Contribute
Register

Will I have an easy Sierra install with a H270N-Wifi?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ASRock Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there,

I am going for a Gigabyte H270N-Wifi motherboard, 7700K CPU and a GTX 1070 ITX graphics card. While I have some hackintosh experience I am worried about a complicated install. In this thread the thread starter uses that very board but the install process is soooo complicated. Why is this is not more "fire & forget" for dummies like me? All this Clover patching? And looking at how he patches the USB stick with Clover I am pretty sure there are some things missing there ...

Question: Should I just go for the High Sierra beta? Would that be easier?

Hi there,

I am going for a Gigabyte H270N-Wifi motherboard, 7700K CPU and a GTX 1070 ITX graphics card. While I have some hackintosh experience I am worried about a complicated install. In this thread the thread starter uses that very board but the install process is soooo complicated. Why is this is not more "fire & forget" for dummies like me? All this Clover patching? And looking at how he patches the USB stick with Clover I am pretty sure there are some things missing there ...

Question: Should I just go for the High Sierra beta? Would that be easier?

No, the High Sierra beta would require a lot more extra effort, because the installation tools don't yet fully support it.

In my opinion, the install guide you linked to is extremely well-written - I haven't seen very many builds that well-documented! Since you already have some Hackintosh experience, if you follow the guide carefully I don't think it will be as difficult as you think.