WiFi not working on HP Probook 4530s

Discussion in 'HP ProBook' started by daniavram, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2012 at 1:45 PM #1
    daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello,

    I am having some major difficulties on getting the WiFi to work on my HP Probook 4530s with Mountain Lion installed. I had Lion before and it worked perfectly. What can I do? Help will be much appreciated.
     
  2. ashman70

    ashman70

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2012 at 2:02 PM #2
    ashman70

    ashman70

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    What exact model 4530s do you have? Which installation method did you use? Did you do a clean install? Once ML was installed did it initially discover your wifi and add it to networking? I have a 4530s with the i3-2310M processor, I used iOSBeast's method of doing a clean install and I have had zero issue, wifi works fine, so does bluetooth.
     
  3. daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2012 at 2:18 PM #3
    daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have the i5 2430m model, Intel HD3000 graphics, I did a clean install, ML does detect my Wifi card but it cannot find any connections. I am sitting right next to my router and still cannot find my wifi connection. I installed ML like this: booted from the Flash Drive, used the -v -x flags, installed Mountain Lion, then booted from my hard disk with -v -x flags and installed the ahci patch, and then I used the Probook installer v5 and sellected the 10.7.4 os version, ethernet fix and chimera and my ssds and dsdts. Should I have done something different?
     
  4. ashman70

    ashman70

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2012 at 2:25 PM #4
    ashman70

    ashman70

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Doesn't sound like it, perhaps someone else on here with the same model can help you out, should work. Do you have any other wireless devices connecting to your wireless router? Are they working ok?
     
  5. daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2012 at 3:05 PM #5
    daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yep, all working. Any device connected to the router can connect to the internet without problems. It's just that my ML laptop can't seem to find ANY wifi network. Really wierd.
     
  6. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,086
    Mobo:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Aug 14, 2012 at 3:14 PM #6
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,086
    Mobo:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    What happens when you press the small WiFi button in the upper right corner?
    For ML 10.8 is the correct option not 10.7.4
     
  7. daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 14, 2012 at 3:25 PM #7
    daniavram

    daniavram

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2430m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The button remains orange; it should turn white. I barely now noticed that it doesn't change color. So I'm guessing that the wifi card isn't actually turned on, but the system thinks it is. Right? So how can I fix this? Reinstall ML with the 10.8 option and the latest Probook installer?

    EDIT: It works now. I installed the .pkg found here http://lnx2mac.blogspot.ro/p/realtekrtl81xx-osx-driver.html but the light still remains orange even though the WiFi works. I am connected and browsing wirelessly now :) if anybody knows anything that I might have done wrong with the installation please let me know so that I can make everything right the next time I install ML.
     
  8. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,086
    Mobo:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Aug 14, 2012 at 3:52 PM #8
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,086
    Mobo:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    I would not worry about the light on working WiFi it will fix itself on reboot.
    I was more thinking about network availability. When I click on the WiFi icon it shows the message "Searching for Networks" and nothing happens.
    After pressing the WiFi button "Searching of Networks" only shows up for 1 second plus all available WiFi access points.
     
  9. zdestiny

    zdestiny

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    HP Pavilion Elite m9250f
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Radeon 5770 1GB
    Aug 17, 2012 at 1:10 PM #9
    zdestiny

    zdestiny

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Mobo:
    HP Pavilion Elite m9250f
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Radeon 5770 1GB
    How did lnx2mac's installer work for you? Do you know which Wifi card you had installed in your laptop?
     
  10. gmukharji

    gmukharji

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    desk top/ laptop/laptop
    CPU:
    i7/i7/i5
    Graphics:
    nvidia GTX 240
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 18, 2012 at 2:35 AM #10
    gmukharji

    gmukharji

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    desk top/ laptop/laptop
    CPU:
    i7/i7/i5
    Graphics:
    nvidia GTX 240
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I too had this problem , it was set right by resetting the bios, please press esc while booting and reset the bios to defaults save and reboot ,,,, you should be ready to go,,, best of luck
     

Share This Page