Which software can clone APFS disk?

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by limyingpio, Oct 5, 2017.

  1. limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 5, 2017 at 6:42 AM #1
    limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Since APFS is new, can the disk be cloned?
    Can I use clonezilla?
    Does it support APFS?
     
  2. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,531
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 5, 2017 at 6:49 AM #2
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,531
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Yes you can clone it with Clonezilla. APFS is not supported but can still be cloned as an exact copy.
     
  3. DutchJan

    DutchJan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Z97-D3H
    CPU:
    4990K
    Graphics:
    GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Oct 5, 2017 at 7:31 AM #3
    DutchJan

    DutchJan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Z97-D3H
    CPU:
    4990K
    Graphics:
    GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Ik have used Carbon Copy Clone...
    flawless very nice program..
     
    aseem.singh and Swordman0536 like this.
  4. itwas

    itwas

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI (Rev 1.0) F3, 16GB RAM, macOS 10.12, Clover
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1225 V2
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N640OC-2GI GT640
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Oct 5, 2017 at 7:45 AM #4
    itwas

    itwas

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI (Rev 1.0) F3, 16GB RAM, macOS 10.12, Clover
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1225 V2
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N640OC-2GI GT640
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Swordman0536 likes this.
  5. Swordman0536

    Swordman0536

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE z97X-gaming3
    CPU:
    i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 3G
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2017 at 2:49 PM #5
    Swordman0536

    Swordman0536

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE z97X-gaming3
    CPU:
    i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 3G
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ccc is perfect
     
  6. limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 7:00 PM #6
    limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Are the cloning sotware free?
     
  7. jcds83

    jcds83

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    GigaByte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 640
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, LC, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 8, 2017 at 4:17 PM #7
    jcds83

    jcds83

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    GigaByte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 640
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, LC, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you have Time Machine backups, start on your Recovery partition and use Restore from Time Machine for cloning your disk.
     
  8. limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 9, 2017 at 2:52 AM #8
    limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I don't think Clonezilla can clone APFS disk, it is not a format recognized by clonezilla.
     
  9. itwas

    itwas

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI (Rev 1.0) F3, 16GB RAM, macOS 10.12, Clover
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1225 V2
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N640OC-2GI GT640
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    Oct 11, 2017 at 2:24 PM #9
    itwas

    itwas

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77N-WIFI (Rev 1.0) F3, 16GB RAM, macOS 10.12, Clover
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E3-1225 V2
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N640OC-2GI GT640
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, Other
    not correct, Clonezilla support sector-to-sector dd copy
     
  10. limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 16, 2017 at 1:43 PM #10
    limyingpio

    limyingpio

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    GC B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Then can I clone it from ssd to hdd?
     

Share This Page