Contribute
Register

What is the best MAC OS version for Dell Latitude E6410

Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 840 G1 (Clover)
CPU
I5 4300U
Graphics
HD 4400
Mobile Phone
iOS
I followed the link below to compile my DSDT.

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/308765-guide-dell-latitude-e6410-nvidia-el-capitan-clover-eng/

For SMBIOS, I am using MacBook Air 5,2. I have the following kext installed directly to S/L/E
  1. FakeSMC
  2. FakePCIID
  3. FakePCIID_Broadcom_WiFi (for my BCM94352HMZ)
  4. BrcmFirmwareRepo
  5. BrcmPatchRAM2 (for my BCM94352HMZ)
  6. VoodooHDA
  7. VoodooPS2Controller from Dr Hurt
  8. VoodooSDHC
I also have some settings in the config.plist to rebrand the wifi card but it depends on if you have the same card.
Most of the things work (wifi, bluetooth, usb, card reader) except
  1. Sleep
  2. Handoff doesn't really work for me.
I never tried the display port nor the vga port since I never use them as I have another desktop hackintosh.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
1
Motherboard
Dell Latitude E6410
CPU
i5 560M
Graphics
intel gma hd
Thanks I will give this a go tomorrow evening and see where I can get.
Hi there,

I also have the Dell E6410, how did you get on with the installation of High Sierra?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there,

I also have the Dell E6410, how did you get on with the installation of High Sierra?
Follow the Clover guide linked from the FAQ.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/164990-faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html

Although you should read the FAQ for an overview of issues, the Clover guide is linked from the first question: "Q. Where do I start?", just after the bold face "Clover Guide".
Here is a direct link, just to be clear:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/

Also, your profile must be filled out with complete details as requested in the FAQ, again under "Q. Where do I start?". All seven details requested are equally important.

And if you have an issue (after following the guide), or on any other problem, you must provide a detailed description of the problem including information that helps us understand what you're doing. Always attach "Problem Reporting" files as per FAQ.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/164990-faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html
The required files and data are fully detailed in the last question in the FAQ:
"Q. What are typical "Problem Reporting" files?"
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
30
Someone asked me to fix one of these as it would not past POST. I later found out one of the USB ports got broken and was shorting out the motherboard when POST handed over USB to the OS.

Eventually, I found that USB had to be disabled in the BIOS or open the E6410 and stop the USB pins from touching metal port. The owner decided to get rid of it so I after pulling it apart, I now have it 3 working USB ports and boot Windows just fine.

Are there any specific BIOS settings that I should apply for macOS? I take it I have to do a legacy bootloader though UEFI seems to be supported.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Someone asked me to fix one of these as it would not past POST. I later found out one of the USB ports got broken and was shorting out the motherboard when POST handed over USB to the OS.

Eventually, I found that USB had to be disabled in the BIOS or open the E6410 and stop the USB pins from touching metal port. The owner decided to get rid of it so I after pulling it apart, I now have it 3 working USB ports and boot Windows just fine.

Are there any specific BIOS settings that I should apply for macOS? I take it I have to do a legacy bootloader though UEFI seems to be supported.
See guide linked by post #14.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
30
Thank you. Legacy and AHCI fixed the problem.
I now have to figure how to insert maxmem.
Because I have 8GB RAM, it is causing SL to shutdown on Boot.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you. Legacy and AHCI fixed the problem.
I now have to figure how to insert maxmem.
Because I have 8GB RAM, it is causing SL to shutdown on Boot.
SL?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Snow Leopard.
That's what I thought, but...

None of the hardware in your profile is supported by Snow Leopard.
And this thread is in the Sierra laptop forum, therefore Snow Leopard is off-topic.
 

Top