Contribute
Register

Weird Clover update issues on new NVME drive

Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

Not sure if it is the right forum for this issue but if not, please moderators move it to the right location. I am having issues with the latest clover but not in the same way than what people are reporting. I have been using Mojave since its introduction last year and before upgrading to Catalina, I upgraded clover to 5070 then installed Catalina. No issue, everything worked fine. The installation was on a 500GVB SSD. Last week I bought a 1TB NVMe drive because I was running out of disk space on the 500GB.
I formatted the NVMe drive with the GUI partition scheme + APFS. From there I installed clover 5097 then copied my custom kexts under kext/others (I ticked the necessary boot option). Mainly fakesmc and my network kexts. I also copied across my config.pliust to the 1TB drive. I noticed that the EFI folders structure is different between 5070 and 5097, in particular there is no folder such as drivers32, drivers64, etc. Finally I cloned my current Catalina installation on the 500GB onto the 1TB using carbon copy cleaner.
Everything went fine.
After cloning Catalina on the 1TB, I rebooted, went into the bios and only left the 1TB as a boot drive. The system booted ok but the issue is that I had no internet. Looking at the boot log, it looks like the kexts in other were injected correctly(by the way my kextinject flag in config.plist is set to "detect" but I also tried with "yes").
Now here is the funny or weird thing; if I go into the bios, set the boot drive to be my 500GB SSD (which has clover 5070) then press a key at the clover splash screen and select the 1TB NVMe disk to boot from, it will boot from the NVMe drive with no issue,including internet (I am writing this post from the booted 1TB NVMe drive).
So to sum up, if I boot from the NVMe which has 5097 (also tried with 5078), it loads Catalina but no internet and the rest is ok (sound for instance).
If I boot from the 500GB which has clover 5070, then press a key at the clover splash screen, select the NVMe drive to boot from it boots with no issue and internet is working.
Any suggestion?
It is driving me crazy.
Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
anybody any idea?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2014
Messages
41
Motherboard
AsusTek Z10PE-D16-WS
CPU
2x E5-2697v3
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Performa
  3. Power Mac
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Boot clover from the SSD, select either to boot Mojave, then mount EFI’s and copy the SSD EFI partition to the NVMe EFI partition. Then they’ll be the same :thumbup:
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Boot clover from the SSD, select either to boot Mojave, then mount EFI’s and copy the SSD EFI partition to the NVMe EFI partition. Then they’ll be the same :thumbup:
That's what I did initially but but it did not work. Note that because the 2 versions of clover are diferent and they have a different folder structure, I only copied the files /kexts but not the folder structure
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,431
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's what I did initially but but it did not work. Note that because the 2 versions of clover are diferent and they have a different folder structure, I only copied the files /kexts but not the folder structure

There is no need to run different versions of Clover to multi-boot different OS X versions this is perhaps where your system is failing. I have Catalina on a NVMe drive with the latest version of Clover installed on it's EFI partition also Mojave on a SSD drive, High Sierra on another SSD drive, plus Win10 pro on another SSD drive and I can launch any one from the Clover boot menu. Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There is no need to run different versions of Clover to multi-boot different OS X versions this is perhaps where your system is failing. I have Catalina on a NVMe drive with the latest version of Clover installed on it's EFI partition also Mojave on a SSD drive, High Sierra on another SSD drive, plus Win10 pro on another SSD drive and I can launch any one from the Clover boot menu. Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
184
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I might try that. Last night I copied the entire EFI structure (files copy only not cloning the EFI) on the SSD (clover 5070) onto the NVMe (which had 5097).
Rebooted, went to the BIOS, changed the boot sequence to only have the NVMe. clover splash screen showed "5070" (but I am guessing that's because I copied over my 5070 EFI file structure). It booted fine with internet working.
so not sure if it is because of copying the EFI across or because the boot sequence had only the NVMe, or both. I can always update to 5097 and trying NVMe on its own in the boot sequence.
But now I discovered 2 issues:
- the logitech webcam is not detected anymore although if I switch back to Catalina on the SSD it works.
- lightroom does not work anymore. It does not even load. Again it works fine on Catalina on the SSD.

There might be other issues that I have not discovered yet.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,431
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I might try that. Last night I copied the entire EFI structure (files copy only not cloning the EFI) on the SSD (clover 5070) onto the NVMe (which had 5097).
Rebooted, went to the BIOS, changed the boot sequence to only have the NVMe. clover splash screen showed "5070" (but I am guessing that's because I copied over my 5070 EFI file structure). It booted fine with internet working.
so not sure if it is because of copying the EFI across or because the boot sequence had only the NVMe, or both. I can always update to 5097 and trying NVMe on its own in the boot sequence.
But now I discovered 2 issues:
- the logitech webcam is not detected anymore although if I switch back to Catalina on the SSD it works.
- lightroom does not work anymore. It does not even load. Again it works fine on Catalina on the SSD.

There might be other issues that I have not discovered yet.

Like I said, no need for different Clover versions or multiple ones for that matter. All you need is the latest Clover version, all kexts must also be updated and then place the Clover folder into the EFI partition of the NVMe, then you can designate this as your 'Start up Disk' of course making sure the NVMe is the first disk in the BIOS.
 
Top