Contribute
Register

Went from Lion to mavericks, did not work...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3 Motherboard
CPU
intel i5-2400 3.10 ghz
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-R577SO-1GD
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
http://www.tonymacx86.com/374-unibeast-install-os-x-mavericks-any-supported-intel-based-pc.html

On this guide, I got to step 6. Then I skipped a-j, as I was using lion.When I installed mavericks, I installed it onto the hard drive for lion (existing install). Then, I rebooted, to do multibeast (step 4 of post installation using multibeast) and booted on lion. It failed to boot, and gave a black screen with text. Please help!

---Using time machine, I do have a backup from maybe a month before, so it would be nice to transfer the data, if a normal fix isn't possible!---

Thank You.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. eMac
  3. iBook
  4. iMac
  5. LC
  6. Performa
  7. Plus
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
  11. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try booting from your mavericks installer disc/USB drive, then choose your new mavericks Drive to get to multi beast.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3 Motherboard
CPU
intel i5-2400 3.10 ghz
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-R577SO-1GD
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I think it is has the same black screen... Maybe I should boot in safe mode or verbose?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
GTX 1070 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. eMac
  3. iBook
  4. iMac
  5. LC
  6. Performa
  7. Plus
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
  11. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Worth a try, use the flags they recommend on the installation tutorial and in the forums. I think the help "?" shows them too when you're in the boot loader
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
intel
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
gTX570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
got the same problem
i tried any flag i know
none works it gets to a black screen and computer seem to be stuck

any ideas?
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2011
Messages
63
Motherboard
ASUS X470 > Need full model names > See Rules!
CPU
Ryzen 2 3700x
Graphics
RX 580
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
  3. SE
  4. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Me too - but then I tried "GraphicsEnabler=Yes". By default in Mavericks it's set to "No", which is different from previous versions of OSX. Worth a shot if you haven't already.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
68
Motherboard
ASUS P5E3 Deluxe Wifi
CPU
Q9950
Graphics
GTX 480
it'd be nice to know what specs your running.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2011
Messages
63
Motherboard
ASUS X470 > Need full model names > See Rules!
CPU
Ryzen 2 3700x
Graphics
RX 580
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
  3. SE
  4. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
it'd be nice to know what specs your running.

Me? Check the signature... happy to provide any more info than that if requested.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
intel
CPU
i5 2500k
Graphics
gTX570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
PHP:
i solved my problem with arch=x86_64
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3 Motherboard
CPU
intel i5-2400 3.10 ghz
Graphics
Gigabyte GV-R577SO-1GD
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I have intel core i5, a gigabyte motherboard and gigabyte overclocked graphics chip... Now, when I boot in safe mode, it gives a black screen without text. I will try the other flags.

- - - Updated - - -

should I use the "arch..." as a flag?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top