Contribute
Register

Solved > Windows Partition unavailable after Catalina Update

Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi,

I recently updated my Hackintosh from El Capitan to Catalina. Mac OS runs fine but my partition of Windows is not bootable anymore.

I have Windows installed on a separate SD (Samsung Evo). I can still see the partition i.e. in Disk Utility (see the screenshot). The partition lost its name and is not available during the boot process. Disk Utility shows the 'Owner' of the disk as 'Disabled' whereas my working disk with Mac OS on it shows the Owner as Enabled. Maybe that has something to do with it.

In the Clover Configurator the Windows Partition (disk1) is still visible but not bootable (see screenshot).

Thanks in advance!
 

Attachments

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
22,828
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Moved to Multi Booting.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,025
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Going Bald Can you tell me how to do this? I cannot run an .exe File on Mac OS, do I?
Hi there.

Ignoring Clover for a moment, can you press F12 at the BIOS menu and select "Windows Boot Manager" to get into Windows ?

:)
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,307
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
@Going Bald Can you tell me how to do this? I cannot run an .exe File on Mac OS, do I?
In windows, press the WinKey (windows flag) + the R key and type msinfo32 into the box that opens. The regular search box works too.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
In windows, press the WinKey (windows flag) + the R key and type msinfo32 into the box that opens. The regular search box works too.
@trs96 Thanks for the info but I cannot boot Windows. I can only boot Mac OS. The point where I can start the command line tool is not reachable for me at the moment.


Hi there.

Ignoring Clover for a moment, can you press F12 at the BIOS menu and select "Windows Boot Manager" to get into Windows ?

:)
@UtterDisbelief A very good suggestion indeed. I can see the Windows Partition in the BIOS. I selected it but then UEFI booted and there I could only choose Mac OS again :/ I tried it 3 times and I also tried every other boot option in the BIOS.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
4,025
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@trs96 Thanks for the info but I cannot boot Windows. I can only boot Mac OS. The point where I can start the command line tool is not reachable for me at the moment.



@UtterDisbelief A very good suggestion indeed. I can see the Windows Partition in the BIOS. I selected it but then UEFI booted and there I could only choose Mac OS again :/ I tried it 3 times and I also tried every other boot option in the BIOS.
Hmmmm. Okay. I think the problem is not helped because there are so many EFI folders in your system. Can't be helped, I know, as all OSs are on separate drives.

If Windows was installed in UEFI mode ... Firstly, identify the disks using Disk Util (as you have done already) Use EFI Mounter V3.1 (from our site) to mount the Windows drive. In its EFI partition should be a folder called "Microsoft" and in there are the boot files.

If you can't find one then that is why the drive is not booting.

Check the other drives in case it got moved.

:)
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,994
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
@EmanuelTheDude
Can you boot the Win10 installer USB/DVD?
If you can, do so, and instead of clicking the install button select from lower left corner repair button and follow screen prompts.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hmmmm. Okay. I think the problem is not helped because there are so many EFI folders in your system. Can't be helped, I know, as all OSs are on separate drives.

If Windows was installed in UEFI mode ... Firstly, identify the disks using Disk Util (as you have done already) Use EFI Mounter V3.1 (from our site) to mount the Windows drive. In its EFI partition should be a folder called "Microsoft" and in there are the boot files.

If you can't find one then that is why the drive is not booting.

Check the other drives in case it got moved.

:)
@UtterDisbelief I used the EFI Mounter v3.1 and mounted all disks but there is no "Microsoft" folder. Not in the root folder nor in one of the subfolders. Is it possible to get this folder from someone in the forum or does that technically not work?
 
Top