Contribute
Register

Why on every reboot i can see all kext is reloaded?

Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
CPU
i3 8109-U
Graphics
Iris Pro 655
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
After the Chimera screen i can see all kext are always reloaded(just like when boot w -f) even on restart or from shutdown. it should be jump to the page where cpu bla bla listed load boot device etc, right? does this mean on every boot, the extension.mkext are created?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Microserver / HTPC
CPU
G620
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
I too have the same problem. I've tried running Multibeast to rebuild extensions and dragged E/E and S/L/E into kext util to no avail. Any advice?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2
CPU
i7-950@3.07GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You can add the below string into com.apple.boot.plist
<key>Usekernelcache</key>
<string>Yes</string>

Nevertheless, you'll need to install all the kexts especially FakeSMC in S/L/E since this flag ignores all the kexts in E/E
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Microserver / HTPC
CPU
G620
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Is org.chameleon.boot analogous to com.apple.boot?
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Microserver / HTPC
CPU
G620
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
So I added that flag, but nothing happens. It still takes forever too boot. Anyone else have any ideas? :(

Also, does have two monitors hooked up make the startup slower?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
98
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7BEH2
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
Iris Plus 655
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Guys, the flags in Chameleon are always case-sensitive to my experience!

Either use as a kernel flag UseKernelCache=Yes in org.chameleon.Boot.plist or type it yourself in the boot screen. Therefore:

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>UseKernelCache=Yes</string>

or add:

<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>

Please be careful next time and check your Chameleon version :crazy:
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Microserver / HTPC
CPU
G620
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac mini
Classic Mac
PowerBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Ah, that worked. Thank you so much!
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
CPU
i3 8109-U
Graphics
Iris Pro 655
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you! it work so fast now, 5 sec and I'm at login screen, but after entering password it quite slow to enter desktop(i think lion loading last open apps in background).

So now no more extra folder, where's the right place to put smbios.plist. i put it on system profiler folder. is it right?
 
Top