch for the PCI stuff, but it was too over my head. If an answer comes along, I'd happily switch back, but now I've got my Hack Pro and Apollo Quad going on this ASUS board and it is killer.
That doesn't make me very hopeful that it will work. I'm on an Asus board so I thought that would help but it doesn't look like it.

The card even shows up on DPCIManager but connected devices don't show up unless the computer was booted into Windows first.

Do you have any idea where I could find more info? I'm really losing all hope.
 
Top