Contribute
Register

What happens with ATI Crossfire configs?

Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte P55A-UD4P
CPU
INTEL i5 750 Quad Core
Graphics
AMD HD5850 1GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
What happens if you use bridge two HD 5770 ATI cards together on a hackintosh via crossfire? Does OSX even boot? or will it only detect one card? or does it not work at all?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte P55A-UD4P
CPU
INTEL i5 750 Quad Core
Graphics
AMD HD5850 1GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
ykhan1988 said:
bump...any answers here?

lol! A stroll down memory lane! I never did find an answer to this. I've seen working SLI setups with Nvidia cards.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
3,736
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
Sapphire r9 390
Crossfire does not work in OS X.
 

Gus

Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
287
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Other
I think it will just see them as separate cards. Same as when the SLI bridge is left on. Means you don't have to disconnect the xfire link every time.
I've seen pictures of hacks with the crossfire bridge in them, but it was never stated whether it was disconnected for osx.
Gus

EDIT: See post from Shurt
shurt said:
Uh, you can still use a single card. Games for OS X can't do Eyefinity, so the game is going to be restricted to one screen. Team Fortress 2, for example, always launches on my center screen while the right and left screens keep whatever application open that they had open. Anyway, two 6870's would work, even with a Crossfire bridge. I suggest picking up PowerColor's 6870's, as they're supported out-of-the-box.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
34
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have two 5770's with the bridge. Lion and win 7 boots fine. No gain in OSX but it keeps me from having to connect and reconnect for win 7.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
10.7.4
CPU
I5 2500
Graphics
XFX HD5870
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
kombatmedik30 said:
I have two 5770's with the bridge. Lion and win 7 boots fine. No gain in OSX but it keeps me from having to connect and reconnect for win 7.
How to make it working dual 5770 ?

i had dual his 5770 ref. cards please tell me how to ?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
34
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ok...sorry for late reply. I will upload them now.

Here is how you do it.

1 - make a backup/clone of your hard drive. (make sure you do this). I am not responsible for you bricking your system.
2 - make sure you have one video card installed
3 - install the kexts via kext helper or equivalent program
4 - shut down computer
5 - install second video card with crossfire bridge
6 - restart and cross your fingers

I can verify that this works on lion 10.7.2 with my set up. Good luck!

ATISupport.kext.zip
ATIFramebuffer.kext.zip
ATI5000Controller.kext.zip
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
34
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Also...I can not take credit for these kexts. I found them somewhere from another post. Thanks to whomever made these!
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2010
Messages
339
Motherboard
GA-P55A-UD4P
CPU
Intel i5 760
Graphics
2x XFX ATI 5870 with Crossfire Bridge
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ok...sorry for late reply. I will upload them now.

Here is how you do it.

1 - make a backup/clone of your hard drive. (make sure you do this). I am not responsible for you bricking your system.
2 - make sure you have one video card installed
3 - install the kexts via kext helper or equivalent program
4 - shut down computer
5 - install second video card with crossfire bridge
6 - restart and cross your fingers

I can verify that this works on lion 10.7.2 with my set up. Good luck!

ATISupport.kext.zip
ATIFramebuffer.kext.zip
ATI5000Controller.kext.zip
This process worked perfectly for me, and I am still using Snow Leopard!

I also have the graphic enable set to yes.
 
Top