Contribute
Register

Windows 10

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
440
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i7-2720QM
Graphics
HD 3000
Hi guys, I have Yosemite and Windows 7 in my 4530s. The question is: should I let windows do the update? Is everything going to be OK? Or maybe my 4530s will boot directly into windows skipping Clover? Any advice is wellcome.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Messages
439
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys, I have Yosemite and Windows 7 in my 4530s. The question is: should I let windows do the update? Is everything going to be OK? Or maybe my 4530s will boot directly into windows skipping Clover? Any advice is wellcome.

I had Yosemite and Windows 8.1 on two partitions on a single SSD on my 4530s using Clover. I successfully (and easily) upgraded to Windows 10 today without affecting my Clover setup. Both OS X and Win 10 boot and work fine.

-bth
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
440
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i7-2720QM
Graphics
HD 3000
Thanks bthall for the information. We have almost the same 4530s.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
345
Motherboard
Hp Probook 4540s
CPU
I5 3230m
Graphics
Hd 4000/ 7650 hd
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was wondering about that as well . I have two partitions , Yosemite and Windows 8.1 with clover setup.

So there is no issue if we upgrade or new installation of windows 10 ?

I remember sometimes when windows updated , I had to boot from usb to change bootefi64 file to a different name .
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was wondering about that as well . I have two partitions , Yosemite and Windows 8.1 with clover setup.

So there is no issue if we upgrade or new installation of windows 10 ?

I remember sometimes when windows updated , I had to boot from usb to change bootefi64 file to a different name .

With Windows updates, always the possibility that bootmgfw.efi gets updated.

Procedure:
- remove (old) /EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw-orig.efi
- rename /EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi to bootmgfw-orig.efi
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
345
Motherboard
Hp Probook 4540s
CPU
I5 3230m
Graphics
Hd 4000/ 7650 hd
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It worked great . Now I can dual boot windows 10 and Yosemite.

I've noticed that boot time in windows 10 takes too long. It seems fast boot is disabled . It is ok if I enable it or it could cause problems to the Yosemite partition ?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
3,464
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1600x900
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It worked great . Now I can dual boot windows 10 and Yosemite.

I've noticed that boot time in windows 10 takes too long. It seems fast boot is disabled . It is ok if I enable it or it could cause problems to the Yosemite partition ?

I don't have problems with fast boot in Windows at all.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2014
Messages
345
Motherboard
Hp Probook 4540s
CPU
I5 3230m
Graphics
Hd 4000/ 7650 hd
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't have problems with fast boot in Windows at all.

Thanks for the info , i always though that hybrid shutdown in windows could write files to the yosemite partition therefore i had it disabled .

Now that i enabled it there is massive difference in boot time in windows.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
440
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i7-2720QM
Graphics
HD 3000
I just did it the update and everything went well. As Rehabman predicted, bootmgfw.efi got updated. So I deleted the old file and changed the name of the new file as indicated by Rehabman. Thanks for the info.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2014
Messages
65
Motherboard
HP ProBook 450 G1
CPU
i5 4200M
Graphics
HD 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I just did it the update and everything went well. As Rehabman predicted, bootmgfw.efi got updated. So I deleted the old file and changed the name of the new file as indicated by Rehabman. Thanks for the info.

where can i find this path (/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw-orig.efi) ??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top